Tribal Speculation: Amazon

in Gods On Chain2 years ago (edited)

ZonsThumbnail.png

Speculation Genesis

I don't usually play the market in Gods Unchained. I've typically only ever bought packs and a playset for myself of whatever I was missing. However, I purchased about 20 copies of one card the other day that I believe will be massive in the future, and also picked up 2 gold copies for my own decks. (I know, I'm no whale. 20 copies of a card is a lot for me; I'll either forge them into higher shines or sell them if the price gets ridiculous, but I'd love some diamonds one day... Hey, a guy can dream! Either way, thought I'd start with the disclosure that I just bought a bunch of these.)

This is NOT financial advice, all I am doing is speculating, and I could be totally wrong. I'll tell you what I purchased and why I'm so exited, but be careful out there, you never know what the future holds. They could scrap future plans, they could power creep, they could print a nearly identical Core card making this obsolete, etc. You've been warned!

Core Set Refresh

In the next few months, Gods Unchained will undergo the largest changes in the history of the game with the Core Set Refresh. This is both a series of massive balancing changes to the Core and Welcome Sets (see the pinned post by @meltysquid if you haven't read it yet!), and a brand new set of 60 cards coming to the Core Set.

This will reshape the entire landscape of Gods Unchained as we know it. It's truly hard to predict what will happen when it releases as the changes are so massive BUT one thing I can tell you for 100% certain is they are moving into an era of Tribal synergies.

Amazon

One of my favorite tribes in Gods Unchained has long been Amazons. Not the Prime package delivery kind. These gals have a ton of synergy and really pack a lethal punch when it comes to the 5 Mana buff cards like Arkmonian Onslaught, Penthesilean Warrior, and lastly, the Genesis creature I'm excited about: Myrto's Daughter.

image.png

I'd hate to meet Myrto's Daughter's mom...

The new Core Set Refresh contains a bunch of updated Amazons and a whole slew of new ones.

image.png
All the new Nature cards: 6 brand new Amazons!!

image (1).png
Gersemi is being updated to an Amazon, with 3/3 stats!

Penthesilean Warrior is getting changed in the Core Set Refresh, and will no longer be part of the trilogy of 5 Mana buff payoff cards for Amazons. (Penthesilean Warrior: Changed domain from Neutral to Nature. Changed stats from 5 mana 6/3 to 2 mana 2/3. Changed text from "Roar: Give each other friendly Amazon +2/+2." To "Roar: Give +1/+1 to the strongest other friendly amazon.")

That leaves only Arkmonian Onslaught, and the unchangeable Myrto's Daughter.

Myrto's Daughter

At 5 Mana, the option for a 4/4 with Blitz and an Amazon tag is a great card. If this was all Myrto's Daughter was, she'd still be a nice creature. However, where Myrto's offspring really shines is the other option you get when playing her: give a random friendly Amazon +4/+3. This collectively makes this 5 Mana card a 2/2 with Blitz + a 4/3 buff for a total of 6/5 worth of stats AND the Blitz + surprise massive buff to a creature that can either go face or make an easy value trade.

Even hitting the smallest Amazon, a 1/1 Nimble Pixie, it suddenly becomes a 5/4. Hit a 4 mana target like Agrodor Protector, and you're looking at a 7/8 with Regen 1 and Frontline.

image (1).png

Clearly, in my opinion, Amazons will be huge again, and are an archetype that the devs are pushing for from Nature. Will they be more popular than Wild tribe nature, which is also receiving a lot of support? Probably not, Wild will possibly always be the "new player friendliest" deck intro to Gods Unchained.

Even still, I'm extremely excited to see where Amazons go in the future and I cannot wait to play with my Gold Myrto's Daughter's.

image (2).png

PS. I also picked up 2 Gold Primal Guidances! Can't wait for $GODS shine bonuses!

~Copper

All card images generated from https://gu-list-creator.vercel.app/
Huge thanks to @kephler for this!!

Edit: Also a big thanks to @kstreet for bringing up Amazons in my discord! He's the one who got me looking at Amazons in the first place! Sorry I forgot to mention this in the original draft!!


Check out Copper's YouTube
Follow on Twitch, Live M/W/Th 6-9 EST
Join Copper's Crypto Cave Discord for P2E info
Follow Copper on Twitter

Sort:  

I'm excited for this, too. They are also clearly separating the 2-mana relics (Staff of Roots and Faeflame Blade) into Wild and Amazon camps. Faeflame will change to a base 2/2 relic, but if you control an Amazon, it becomes 3/2. It's keeping blitz and twin strike. So much power!

Shoot, I meant to give you a shout in this article for bringing up the whole Amazon thing in the discord!! 😞 Wrote it mostly late last night and while laying in bed I thought, "don't forget to thank Kstreet!"

I mean there's an edit button 😂

Sir I have edited the post.

Great post, really hoping that the core set refresh spices up the meta quite a bit. If twin strike could allow you to hit the face twice Arkmonian Onslaught would be absolutely insane in this deck. Thanks for using the tool, hope it was easy to use! 😄

Primal guidance's price is mooning! It's called the "Copper effect". :)

Ah yesssss Amazon power. Even more reason I need to finally get a dam Fae Flame blade. Will it ever happen who knows. It still eludes me hahahahahaha. It will be great to see a shake up to the core set. And for some new core cards to drop. Any changes in the game that make cards synergize more is a great thing in my eyes.

I built a weak Amazon deck about two weeks ago! Free to play of course and have some these such as 'Penthesilean Warrior' which inspired the deck xD

I have been theory crafting this deck for the past three weeks. I call it the Amazonian beauties; Gersemi getting the Amazonian tag pushed it even further. The bottleneck comes at the five mana cost cards; there are way too many to choose from. It is mainly an aggro deck, and you need to play it fast, in my opinion, Orythia is your last line of defense. Give me more nature please, thank you.

Looking forward to seeing some new tribal synergies. They are usually fun as long as they are semi balanced between the different tribes. Can't wait to see this game continue to grow and great post as always Copper!

Guh. . . there I go thinking I can pull together an Amazon deck on the sly when suddenly AMAZOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOONS! is being shouted from the treetops. . .

All my hopes and dreams! Just. . . gone. . .

Really looking forward to the refresh, though! I really want to share my ideas, but I gotta wait until I actually have the cards before I do else I might end up being the only one who can't try my own dang ideas ;P

Thought-provoking post... thanks.

Cards from Trial, Genesis, Etherbot will obviously be getting scarcer and scarcer. Those ones that will stay helpful, will cost much.

I spent all day in search of cards of my fave Deception and ones of Guild (since my deck is full of Guild) from the old series.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations @copperpitch! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 200 replies.
Your next target is to reach 300 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

PUD - PUH - PUM - It's all about to Power Up!
Christmas Challenge - 1000 Hive Power Delegation Winner
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Nice analysis . My favorite for upcoming change from older sets is Ferocious Rougarou ( Regen 2. When a friendly creature is summoned, this creature gets +1/+1. When a friendly creature dies, this creature takes 1 damage ) . Its not very strong as basic card but if you buff it with any of cards you mention it becomes a beast .
image.png