The Bot ban wave, and the story of how i became flagged.

in Gods On Chain2 years ago

My name is Adam, and i am one of the unlucky players that have been flagged for suspicious activity.

Like many new players I discovered Gods Unchained in late November. As someone who played Magic The Gathering way back in the 90s, and later even owned my own game store it was the perfect type of game to get me hooked. I was immediately hooked, and soon after i moved a entire Etherium over to invest in cards.

A week or so after i started i was unable to log into the game. I decided to try a VPN, and found using it allowed me to log in, and play again. The same day I sent in a support ticket for this issue.

 "image.png"

I did not receive a response, but it ended up going away on its own 2 days later so I was able to put away the slow free VPN, and continue playing normally with my regular internet.

For the next couple weeks I continued to enjoy the game, and played even raising in the ranks to Mythic. Little did i expect on Christmas Eve I received the dreaded email "Our system has detected some unusual behavior associated with your Gods Unchained Account. This was upsetting, but the form to fix this seemed simple enough. At first I could not figure out a reason I could have ever been flagged. I only ever set up one account in a home where only myself, and my non gamer wife live where I have always played games without giving up early. But then I remembered the VPN I had to use weeks earlier.

form.jpg

The first time I submitted this form I was unaware that I needed to add a +1 before my area code. After waiting 2 weeks I found out from a user on Reddit who also made this error, and fixed the form. I was informed that once a week they update the flagged list so again I waited another week with no change to my status as flagged.

In the time since being flagged I have continued to play raising in the ranks even more. Despite my frustration with support I still find myself loving the game, and hoping to see better systems being put in place knowing many users would have quit being in the same situation as myself.

Rank.jpg

It has been 23-24 days now since I became flagged. I am both frustrated but still hopeful that the company is able to put in better systems for players like myself.

If you have read this far thank you for reading my first blog post on Hive. I hope in the future they can be more positive, and helpful.

Sort:  

Sorry for this hassle! They are being flooded with thousands of bots, and it is unavoidable that some innocent humans will be caught up in it. Another compounding factor was the holidays. They only had a skeleton crew working on this. I hope they can straighten you out soon. Have you sent in a support ticket? I would:
https://support.godsunchained.com/hc/en-us/requests/new

I have a developer in Discord who said they are going to figure it out today.

I believe the main problem is the system itself. Not so much that innocent people become flagged, but a flawed, and confusing verification form using Google Docs. I personally don't believe a phone verification is the best option since bots could use fake phone numbers, but even with a phone number they it should be built into the website, and directly tied to your account.

Don't get me wrong. I love Google Docs, and services, but they have outgrown using a system like that, and i think it will continue to cause more and more issues in the future.

In the meantime i have almost broken into the top 10 ranked players this weekend while still being flagged!

i think everyone receive this mail from support so they can be able to pick out bot account, and if you wre flagged because of the mistakes, you can write and wait for the support reply or head over to discord and lay complain. they will always reply and lift the flag

Of course. I sent a ticket in the second it happened, and another two weeks later when they finally responded and told me to look over the form.

I have now gotten a 2nd response again telling me to "look over the form" even after 100% fixing it. I have also messaged multiple people in Discord, and posted several times, but have yet to have this fixed.

Hopefully such matters will seize to exist and be improved with time

Congratulations @tornare! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 50 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 15
Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 10
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!