theinkwell | Writing Prize - The Winners!

in The Ink Well4 years ago (edited)
Authored by @@shanibeer

theinkwell_writing_prize.png

Image by Clker-Free-Vector-Images on Pixabay

Welcome everyone to the results of The Ink Well Writing Prize!

There were thirty-one entries and twenty-eight unique entrants. The judging panel was @shanibeer, @jayna and @stormlight24. The panel commented especially on the very high quality and substance of the stories, which was great to see!

The panel put together a short-list of six stories which met all the criteria for the writing prize. Each one had a good story arc with a satisfying resolution; they had well-developed characters, the story telling style was engaging and the stories were well-edited and presented.

The Short List

In alphabetical order:
@amirtheawesome1All Gods Will Die - Dark Comedy
@amritadevaThe Secret to Outliving Everyone
@deeandmathewsMidnight Basketball
@dirgeTemple of the Dead Gods
@marcybetancourtSecret of the Timbers
@notacinephileWall of Remembrance

Notable Mentions

Before we reveal the panel’s final choices, let’s have a look at some of the other entries. There is a lot to recommend and learn from these writers:

Storytelling Style:
@barge (“engaging”) – Redemption or The Space Between
@janavada (“captivating”) – The End of Time Love
@mrnightmare.net (“a natural storyteller”) – Virtual World

Character Development:
@dotnb (“well-portrayed”) – A Tale of Two Prince and a Queen
@iamraincrystal (“interesting and distinctive”) – Blood and Bronze
@reviewzzz (“interesting main character”) – Robot Maker

Editing and Presentation:
@helloegoThe Gods Will Die
@wolfofnostreetThe gods Will Die

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

The Finalists

This is where the judging panel ran into trouble: it was very difficult to decide on the final four winners! We went back and forth over several days. All the stories were good, each one was beautifully told and presented – how were we to choose? At long last, we were able to come to an agreement. We had two runners-up – both of them are great stories and highly commended.

Highly Commended:

@amirtheawesome1All Gods Will Die - A Dark Comedy

image.png

Fun and different, the story carried you along and had a well-drawn main character.

@notacinephileWall of Remembrance

image.png

Fun sci-fi piece with a good premise and great dialogue.

The Prize Winners

These are all, in their different ways, magical stories that stay in your memory long after you have read them. They are distinctive, original and fresh. As a reader, you are transported into other worlds with believable, in some cases, horrifying, characters, with stories that insist on a response from you – whether that is dread, awe or sheer pleasure.

4th Prize: @deeandmathewsMidnight Basketball – 10 Hive

Richly told with a large, well-managed, cast of characters and a complex plot.

2nd Prize: @dirgeTemple of the Dead Gods – 25 Hive

image.png

A highly imaginative and seductive story-telling style with powerful imagery. A great story.

Joint 1st Prize: @amritadevaThe Secret to Outliving Everyone – 50 Hive

image.png

Tragic, introspective and beautifully crafted with excellent presentation. Quietly horrific.

Joint 1st Prize: @marcybetancourtSecret of the Timbers – 50 Hive

image.png

A beautifully told and crafted story with an excellent story-line, full of heart. Exquisite story-telling.

Congratulations to the Writing Prize Winners and well done to everyone who took part. Prizes have been distributed from @theinkwell using the tipping feature on peakd.com. Thank you to the judging panel, especially @jayna.

Thank you to @ocd for supporting The Ink Well and the writers.

Watch out for the Newsletter later this week, with details of what’s next for The Ink Well!

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

We would like to invite lovers of poetry and short stories to visit The Ink Well, a Hive community started by @raj808 and run by @shanibeer and @stormlight24 with support from moderators @carolkean and @jayna.

It is now possible to follow The Ink Well curation trail on Hive blockchain with Hive.Vote. Simply navigate to the curation trail section and search for theinkwell and our trail will pop up as an option.

If you wish to delegate to @theinkwell and support creative writing on Hive, you can do this from the wallet section in PeakD.

A big thank you for our delegations from:
@agmoore @felt.buzz @iamraincrystal @jayna @kaelci @marcybetancourt @ocd-witness @owasco @preparedwombat @shanibeer @trucklife-family

Click banner to visit our community page

Find us on twitter by clicking the banner above.

Sort:  
 4 years ago  

I'm full of emotion for this award.

Thank you, @jayna, @shanibeer, and @stormlight24 for the reading and deliberation.

I read several authors and loved their stories. I have already forgotten their arches and story developments but I remember @janaveda, @mrnightmare.net, @iamraincrystal, @dirge, and @amritadeva. Congratulations to all.

Thanks to the team of @theinkwell for this beautiful community where we found us with the words.

It is very well deserved, @marcybetancourt! Well done!

Congratulations! I'm glad for your achievement this time, I hope to continue seeing how you grow in #hive.

It was lovely to see your writing shine through and gain recognition 😍.
Congratulations!

!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Felicitaciones, @marcybetancourt! 💐

Congratulations to all the awardees, and those who earned honorable mentions in this short story writing contest, well deserved.

I also want to thank the @theinkwell team, and the select jury for the magnificent opportunity offered to those who make writing a means to interact with the #hive community. I also want to thank @ocd for the support of the author community.

@theinkwell does a commendable didactic, and support work for writers, both for professionals and for those who are new to the gratifying art of expressing with words. A showcase of quality content.

