Should the "White Knight" get a finder's fee?

in Ask the Hive4 years ago

So, it seems that the theft of 23 Million Steem has been thwarted by some guy, a good samaritan - due to a mixture of technical capability from the White Knight, technical incompetence from the Steem witnesses - and a dash of Ocean's 11 plot twist.

No STEEM for you!

With the 23 million Steem first being drained from user accounts through a hardfork into a single "anon" account and then from there in a plot twist being diverted from that account straight into Bittrex with a memo asking them to return it to those prior to the rightful owners - things seem to be as they should be in the bizarro land of Steem.

Lesson 1: don't create an anonymous account using the service of an ex-Steem witness :D

One thing is for sure, the "new Steem" witnesses have shown not only their true colors and willingness to steal from stakeholders, but also their technical ineptitude.

5% of the 23,000,000 is about 1.15M STEEM

So, what do you think, if the STEEM goes back to the real owners, should they pay a finder's fee percentage to the White KNight as a thank you for the bold move?

Taraz
[ Gen1: Hive ]

Sort:  

I might consider giving them a tip. But as you're someone who didn't have his money stolen and continues to post on Steem, suggesting what you're suggesting in your title is absolutely none of your business.

Lol, do you think I meant it should be obligatory?

It's simply not something that concerns you. You're talking about spending other people's stolen money while at the same time posting to the network that stole it. And if you can't tell, as someone whose STEEM was stolen, I don't appreciate it.

You're talking about spending other people's stolen money while at the same time posting to the network that stole it.

What are you talking about, I'm not talking about spending shit. Your keys, do what you want - this was an Ask the Hive question asking whether people think he should get a finder's fee. What you actually all do if (I hope you do) get your STEEM back is completely up to you.

Ah yeah BTW, I am reposting on with Steem 8 (now 4) weeks of powerdown left - nearly all who vote on me are active on Hive and are powering down steem also, so the value of my posts will trickle to zero, with that value most likely moving across to Hive, knowing the people who are predominantly voting on me. The reposted content gave them a safe way to vote without attracting downvotes while they got their funds out.

Funny, 3.5 years I have known you - 3.5 years I supported steem the best I could, now Hive. But hey, none of that matters....

I know you support Hive. But you're discussing what others should do with their stolen STEEM which they might not get back, or might not get back in time to sell, due to the actions of the thieves running Steem. Which you're adding content to. On the same day it was stolen. I'm letting you know that I don't think that's your business, and I don't appreciate it.

I'm letting you know that I don't think that's your business, and I don't appreciate it.

Fair enough, but at the same time these events are topical, Hive "newsworthy" and everyone is talking about them - should we talk about it next month - when is it okay? I just wanted to start a bit of a discussion, which it looks like I have - but it was obviously too soon.

It's not discussing the event, it's suggesting that a tip or finder's fee might be appropriate. Following that up with a 5% calculation further sinks in that point. You're talking about spending other people's money on the same day it was made unavailable to them by theft.

Just because Bittrex has it, doesn't mean I have control of my STEEM or can sell it. I might end up having to cut it as a loss anyway. Better than the thieves having it at least.

Following that up with a 5% calculation further sinks in that point.

To give an understanding of how much was actually taken - not a suggestion.

You're talking about spending other people's money on the same day it was made unavailable to them by theft.

Again, I am not spending shit, it was a discussion, thought it might be fun and if you read the comments, people like the discussion, as it is a very weird event. Obviously not - hence the flags coming in, but fuck that.

Just because Bittrex has it, doesn't mean I have control of my STEEM or can sell it. I might end up having to cut it as a loss anyway.

You might, like the 40K that is sitting in my wallet too, as I have no fucking idea if they will just HF again and take that tomorrow. As said, I have worked my ass off and bought in also (as have many others) and am yet to take one dollar benefit - The losses incurred on Steem by this shitshow aren't constrained to the last couple days, nor to only the accounts affected in the latest HF.

I sympathize with those stuck with SP too. I didn't want to increase the sourness of today but I also felt when I first commented that it was inappropriate for someone not directly involved to bring up the topic of what the owners of the stolen funds (including me) should do with them, if they got them back. I could have put it better.

In theory yes, but in practice I think that would put White Knight in a legal crosshairs. Right now he had no personal benefit from what he did. He simply prevented a theft being rewarded. But what we call "returning stolen goods" could be cast as theft and left to courts to sort out. The lack of a profit motive would be important in that situation, so best to leave it out.

Yeah you are right and I would assume that it would all be done more anonymously than a
HDF proposal :)

That's some serious lawyer talk, never thought about it :)

It seems you guys have been having a lot of fun.

Oh, you're alive?

For now. I got "the thing" so I was sent to quarantine for a couple weeks. Found you guys are now the Rebels against the evil empire. Kind of cool.

Hope you are well and life is being relatively kind to you :)

I think this is Naboo or something like that - I don't know, I am not nerdy enough

Oh, I had in mind even nerdier stuff than Star Wars. "The empire where the SUN never sets" but it checks.

They shouldn't - but I'm sure they will thank him.

