You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Should the "White Knight" get a finder's fee?

in Ask the Hive4 years ago

I'm letting you know that I don't think that's your business, and I don't appreciate it.

Fair enough, but at the same time these events are topical, Hive "newsworthy" and everyone is talking about them - should we talk about it next month - when is it okay? I just wanted to start a bit of a discussion, which it looks like I have - but it was obviously too soon.

Sort:  

It's not discussing the event, it's suggesting that a tip or finder's fee might be appropriate. Following that up with a 5% calculation further sinks in that point. You're talking about spending other people's money on the same day it was made unavailable to them by theft.

Just because Bittrex has it, doesn't mean I have control of my STEEM or can sell it. I might end up having to cut it as a loss anyway. Better than the thieves having it at least.

Following that up with a 5% calculation further sinks in that point.

To give an understanding of how much was actually taken - not a suggestion.

You're talking about spending other people's money on the same day it was made unavailable to them by theft.

Again, I am not spending shit, it was a discussion, thought it might be fun and if you read the comments, people like the discussion, as it is a very weird event. Obviously not - hence the flags coming in, but fuck that.

Just because Bittrex has it, doesn't mean I have control of my STEEM or can sell it. I might end up having to cut it as a loss anyway.

You might, like the 40K that is sitting in my wallet too, as I have no fucking idea if they will just HF again and take that tomorrow. As said, I have worked my ass off and bought in also (as have many others) and am yet to take one dollar benefit - The losses incurred on Steem by this shitshow aren't constrained to the last couple days, nor to only the accounts affected in the latest HF.

I sympathize with those stuck with SP too. I didn't want to increase the sourness of today but I also felt when I first commented that it was inappropriate for someone not directly involved to bring up the topic of what the owners of the stolen funds (including me) should do with them, if they got them back. I could have put it better.

I sympathize with those stuck with SP too.

I bought and powered up something like 12 thousand Steem just after powering up several thousand more prior, to support the real witnesses - some of which are flagging me now.

that it was inappropriate for someone not directly involved to bring up the topic of what the owners of the stolen funds

When I first heard of the list, I expected my name to be on there and still had the feeling it would be when the HF finally landed, as I was one of those who pushed and spoke out heavily against those same people in support of flagging and the EIP.

I could have put it better.

Yes, I could have put it better too, but I didn't - I don't have a lawyer or an editor, to know what can and can't be said - but, that has always been the case - I am not going to be silent out of fear of angering the stake gods.

I really hope all the STEEM is returned to the rightful owners - even if they will use it to power up and flag me more :D I think that there is a good chance that due to the history of Bittrex knowing a fair bit about Steem and the governance, they will work it out quickly.

I hope you have a good evening.

I really hope all the STEEM is returned to the rightful owners - even if they will use it to power up and flag me more :D

I appreciate your appreciation for fairness. FWIW I didn't downvote you.

I am pretty fair all up - and have been around long enough to not care about the downvotes. What is a pity is how they are used to influence discourse.