A Star Wars Surprise

in Toys on Hive2 years ago

E3FFF97D-73FD-42F9-89B3-5E576EE31503.jpeg

Unless you’ve been living under a rock, you’ve for sure noticed that money is getting a bit tight for a lot of folks. Having my comic and toy shop for 14 years now, we’ve seen this happen in several cycles throughout the years, for various reasons. Whatever the cause…and there are currently a bunch, the effect is that a large chunk of people end up off loading their precious collectibles to help make ends meat. Their car payment is due…a baby is on the way…maybe they need some more meth…I dunno…what I do know, is that I will be waiting with open arms for these little gold mines to enter my shop.

That’s where this hunk of yumminess comes in. This was one of those cases where the gentleman simply needed quick cash, and did not have the time or patience to offload online. That will always yield better results, but most wait until the point where that is no longer an option due to timing, or simply put…folks are just lazy sometimes. I get it! Selling anything online, especially collectibles…can be a chore. But it will always net you more $$$ than bulking out to a dealer. Regardless, I am always ready to snag a new collection for pennies on the dollar.

So this gent enters my shop with 10 pieces consisting of mostly Hot Toys 1/6 scale figures, a Sideshow Premium Format 1/4 scale statue, and a Boba Fett prop helmet that I believe was from Hasbro. The story was the same that we’ve been hearing alot lately when buying collections. Money is tight along with time, so this is the only real option.

After going back and forth for about 10 minutes on a price, we settled at $1800 bucks in cash and $100 bucks in store credit. I was over the moon at landing this lot for this price as Star Wars Hot Toys pieces have been flying out of my shop lately. This was a welcome restock on some hot pieces.

Upon his exit, my employee @jgiambi told me that his buddy wanted the Deathwatch Mandalorian. That sold to his buddy about an hour later for $250. Sadly I was not able to take a photo out of the box of that or the Boba helmet as that also sold immediately for $150. The rest, we popped out on display to blend in with our already monstrous selection of over 1200 statues, busts, and 1/6 scales. EVERY LAST ONE sold in under a week. All except for the Obi which is still here and on display. We’ve had a lot of interest in that one, especially with the show…but nobody has pulled the trigger yet. But it’ll move…

So let’s take a look at these beauties that were only a part of the Conquest family for mere days.

This Mandalorian with Grogu Deluxe piece went for around $300.

579DB822-4EB5-44F8-A909-A9E7A955DF6D.jpeg

Emperor Palpatine In his light up chair fetched $600. Since we’ve sold it about a week and a half ago, it’s jumped another $100 on secondary markets. Madness!

18E85DBF-897E-485D-9CC1-C835EC5D892D.jpeg

This 501st Clone ended up moving for $250.

34ED0EA0-A32B-4351-8814-12E6D0D159EA.jpeg

R2-D2 was $175. Funny part about this wax that we had one of these in our shop just several days prior and it moved quickly. So it was nice to be able to replace it on the cheap, and then have it fly out again days later.

F4C6D22F-F73C-458C-9D22-3223B92E222D.jpeg

This was the Boba Premium Format. We e had this one in the past as well about a year prior. Boba stuff always goes and outside of the first 2 pieces that sold the same day we got em in…this sold the next day for $800 smackers!

810C7AF0-F62C-4A2E-B426-40A782D423DD.jpeg

My business partner ended up moving the Vader on one of his days, but I believe if my dogshit memory serves correctly…that it went for $450.

F09816A6-6950-4C16-9B1D-60046D99B5F9.jpeg

Same goes for the Maul. I didn’t sell this one but I think it went for $350-ish?!?

76EC039E-90E9-4445-9EEE-121CA7CA3C98.jpeg

As I mentioned, the Obi still remains but we will end up shedding it at some point. All in all, selling 9 of the 10 has resulted in over $3300 in sales, PLUS we still have the Obi-Wan which will put us close to or right around the $4k mark which be over double our investment. Best part about it was that it all happened in a flash, so those funds weren’t gone long.

Not too shabby. Anyway, thanks for taking this stroll down nerdy Virgin lane with me. May the force be with you.

Blewitt

Sort:  

Very very nice collection. I love them all!

Thx a ton!

You're welcome and have a nice day ahead.

Muy buena venta compañero, la calidad de detalle de las figuras es bestial, me encantan y eso que no soy muy partidario de starwars.

As a collector I’m fairly specific in my own focus. But over time as a retailer, I’ve learned to really appreciate so much more than just what I was into. There’s just so much cool stuff out there to love.

The Boba and R2 collectible look so good! I'd be pumped with having a little R2 on my desk.

Obviously the boom and bust cycles of capitalism are working for you as a reseller, but I imagine it makes things tough for you as well, I'd have to imagine your store would notice a downturn, even though I think comics and figures are essential items, I'm sure others seem them as luxury items that get cut when things get tough...

Yeah, buying collections is my favorite aspect of having the shop. It allows us to obtain long sold out pieces for a fraction of the cost.

Yeah, we are already noticing major pullback on spending from let’s say…6 months back. It’s still good business but it’s obvious folk’s wallets are a bit lighter these days. We are usually amongst the first expenses that get cut when times get tough. I mean..are you going to feed you children…or buy Spidey toys?!? Lol

It sounds like your magic formula for pricing is on point. I assume it's a combination of internet searches plus experience that allows you to get it in the sweet spot.

Yeah. People always ask how we go about valuing a collection and to be honest, it’s a bunch of factors rolled into one. What’s in the collection and rough values is a major determining factor. But we only have a limited budget of cash to work with. So sometimes we spend a lot on collections and are a bit lighter…meaning my offer might be lighter. The individual selling makes a difference. Sone people come in and are rude or know it all’s…they get my shittier offer over the nice folks. Lol. Trends, what’s going on in the world, if I already have items in question, condition…it all plays a part in coming up with a number.

As a collector I have always wanted to get a Hot Toys, however, my poverty won't let me. I can only continue to watch these majestic figures on the screen.

Congratulations on the quick purchase and sale, you had a good profit margin. Obi Wan is strange that he hasn't come out, now with the series, I would think he would be the first to fly. To be honest though, the others look much better.

Yeah they can be stupid expensive. We just got in the Moff Gideon one yesterday that I’ll be posting pics up later today.

We had so much interest in the Obi. I’m just as surprised as you are that it’s still lingering. That happens sometimes though in our shop and this hobby.

One day you’ll snag that Hot Toys piece…there’s always options like a layaway at sone places.

So it sounds like this guy got roughly 50 cents on the dollar vs. retail. Sure, he could have gotten more selling them himself online but that seems like a fair deal offloading to a dealer.

!hivebits

Success! You mined .9 HBIT & the user you replied to received .1 HBIT on your behalf. mine | wallet | market | tools | discord | subscribe | <>< daily

The smallest HBIT unit: which name is better, bitoshi or quark?

Yeah it’s not like we raped him. It’s a solid deal considering he does 0 work and has cash in hand seconds later. But that’s still a lot of money to leave on the table. I understand it with big collections, but 10 pieces?!? List that shit up dude!!! Lol

@tipu curate
!PGM

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 15 SBT tokens to @astrocreator, @blewitt

remaining commands 9

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-2.5 BUDS-0.01 MOTA-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444