Is there space for a funny picture sharing dApp on Hive?

in Ask the Hive4 years ago

Introduction

Hello fellow hivers, probably most of you have never met me and the rest wont even remember me. A few years back I built a meme dApp called comus.fun which ran on top of the Steem blockhain rewarding users for sharing funny content. While I did this I also collaborated on many open source projects via Utopian and some other privately. I had the pleasure to work with the likes of Actifit, Smartsteem and dLike.

Yet it was not long before I felt unmotivated to continue because comus.fun was far from getting community acceptance and with every day I spent on Steem more and more obvious the flaws were.

Topics like this came into my attention:

For this I abandoned Steem without even looking back.

A new beginning

As most of you may already be aware, many if not all of the problems that drove me away are now a thing of the past.

  • HF 21 made it more profitable to curate and worked towards a rewards system that made community driven actions more profitable than selfish auto-voting. This also meant the downfall of bidbots
  • The Hive HF solved two issues at once, the dangers of the ninja mined stake and the over reliance on the Steemit development team while making the whole blockchain more democratic.

Correct me if I am wrong but on top of this there seems to be a free space for a funny picture sharing dApp on Hive ;)

The idea

You probably already figured it out...

I want to bring comus.fun into Hive. But this time with a different approach, I want to make its development community driven from the beginning. If you are still wondering what type of dApp I am talking about, you can imagine something similar to 9Gag, where users share and comment on funny images.

I know many hivers frown upon this type of content and I do understand why. Yet I am a strong believer that this community needs to make some space for easy to digest and easy to create Viral content. I trust this type of initiatives will prove vital on improving adoption and will provide a new and accesible layer for new users to share and vote content without the need of being a virtuoso writer.

I want your feedback

As I already mentioned I want to build this ground up based on input from the community. So please let me know your thoughts and suggestions.

  • Is there space for a dApp like this on hive? Would you approve it?
  • How do you see it working and interacting with the blockchain and its ecosystem?
  • What do you believe are the key points to take into account for doing this?
  • How can I get your support?
  • And whatever else cames into your mind when reading this.

PS: Without bidbots I don't know how to get exposure I guess I will burn some Hive and cross my fingers, though I am pretty sure no one reads from that feed. If you like what you read, please consider helping me achieve more exposure to get feedback.

PS2: I will save some time for those who will research my account and share some transparency to those who wont. Yes, I did use a lot of bidbots when I was active. Yes, some of the first comus.fun active accounts were ran by me.

Now in my defense:

  1. Bidbots were very profitable and a great way to stake up. Back in the day everyone did it, including reputable members of the community.
  2. Those accounts were not driven by greed or profit. I created them to give comus.fun a sense of community while working towards a real active community. No one wants to go into a ghost town or see the same picture for a whole day. I used them to keep things fresh. One can easily see that I never cashed out and that I was never into the quick money scheme, I am in for the long run.

Cheers! I hope this makes sense to many of you and we can work together for a stronger Hive.

Sort:  

Congratulations @cryptouru! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 30 posts. Your next target is to reach 40 posts.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Introducing HiveBuzz Shop - Offer gifts with your favorite badges
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!