You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What has been your biggest success and biggest failure in life?

in Ask the Hive4 years ago

Yes, we do not have to join a journey which does not suit us. And taking part to someone's self destructive ways of living can't possibly be good. You can't waste your life trying to help them when they don't even help themselves. Actually it is rather toxic to be stuck in such patterns. I do now what others would call selfish, but I call it health: walk away. I would choose to save myself and lead the life I want rather than pity someone who does not see self destruction as a problem. Funny thing, if you walk away from a person like that, over the years, just out of curiosity, you might see that they are in the same spot, in mediocrity and negativity, only that they are wasting somebody else's time, not yours. And then you smile thinking : oh, so good I walked away🏃😂😉

Sort:  

Yep, and sometimes the act of being "unsupported" can lead to them taking responsibility for themselves and improving in a lasting way.

Oh I wish this would happen in at least 50% of the cases. Some might say thank you in 10 years from now for the hard lesson you gave them by walking away, some might not. Either way, the boots are made for walkin' on the good roads, no matter if you get a thx or not