You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Picked up some autographed vinyl! (Aka: showcasing how much of a virgin I truly am.)

in Toys on Hive3 years ago

Oh, yeah. I would guess they're probably signing a few hundred pops at a time at $60 per signature. So, they sign stuff for 2 or 3 hours and walk away with at least $12000 or more. And, that's for smaller time stuff. I've seen some actors asking $200 for a signature, where they'd be walking away with $40000. Some nice money for little effort/time.

But, yeah. You're right, it's nice to get that personal touch with them. But, I'd much rather do it in person. Sadly, because I'm a youngin' I don't think I'll have the opportunity to get most of the ones I want, even with this auction service I used for these. Just because a lot of the actors signatures I'd love to get are all nearing their 70s/80s/90s and they just don't give a shit anymore, lol.

And, it's good that it's just him and not you into them. They're a fucking black hole of time and money if you get really serious with collecting. I'm sure at some point I'm going to just sell the majority of what I own and get out of the hobby, it's very frustrating at times with scalpers/bots and really bad drops.

Also, thanks for the pizza. Why don't you have some too?

!PIZZA

Sort:  

Seems there's hundreds of those Pops to choose from. There's a few I might like.

Autographs and other memorabilia can be a crazy market. We watched the movie Can You Ever Forgive Me? last night that's about a real author who turned to forging letters by famous people. Despite her getting caught some of her letters are still traded by collectors. Some might not to admit they were fooled.

Oh, no, lol. There are literally thousands to choose from. According to the Funko Price Guide App, there is over 11000 different Funko Pops on the market at this point. The world record holder for biggest pop collection has over 7200 of them. Some people get really insane with them.

That sounds like a pretty interesting story, I might have to look that up and read a bit about it.

See all those @blewitt gets in his store and have seen them around here too when I used to go shopping. They must have people designing new ones all the time.

Connect

Trade


@steevc! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @deadspace.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (1/10)