Bring out the toys!

in Toys on Hive26 days ago

IMG_20240405_163550.jpg

Thursday evening, 11:55 pm.

That was the moment when my son decided to take out the plastic container full of toys that had been hidden and forgotten for some years already. Five minutes before midnight! 🤐

He is seventeen, and it is clear he doesn't play with these toys anymore - but he got inspired by my cleaning activities to see his old toys again... I washed all the windows and curtains, cleaned everything in the living room and decided to level up the thing. I took out my old notebooks, language learning books and other stuff from one cabinet... the paper bin was waiting to be filled with the things I decided to throw away.

From time to time I do these decluttering things and get rid of unnecessary junk. But you know how it goes, gradually we again pile up things and then the activity has to be repeated. I am sure that it was the reason he also did the same. Take out his old treasures, select those he wants to keep and decide which ones to throw away.

That big plastic container was emptied first. Then he selected the broken ones and landed them in one big garbage bag. The good ones were placed, one by one back to the box. That is when I made the photo you saw at the beginning of the post.

I asked him to postpone the activity of placing back the toys until tomorrow (well, today). It was so late already and also I wanted to take a few photos of some of the special toys during the day.

IMG_20240405_152936.jpg

lizard family

These little lizards were very important to him. We bought the very first one from this collection in the town of Guadalest and later, we used to buy more of them making the lizard family bigger. They are heavier than soft toys as the filling is made of sand.

So they are soft but heavy at the same time.

IMG_20240405_152954.jpg

I have to admit that it is a nice feeling to hold one of these lizards in my hand.

IMG_20240405_121513.jpg

just a few cars

In the photo, you see just a few but actually, there are so many cars in his collection. Although he threw away yesterday quite a number of them (the broken ones made of plastic), still the nice metallic ones will be kept. One of them is old and worn out. It was a little blue car my husband bought him in front of the hospital where we had to stay when he was small. He was crying every time my husband had to go home after the visit but the rule of the hospital was that just I could stay with him... It is a bit of a frustration to recall some of those hospital stays but this car is a reminder and it will never be dumped.

IMG_20240405_121632.jpg

a memory

Among the vehicles, there are also trains, school buses, firefighter trucks, planes, motorcycles etc.

IMG_20240405_152211.jpg

school bus

IMG_20240405_121307.jpg

firefighter truck

Figurines!

You can recognize here many of these personalities from cartoons or movies. A Smurf, Hello Kitty, The Pink Panther, Geronimo Stilton and his gang, Snoopy and Woodstock, Goofy, Sponge Bob and his friends etc.

IMG_20240405_152756.jpg

figurines posing for a photo

A few animals figurines are also there, in the background. They are all of the same German brand that makes these little animals. We have three dogs, one cat, a bear and a little hedgehog. The material they are made of is not just a hollow regular plastic - they are quite heavy.

Here they can be seen better.

IMG_20240405_153119.jpg

IMG_20240405_163435.jpg

Like every little boy, my son also liked to play with glass marbles. He played it with his dad, at home but also in the nearby park. They could even go to a forest if they wanted to - I would not be scared that they would get lost.

Do you know why?

IMG_20240405_152310.jpg

glass marbles

The next photo will give us the answer. They wouldn't get lost because they had this compass.

He got it in Terra Natura when we went there with friends and their children. I am happy my son has this little item although it reminds me of a story that didn't have a happy ending: when I was 7 or 8, we had to take to the school a compass. We didn't have any so my dad asked one of his colleagues to lend us the professional compass he had. It was all fine until someone stole it from my school bag. 😔

No, it was not a nice feeling but anyway, I was glad to see this compass.

IMG_20240405_152318.jpg

Right now all the toys that passed the "exam" are back in their place until the next time when my young man decides to take them out and recall some memories from his childhood!

mipiano_banners_strip_gimp.png

Do you keep the toys from your childhood or the toys that your children had when they were younger?

mipiano_-_MP.png

Sort:  

The first lady I saw with a lizard (doesn't matter a toy) on her hand. So the oscar award goes to her... Tada congratulations 🎉

And yes, you didn't mention my man guru from despicable me in the figurines part. Em sad.

Overall I enjoyed reading this blog. (Doesn't include the hospital part but it is past now:))

The first lady who has a lizard in her hand? 😂 Yes, let's omit that little detail that it's just a toy hahaha

Lol yeah, I have always seen girls winning marathon upon seeing a lizard.

That is a good motivation for running lol

Hello friend, it is undoubtedly a beautiful collection that your son has. Seeing the marbles reminded me of my childhood and the collection I had at that time, of which there are none left because I have no idea where they are jj. The compass also reminded me of my moments as a pioneer explorer, where I had to participate in orienteering races using the compass, they were good times. It is good that your child also decides to put his things in order so he develops a sense of organization. Thanks for sharing, greetings

The same - I also had glass marbles but I don't know where they would be now. Maybe I was doing some as my son - selecting what I want to keep and what not 😂

It reminds me of my brother's car collection when he was little, he is now 40 years old .... but what I liked the most was the school bus.

I must tell you that I thought I saw a cute kitten....

image.png

You saw well, there is a ginger cat 😉

The little balls reminded me of when my brother and I were kids... we used to play with them a lot and I had all the colours...

I love cats!😉

What nice toys! All preserved and organized. Lovely memories.

Those pickups and cleanups are tedious, but necessary.

Olivia would have been happy playing with your son, similarity in taste in picking toys, little cars, glass marbles and lizards....especially lizards hahahaha. She has collected them too, but alive 🤣☺️.

IMG_20240405_214354.jpg

She found this one today as soon as we arrived at the beach, she will keep it until the day we leave, she houses it insects, gives it water, pampers it...as a pet 🤣

A real lizard!!! 😍

Your daughter is great, I also remember a pet lizard your husband posted once haha

They are not scared? The lizards I mean? They don't run away fast?