New challenges will come in the future that will test ingenuity and creativity, but above all new moments to share and grow together, writing and reading to each other. In this sense, I believe that we must continue to walk towards achieving greater #engagement, the next step to further consolidate the community.

Thank you, @janaveda, good to have you with us!

!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Thank you for those kind words, @janaveda. I agree - we do need more engagement. @shanibeer has some ideas cooking. :-)

Thank you for being part of the community. I really enjoyed your story!

Congratulations to all the winners and the honorable mentions as well -- this was FUN and there were a LOT of great stories written!

It was great fun, lovely to see so much participation.

!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

 4 years ago  

Congratulations to all the winners! Thank you for all that you do for the writing community 😉👍🏼

Thank you so much for participating in the contest, and for being a great contributor to the community, @iamraincrystal!

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Thank you for your support!

!ENGAGE 25

Many congratulations to all the winners. Congratulations and also to @theinkwell for the great work they are doing in favor of literary writing in Hive.

!ENGAGE 25

THanks!😄

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

THanks!😄

I apologize for the late reply!
Many stories were great, and it was not easy for us to decide! I hope for much more great stories in The Ink Well. Congratulations to the winners! @marcybetancourt @amritadeva @dirge @deeanndmathews

 4 years ago  

Thanks for your words @stormlight24. I like to write but I make several corrections before publishing and sometimes hive is too fast for me.
I will continue writing and searching for style

!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Hello! I was looking forward to know contest's results since last weeks. Finally, here they are.

Congratulations to all winners. Your compositions were outstanding, especially @amritadeva and @marcybetancourt ones. Indeed, this was, probably, the best quality writing contest I've ever participated to and I am totally pleased for the chance I had to submit my story.

Big thanks to @theinkwell for making this real and @ocd for supporting it. Really great job.

See you next time!

Hello @gabmr, thank you for taking part and for being patient 😍.
This was the first Writing Prize The Ink Well has held and we were really pleased there were so many good entries. It took us a little while to read and discuss all of them, and we have learned a lot about what is involved.
Look forward to seeing more stories from you!

!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

 4 years ago (edited) 

I honestly remember reading @marcybetancourt and @amritadeva thinking one of them should win. Congratulations to both, well deserved. And reading all the entries, I could see why it must have been hard picking the winners.

I am honored to be in the finalists among such great talents. And I am thankful to have the opportunity to showcase my story.

Thank you for such a great effort with this contest and I am looking forward to the next one.

Finally, I have been meaning to ask this. Do you have a discord channel?

There isn't a discord channel for The Ink Well at present. We have a tiny curation team and there isn't the capacity to support a channel. As the community grows and we have more people helping, we plan to open a channel for writers. There will be more about this in the Newsletter.

Thank you for taking part, @amirtheawesome1, great to have you here!

😍

!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Thank you for participating in the contest, @amirtheawesome1! I really enjoyed your dark comedy.

Wow! Congratulations to @marcybetancourt @amritadeva and @deeandmathews.
I'm stoked to see this! Thanks everyone!

I loved your story, it was so cinematic and breathtaking! I kept thinking about that painting "The Scapegoat"

!ENGAGE 25

 4 years ago  

Thank you! It really is exciting!

A "natural story teller?" It means I'm a boring writer or my story is not interesting. lol

I didn't know about it but anyway thanks for letting me know.

Posted using Dapplr

A "natural story teller?" It means I'm a boring writer or my story is not interesting. lol

It means that you are an engaging and delightful story teller 😍

Thank you for taking part 😀

!ENGAGE 25

Really? That made me cry because of happiness. 🤗
thanks

Posted using Dapplr

Oh, I changed the comment a little - so pleased you are happy 😍

Oh no, no need to. I'm open in different people's thoughts so that I can learn from it. 😘

Posted using Dapplr

I'm glad you understood that statement as a compliment! It means you should keep sharing your stories because they are enjoyable to read. :-)

Yeah, I admit that I'm not a good writer yet. Of course, the opinions of other people will help to grow. I will not take it as not beneficial for me. I prefer honest negative thoughts rather than positive lies just not to let me down. I will not get down easily because writing for me is fun and I want to earn more opinions from other people.

Posted using Dapplr

 4 years ago  

It means that you are an engaging and delightful story teller

This is a great commentary.

You can be a good storyteller but the readers are also part of that greatness

I'm really glad that mine stood among the top 6 stories!
Thank you, I appreciate this! It's been a pleasure partaking in the contest.
Congrats to the winners by the way! I haven't read all of those stories but among the ones I read, really liked the one by amritadeva. Deserving winner indeed!

I really enjoyed your story, it was great fun!
I'm glad you enjoyed the contest 😍

!ENGAGE 25

Wow! Such great news! I can hardly believe it!

Thank you, @shanibeer @jayna @stormlight24, for all the effort and thoughts gone into this contest. It was so much fun to join, to read other people's stories also.

As I'm putting more time into writing lately, and try to work on improving my skills, I feel there is a lot of support in this community. The weekly posts with tips, the other writers to connect to, experienced writers giving their feedback on what they see as quality or improvements. It's really super valuable, and I'm happy to be a part of it.

Congrats to all the other winners too!

Glad you feel supported and thank you for taking part in the contest. It was a wonderful story, beautifully told 😍

!ENGAGE 25

Thank you greetings from me to the jury as well as to all the winners, for me and all of you who have not been elected, let's try again ...