You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What's your comment to post ratio like?

in Ask the Hive2 years ago

Thanks for providing the link to Hivebuzz. I already knew that I'm small fish, but now I know that my commenting is, well, only okay-ish, I guess, at about 9.5. Wish I could do more, both posting and commenting but, as you said - life happens...

image.png

And so I keep trudging along trying to do what I can because engagement is really important to me. If there is none, it feels dead and I'll stop posting. It is what happened to my off-chain blog. I stopped because I didn't want to play silly link-up parties, links that no one would click on much less comment on, while I did. And I put a lot of effort into that blog with tuts and all.

Zero reciprocation is death to blogging or a community also. I'll admit it annoys me quite a bit when other minnows (not talking about whales) do not follow back or don't respond to comments on their posts. To the point that I'm considering unfollowing.

Thanks to ocd for being on the lookout for engagement!

Your comment about the stranger making acidyo mom's account made me LOL - thanks for that! 🤣

Sort:  

Zero reciprocation is death to blogging or a community also.

Something so many that come from other platforms just do not understand.

Hmm, IMO exactly those should understand, well, I guess it depends which platforms we're talking about. Maybe it's just certain people that don't understand and thus don't reciprocate, I don't know. But I know that it has made me a lot more hesitant to follow peeps.

I've seen a few from youtube that they join, post stuff from their youtube page and that is it, no making the post from Hive just a carbon copy word for word of their youtube post. No replies to people that comment, just the expectation they will get a vote from everyone just because they have a big youtube account. They don't last long on Hive.

Oh yeah, got it! That is absolutely the kind of stuff that is not going to last.