You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bring out the toys!

I do have a few things from my childhood and even a couple of things that I bought, just like I used to have. Having them in my hands again transports me back to those wonderful times when I was enjoying them as a child. It's like my brain still recognizes the feel of them, so I understand what you are saying.

Sort:  

We make bonds with those toys or items that we had in our childhood or the childhood of our children. Our sons' toys are also special to me as we used to play with him a lot, with these and other toys and books 😇

I understand.

One time, MANY years ago, I was at my brother's house and he and I were sitting in the floor with his very young first son. My brother had shared his own tiny Hot Wheels cars with his son and he was impressed that his tiny son already knew the name of each car. His son was playing there and my brother would point at or pick up a car and say what's this? His son would look up, call out the name and then go back to whatever he was playing with. At some point, my brother picked up a car and said "What is this?" to which his son looked and then said "Bunny Car".... my brother laughed and so did I as that evidently was not the name. My brother waited a moment and asked him again and again, with no hesitation, his son gave the same answer. My brother laughed and said he must be tired of our car game with him and we let it go.

A few minutes later my brother, with a funny face looked at me and said... "The Jack Rabbit Special!!".... so indeed it was the Bunny Car ! My brother's face was so funny when it came to him, that look that says "the light bulb just came on".

Now his son is grown and has 6 children of his own !

The mind of the little ones many times works better and with more creativity than ours :D

Thank you for sharing this story, I enjoyed reading it and imagining the scene 😇