Behind Orfeo's Mask: A Player Spotlight featuring VILLIBESTI

in Gods On Chain2 years ago (edited)
Authored by @seventyseven

orfeo's mask.png

Happy new year to everyone!

We are starting 2022 with a new feature in our blog called "Behind Orfeo's Mask" where we try and get to know more about our fellow GU players in the scene. I believe this is a great way to "unmask" the personalities behind the names of the people we play in the game.

So without further ado, let's get to know VILLIBESTI (@villibesti) -- who's quite famous nowadays for playing BWD (Board Wipe Death) decks in the weekend ranked games.

Please tell us a little bit about yourself. If you can please share a bit more about you as an introduction to the community.

Age: 27, Country: Iceland, Education: Almost finished my bachelor's in political science. Occupation: caretaker for mentally disable people. Hobbies: Soccer, Gym, Chess and politics.

Can you tell us also about your in game name and if there's any special meaning to it?

IG: [Sparta] Villibesti, the story behind my name is that it has been my display name since I started playing online games as a young child. The name is split into two words, first part "Villi" is my irl nickname and "besti" means the greatest in Icelandic.

How did you find out about Gods Unchained and what made you interested about the game? Correct me if I'm wrong but I think you've been playing the game for just over a month?

My friend told me about randomly since he knew I have been playing card games since 2006 (Yugioh, Magic the Gathering and Hearthstone). What brought my attention about Gods Unchained was the fact you could earn money while playing the game,which had not been a option for me from the other cards games I was playing.

What's your favorite God and Deck archetype and do you have a preference on what kind of decks to play?

Probably gonna be surprise since I'm known as the BWD guy but I'm not the biggest fan of the death god in general. My favorite at the moment is Control War since I've always liked control decks over other archetypes.

In the short span of time playing GU, you've been dominating the weekend ranks already. If you can let us normies know, what's the secret to your current domination?

I try to play my games early during the day when i have the most energy. I like to hit the gym before I decide playing my games and eating clean that day. Also, I try drink water between each game. I don't like to have other things to distract my thinking while I play so I turn off my phone, Discord and I don't listen to music or anything like that while I play.

Any plans in participating on upcoming tournaments? How active will you be playing in tournaments this year?

I hope participate in as many tournaments i can and hope i can get some deep runs.

What are your goals for GU this year and what features you would like to see in the game?

Would love a draft or sealed mode. When i was playing other card games, I always enjoyed game modes where you have to build your decks from more limited pools. My goal would probably be to be able to share my knowledge and strategies of cards to the community since I've always liked and felt like that is where i get the most enjoyment.

There's an influx of new players coming in and more will be playing the game soon. Do you have an advice how they should approach the game if they would to be a top player like you -- or maybe just how to be good at the game in general?

My biggest advice is just to realize that card games have a very high amount of variance in them and that sometimes you will get unlucky. Second advice is not to copy top players deck and think that will solve problems.

Please tell us where we can find you or if you have socials you want to promote

Twitter: villibesti

Again, thank you villibesti for taking time to answer these questions and be the first player to be featured in our player spotlight article.

Everyone please give him a follow on his socials -- he's really a nice dude with a great sense of humour as well! Also at the time of writing of this article, he finished 21/25 on his ranked weekend games -- he's really one of the hottest players in the game!

If you have any suggestions or any players you would like to see on our player spotlight, please send me a DM or you can leave a comment below.

May the mulligans be in your favor!

Sort:  

Congratulations @seventy.seven! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 50 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Happy New Year - Feedback from the first Hive Power Up Day of 2022
PUD - PUH - PUM - It's all about to Power Up!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Dear @seventy.seven,

The previous HiveBuzz proposal expired end of December.

Do you mind supporting our proposal for 2022 so our team can continue its work next year?
You can do it on Peakd, ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.
https://peakd.com/me/proposals/199

Thank you. We wish you a Happy New Year!

supported!

Thank you for your support @seventy.seven, much appreciated!

I haven’t checked out the game I must do that sometime