Betrayed Trust:The Painful Unravelling of Friendship

source
Iremide was my childhood friend. We became friends because my mom and hers were friends. God rests her mom's soul. She was an amazing human. Loved me like hers. Her calm nature and kindness are second to none. She was a good woman. I would often admire her smooth and glowy skin. She was beautiful in every sense of the word.

Whenever she told Iremide off or scolded her, she'd use me as a good example. She would question why she wasn't emulating my good behaviour.
It didn't always sit well with me because I wouldn't want anyone to compare me with another person too but I had little or no power over that.

I was always looking forward to Sundays because that's mostly when my mom takes me along to visit them after church Service.
Iremide's house was a stone's throw from the church we attended back then.

Our friendship was a good one and it grew into something beautiful until we gained admission into the university or maybe I failed to pay attention to details.

At a point, when we were in secondary school, I noticed that some things were off about my friend and her actions concerning certain things that I did or the major milestone that I reached but I turned a blind eye and didn't take it seriously.

My mom had promised to buy me a phone if I did well in my exams. I wrote WASSCE and NECO and did well.

My mom bought the phone as promised. I was so happy and was looking forward to when I saw my friend tell her the good news. We had registered for JAMB classes in the same centre.

When we resumed our classes, I showed her the phone and she was so happy for me.

JAMB classes came to an end and the next time we saw, my friend had the exact phone I had too.
I was so excited as we were now twinning. I didn't read any meaning to this.

I started getting uncomfortable when I started noticing how my friend would always want what I had.
She was my confidant. I'd tell her about my friends and school. This time we had gained admission into the university in different schools. I'd visit her in school whenever we had an end-of-session break in my school.
We'd gist and catch up on a lot of things we had missed out on.

Through her, I met a few friends.
When I meet genuine people, they always end up liking me.

One of the people my friend introduced me to was liking me.
He would call and we'd speak for hours.
He told me he admired how intelligent I was and how I held conversations.
I didn't know he had told my friend about his plan to ask me out.

One day, we were having our usual friendly conversation and he brought up this conversation.

He told me how he likes me but my friend had told him I have a lot of guys swamping around me and I just toy with them, break their hearts and blah blah.

Said he was scared to tell me his intention when he heard that but decided he was going to ask me and not work with assumptions. I opened my mouth in shock.

She was running this same narrative of me toying with men with any of our mutual friends who liked me but they always end up telling me whatever she has told them.
It was then I knew how terrible this friend was. It didn't end there.
Before all of this, I didn't know she had taken someone's number from my phone. This person is my older sister's friend but we are all friends because we attend the same church.
I would gist my friend how this guy would always want me to go with him for any event he anchors. He was an MC. I told her how amazing this guy is.
I guess she wanted all of these things for herself too but this one ended in shame for her. The guy had called me to ask me if I knew any Iremide or had given her his number.

I affirmed she is my friend but I didn't give her his number.
He told me to be careful of someone as desperate as that.
This was when I decided it was time to cut all ties before she ruined me.

I ended the friendship and wished her well from afar.

Thanks for visiting my blog, feel free to comment, upvote and reblog if you find my post intriguing.

Sort:  

It's hard what you say, because the betrayal of a friend is one of the worst betrayals. I imagine that you aroused her anger and envy, perhaps her mother's comments comparing her to you made her feel insecure. Regards

Thanks for stopping in by. Betrayal is a worse disease someone can attract from a friend.

Many friendships are lost in time, as it happens in this story, @toluwanispecial. To ensure better rewards we want to remind you to pay attention to formal aspects of writing.
You can see our article on checking your posts for grammar [here] (https://peakd.com/hive-170798/@theinkwell/writing-tip-of-the-week-30-help-for-the-grammatically-challenged).
You can find some great articles on fiction story writing in our [catalog of fiction writing tips] (https://peakd.com/hive-170798/@theinkwell/catalog-of-fiction-writing-tips-from-the-ink-well).
You can find information about what we are looking for in creative nonfiction stories in [this post] (https://peakd.com/hive-170798/@theinkwell/creative-nonfiction-what-it-is-and-tips-for-success)..

Thanks for this information.