Sort:  

But why would they see the red numbers if they want to subscribe in order to not see the muted people in the first place?

Some blacklists might show show a "warning" (red number) and others might mute them completely, depending on the list.

The red number has no value if subscribed mute list still shows up in the newsfeed for the subscriber of the mute list. If they subscribe and then they no longer see those listed in the newsfeed, then no problem. If they still see them, then it is meaningless, or if it hides them from everybody.

The red number acts as a warning.

Like a scarlet letter.

I find that to be even worse than the Blue Twitter and Facebook Checks that they have that allegedly says they are real accounts or whatever. I had a blue check on my Twitter one time, all I had to do was send Twitter money back like in 2009 or so. People should tell Trump that they millions of people sent Twitter $20 each. I don't know how many people sent in money and how many sent in dozens and dozens for multiple accounts but I wonder how much money that is. But then I lost some of my accounts and it was like the money didn't get me anything, like a scam. People don't talk about that and I kind of forgot about sending money to Twitter when I talk about censorship until like a second ago.

$20?? It sounds like a shameless cash grab by t.witter.

Thanks for the info! This is the kind of stuff you find out by talking to REAL PEOPLE (and not trusting "the news").