Picked up some autographed vinyl! (Aka: showcasing how much of a virgin I truly am.)

in Toys on Hive3 years ago

Hey there. Been awhile since I've posted to the toys on hive community, so I figured I should stop being a fucking sloth and actually make a post. Especially due to the two recent items I just got in the mail over the last week. I'm sure some of you are probably pretty familiar with Funko Pops, or at least have been exposed to these lame ass things I'm addicted to. Thanks to @blewitt, who I believe probably must have a small warehouse full of them. If you haven't, in short, they're collectible trash vinyl figures in a box. I've been slowly collecting Pops for the past 4 or so years now, but recently found myself going down a niche rabbit hole within the Funko Pop community. Which are autographed Funko Pops.



I'm sure that's pretty self explanatory, so I'll skip explaining it like you're a 4 year old child. I will say this, however. Originally before Covid basically twisted the nipples off the world, I was hoping that over the next few years I might get a shot at getting some of my pops autographed in person. Whether that be through finding the right people at the right conventions, or perhaps carrying said Funko Pops in my ass crack for the next several decades until I stumble into one of the fine folks I'd want to autograph it. After thinking about it though, I decided it would probably be fine to get some autographs not in person of the older folks on my list. Since, who knows what could happen where I might not have the opportunity again. Now, there are a shit ton of fakes floating around you have to navigate through. So, this also was kind of making me feel very flaccid at first.

However, I found a company that specializes in getting celebrity autographs. This company does pre-orders where you can mail stuff in for said celebrity to sign for a price. As well as weekly auctions on two different platforms of stuff they've already had signed to sell themselves. Depending on the celebrity, the prices really vary on the mail in pre-orders. Some people may only charge $30-40 for their autographs, others may charge up to $200-300 for it. I've found on average though most people aren't trying to absolutely slide a finger up your pee hole, and will only charge around $60-80. Sadly, none of the pre-orders I've seen available were ones that interested me for my pops. I think my autograph wishlist is a mixture of too niche for an autograph/the person is dead as hell/ the person isn't fond of doing them.

Thankfully, I had some decent luck in browsing their auctions though, and was able to find a few that I would have loved to own. I've missed out on a handful, mostly because I'm broke as fuck and can't afford to get every single one that I'd like to own. (Plus, some people pay a lot more than I'm willing in certain cases. Seriously though, why the fuck do people overpay so much? If someone charges $60 for their signature, and it's a $20 pop, why are you paying $140? Fucking idiot.) But, I scraped up enough sheckles through selling some crypto and real world items to have some fun money to get a couple. Which leads us to the reason I wrote all this trash and made you waste your time looking, you pussy made this post in the first place. Behold, babybois!


This pop is the OG Halloween Michael Myers, and is also signed by the guy who played him in the 1978 Halloween film made by John Carpenter, Nick Castle. Nick Castle did a really great job at playing The Shape in the og movie, and even helped with a few small parts in the most recent Halloween movie in 2018. I really fucking love this one, not only because Halloween is a solid film and was basically the prototype that Slasher flicks were all trying to replicate but, because Nick Castle happened to co-write one of my favorite action movies ever made alongside John Carpenter (Escape From New York).


This next one is a Jason Voorhees Funko Pop that is signed by stuntman CJ Graham, the guy who played him in my favorite Friday the 13th movie, Part 6: Jason Lives. The Friday the 13th series has been one of my favorite horror series for a good time now, and I am super happy to have this one in my collection. While Graham hasn't done much beyond Part 6 for me to jerk off over, I'm still very grateful to have his signature. I would consider part 4 and part 6 to be the quintessential movies from the series to watch, and I would fucking cream in my pants if I could get Ted White (The guy who played Jason in part 4) to sign another pop and have a matching pair. That's probably pretty unlikely, as Ted White is 96 years old now and I doubt he tours the con circuits much at this point in his life.


One last thing to mention with autographed pops, is that you really want it to be authenticated with a trustworthy service. The only one I'm really big on is JSA, who is a industry leader with autograph signings. You can go on their site and look up your number to find the records on what it should be. The certificates I got with each pop are a little different. The Jason pop just the bare basic certification, just showing it is 100 percent authentic and not a fake. The Michael pop came with a better certification, where an actual employee of JSA was present to see the pop signed. So, the number includes the date and location of where the pop was actually signed, which is pretty neat. There are others you can trust like Beckett for autographs, but, I'd always go JSA if you're going to be a loser like me and start trying to collect autographed pops.

I think the best thing about Funko pops with autographs is just the sheer god damn number of these things they've put out allow you to have different options for getting stuff autographed. You know, maybe you want a Monsters Inc actors autograph but don't want to just get a photo signed. And, maybe you don't want to feel like a 3 year old getting a baby toy signed. Well, now you can go with a Monsters Inc funko pop, and only have to feel like an 8 year old instead! It's great!


I hope you've enjoyed me trying to flex my virginity on you all. I'm sure I'll be back to soon to show off some other stuff when I'm feeling not lazy.

Until next time, doods.

Later!

Sort:  

Cool to get that personal touch even if you couldn't meet them in person. I've got various signed books and CDs, but didn't pay much extra for them and some were done with me there. I guess it's a nice extra earner for some actors who don't have merch of their own to sell.

My son is the Funko Pops collector in our house.

!PIZZA

Oh, yeah. I would guess they're probably signing a few hundred pops at a time at $60 per signature. So, they sign stuff for 2 or 3 hours and walk away with at least $12000 or more. And, that's for smaller time stuff. I've seen some actors asking $200 for a signature, where they'd be walking away with $40000. Some nice money for little effort/time.

But, yeah. You're right, it's nice to get that personal touch with them. But, I'd much rather do it in person. Sadly, because I'm a youngin' I don't think I'll have the opportunity to get most of the ones I want, even with this auction service I used for these. Just because a lot of the actors signatures I'd love to get are all nearing their 70s/80s/90s and they just don't give a shit anymore, lol.

And, it's good that it's just him and not you into them. They're a fucking black hole of time and money if you get really serious with collecting. I'm sure at some point I'm going to just sell the majority of what I own and get out of the hobby, it's very frustrating at times with scalpers/bots and really bad drops.

Also, thanks for the pizza. Why don't you have some too?

!PIZZA

Seems there's hundreds of those Pops to choose from. There's a few I might like.

Autographs and other memorabilia can be a crazy market. We watched the movie Can You Ever Forgive Me? last night that's about a real author who turned to forging letters by famous people. Despite her getting caught some of her letters are still traded by collectors. Some might not to admit they were fooled.

Oh, no, lol. There are literally thousands to choose from. According to the Funko Price Guide App, there is over 11000 different Funko Pops on the market at this point. The world record holder for biggest pop collection has over 7200 of them. Some people get really insane with them.

That sounds like a pretty interesting story, I might have to look that up and read a bit about it.

See all those @blewitt gets in his store and have seen them around here too when I used to go shopping. They must have people designing new ones all the time.

Connect

Trade


@steevc! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @deadspace.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (1/10)

Connect

Trade


@deadspace! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @steevc.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (6/10)

I may not be able to see the wholeness of your Funko Pops, I see something cuteness in them. Congratulations on the autographs!