...I also remember a pet lizard your husband posted...

Yes, that was Pochocho, he was special, she had him more than any other.

She keeps the ones that adapt to her room, if they are not comfortable they will try to escape or hide. If that happens she releases them quickly, but if not, they stay living loose in her room and sometimes in other places in the house 🤭, they are very tame.

Wow! A real lizard. It looks gorgeous and tame. How can you tell it is safe to hold? That is really bold.

Aww
It’s good to see that your son had to remember his toys after so many years
They look good though
Does he have the intention of dashing some out?

I do cleaning from time to time.. and there are things that always stay with me... memories are part of our eternal life...

Of course, those items that give us a special feeling for us we keep, and those that we can't... then memories 😉

Boys cannot be without a firefighter truck xDD I still got mine. There are toys from my childhood that I could never give away (and it's been a long time already). They are a huge PlayMobil firefighter truck and police car and a camper van, my Legos, and the Super Nintendo. There are some metal cars too, marbles and a box of button soccer. I also had a huuuuuge collection of Magic cards, but those I forgot with an ex-girlfriend (dumb idea).

Oops, leaving a collection of magic cards to an ex-girlfriend... I guess it was a bit painful lesson 😅 There are also other, big trucks he had but not here, they are kept in the home of his grandparents 🚛🚚

guess it was a bit painful lesson

More than the breakup 😖

I do have a few things from my childhood and even a couple of things that I bought, just like I used to have. Having them in my hands again transports me back to those wonderful times when I was enjoying them as a child. It's like my brain still recognizes the feel of them, so I understand what you are saying.

We make bonds with those toys or items that we had in our childhood or the childhood of our children. Our sons' toys are also special to me as we used to play with him a lot, with these and other toys and books 😇

I understand.

One time, MANY years ago, I was at my brother's house and he and I were sitting in the floor with his very young first son. My brother had shared his own tiny Hot Wheels cars with his son and he was impressed that his tiny son already knew the name of each car. His son was playing there and my brother would point at or pick up a car and say what's this? His son would look up, call out the name and then go back to whatever he was playing with. At some point, my brother picked up a car and said "What is this?" to which his son looked and then said "Bunny Car".... my brother laughed and so did I as that evidently was not the name. My brother waited a moment and asked him again and again, with no hesitation, his son gave the same answer. My brother laughed and said he must be tired of our car game with him and we let it go.

A few minutes later my brother, with a funny face looked at me and said... "The Jack Rabbit Special!!".... so indeed it was the Bunny Car ! My brother's face was so funny when it came to him, that look that says "the light bulb just came on".

Now his son is grown and has 6 children of his own !

The mind of the little ones many times works better and with more creativity than ours :D

Thank you for sharing this story, I enjoyed reading it and imagining the scene 😇

I like collecting marbles back when I was a kid . I like, especially the different designs and colors hehe

Marbles are cool :)

I also had marbles, there were some bigger ones and yes, with different designs. Those were interesting 😃

Here I've seen a whole zoo 😄 and even the animals of my entire life in one shot. Crazy words are superfluous, so.... 🤐

I adored this firefighter truck. 😍

Lots of really cool toys in this post, and your memories. Even sensations, like holding a lizard. You have so much to tell. Sometimes I feel like I run out of words and stories. I haven't lived as much. You have, what joy!

But there are no birds here, which is your speciality cuando madrugas ;)

You lived so many, and so much different things than me, right? I guess you are not bored now and you will never run out of words and stories @nanixxx 😉

¡Madrugué! 😅

Jum, 😉

I want Snoopy!!! 😍 You have a Snoopy there 🥰

You just brought back a lot of old memories with this post.

Hehehe, Snoopy, I also love him 😇

Let our inner child never fall asleep :))

lovely shots all so crisp and clear, lovely memories, even the sad stealing of the compass, amazing how the brain recalls such long gone memories with just a little hint

That compass was a thing... I will never forget the feeling when I realized it was gone and that my father would have to explain the situation to the ex-owner of that compass... 🤐

I hope they were both forgiving and all ended well

Wow. Your son truly had all the cars. From saloon cars to convertibles. I bet he had friends for days that would want to play this with him. The beautiful things about toys are all the memories they hold. And so great that you remember them!

Wow, this is very exciting, isn't it, being the choice of children, of course, playing with everything, toys, hopefully, healthy, always as a family

He has a lot of toy collections. It's cool that he's still keeping it till now. Those lizard family is so pretty and colorful, but those car toys is much cooler (✯ᴗ✯)

But you know how it goes, gradually we again pile up things.

Hahaha, so true, we already throw the old one but then, new one will come until they pile up again (≧▽≦).

Haha, the never-ending cycles of getting rid of stuff and piling up them again 😂

When children are playing with their food in this way, we remember our childhood when we see them. In the troubles of life, sometimes we forget to laugh.

Awww so cute collection. I loved the little hedgehog. 🦔 😍

😇 Mipiano Junior - can you imagine that tall boy in a small version and playing with these toys ;)))

Hermosas colecciones de juguetes tiene tu hijo, imagino que lindo será el día que él tenga un hijo y le dé ese tesoro guardado. Será un momento especial para tí también. Yo a petición de mi hija regalé los de mi nieto a su ahijado. Gracias @mipiano.😘

Sí, él quiere guardarlos por si tiene un día hijos, pero también por sus recuerdos. Gracias @mamani por leer y comentar 🌸

Wow! So many miniature toys and the memories they bring up. Anything that wields up beautiful memories are a must keep. For me, they are treasures.🤩

They are memory treasure, that is true 🙂