Poetry: I Am My Own Bestie

in The Ink Well4 years ago

barefoot3569057_1920.jpg
maybe it is time to be trustless in this world

After my last friend bit the dust,
It was clear no one was worth the trust,
I've had my confided confidence lost,
My deepest Secrets discussed.

He was definitely not a first,
He just got to join the list,
Of others who decided my trust,
Was one that needed to be crushed,
Saw that my private thoughts,
Were ones to be discussed.

And I saw our friendship as their betrayal's cost,
It was more like they dared me
to my worst,
Cutting them off was a definite must,
If I wanted to have my own private thoughts.

I decided it was too hard to keep my mouth shut,
And I didn't need people to confide in,
To keep my thoughts,
I just needed me,
the only one who would never betray my trust.


attention: cover image is a property of pixabay.com

Sort:  

Lonely vibes on this poem.

Good friends aren't always easy to find. So I cherish the ones I got.

Likewise me

I feel this.
Finding a true friend is divine. I am jealous of anyone who got someone true to hold on

Thanks for reading.. May none of my personal friendships with people not end like this. Lol.

Shared on Twitter:

#oc #posh

Thank you for posting in The Ink Well.
We are running two Summer Challenges for original creative writing.
See the Fiction Challenge and the Poetry Challenge for the full Entry Rules and Curation Policies.
We hope you will join us!

Duly noted. Thank you.