I agree bro! This is a blockchain - here no one owes anything to anyone :)

Если бы этому хаккеру нужны были средства он бы их забрал - если он так легко забрал Steem то наверно он сегодня взломал Bitcoin )) ~~~ embed:1263120977849978880?s=20 почитай - я в шоке! twitter metadata:d2hhbGVfYWxlcnR8fGh0dHBzOi8vdHdpdHRlci5jb20vd2hhbGVfYWxlcnQvc3RhdHVzLzEyNjMxMjA5Nzc4NDk5Nzg4ODB8 ~~~

Спасибо за новость. Вот это денек выдался...

Мне здесь определенно нравиться - таких перипетий я давно не наблюдал в крипто-пространстве ))

Once they get their Steem back, I hope they are grateful at least :)

If the white knight gets a finders fee could they be charged with prostitution? 🤔 🤔 🧐

They would be accepting money for fucking Justin .....

fucking Justin .....

lols - that is likely a bigger crime - and I think he is saving his virginity for someone special.

If they get their Steem back...

Wonder if we'll ever know for sure who was behind it.

It was an awesome stunt! 🤣

There are some things in life that deserve a real LOL! :D

Lesson 1 is epic hahah can't get any better than that i bet justin will not sleep tonight

Just remember, they still stole the funds first - all on the blockchain.

Oh man, what happened? I need the details, did someone else post about this?! I hope it wasn't a discord thing lol Absolutely hilarious though that they used the same service instead of creating one on their own. Complete lack of understanding of the blockchain they are overseeing. They just embarrassed the fuck out of themselves on the world crypto stage.

the keys to the "anon" account got changed just prior to the HF and just after, the funds were sent straight to bittrex.

They just embarrassed the fuck out of themselves on the world crypto stage.

And they still stole the funds first.

Too damn funny, caught up on some of it via SteemD and other places. Am I the only one who has SteemD tell me to then use Steempeak, have a banner message of HF23.0 that they are trying to steal peoples money and go over to Hive? If not, that is fucking hilarious they are so incompetent that they can't change. Not sure if my browser has something cached though and is doing that for me.

I definitely think he deserves one but would leave the decisions to those who were affected by the theft. It's their money.

That said, the white knight could have stolen everything when you think about it. Right? Not sure if he wouldn't be able to sell since exchanges closed deposits. But yeah.

Edit - btw, what do you think of the recent HBD price drop with the upbit listing? I bought a bag of HBD with my liquid HIVE and am now converting back to HIVE. It's 20% arbitrage.

Yep, of course it is up to them, but I think that they would be pretty grateful.

Not sure if he wouldn't be able to sell since exchanges closed deposits. But yeah.

If he was going to steel it, he wouldn't have sent it straight to an exchange perhaps.

I edited my original comment but was too late :)

I would like to edit mine as steal is with an "a" :D

What about the HBD arbitrage? Are you going to buy some and convert?

I have bought some on the exchanges, but not sure if I will convert or not.

looks like he had the keys so he could have moved it wherever and also even blame witnesses for it.

yep, that would have been funny too.

What if all these was a plot twist 🤣

Well a finders fee won't be a bad idea as long as the finder is ready to reveal his/her identity to the community 😎

definitely a plot twist of some kind

😂 We will wait to see the final outcome of it all

Lesson 2: stealing is bad :D

;D indeed.

There’s a non-zero chance that it was an inside job. A Steemit employee who still had a soul?

Lesson 1: don't create an anonymous account using the service of an ex-Steem witness :D

But that level of fail is just astonishing. WTF?

A Steemit employee who still had a soul?

Possibly, I think not though.

But that level of fail is just astonishing. WTF?

Yep.

The big thing is - they still stole the funds prior to having them redirected. The crime of theft of private property was still committed, regardless if the owners get it returned.

I assume it had to be @someguy123. I heard the account was made using anonsteem. Is that true?

That is true.

I can only imagine Justin Sun’s face when he saw that happen.

probably like this :D

Then this :/

then this :(

Then this 💩 💩 💩

@tarazkp , I don't think someone like that cares about money too much.. This is cool shit..bro.. Someone who can save others' millions can also make his own.

I think it would be a nice gesture.

Now I'm scared of these blockchains. No fund in crypto seems to be safe. Anybody can steal it in a matter of second with some quirky codes given all Witnesses agree with the move.

Anyway, the twist here was hilarious.

Buy gold and bury it in your garden, but don't let anyone see you or tell anyone it is there. :)

There are blockchains and there are broken blockchains. Steem is broken.

Hahahha really?

Man this is perfect if it is the case. That is a sign of the power of community that we build on STEEM but have happily moved to Hive.

I still covet my steem stake as it was years in the making. The fact that Hive tokens carry more individual and market cap is a bit of a validation on the value of the true, engaged and passionate community of individuals.

Love seeing this story unfold!

It is strange, I spent years working and buying to power up steem, now I am waiting for my Steem to be powered down....

There should be no obligatory cut going to the White Knight. However if they secured my stake I would definitely 'donate' some kickbacks in one form or the other (should they want to reveal their identity).

Of course, I don't think I ever mentioned anything obligatory. Donations, tips, gifts... Some gratitude of some kind. He wouldn't have to accept it if he chose not to either.

The best Storyyyyyyy everrrrrrrrr!!!!!!

Pretty interesting turn of events.

I have seen so much by now but this is for sure like a movie Clip 🍿👻😂

yeah, it has been a very interesting day on many fronts. Hope you are keeping well Mammasitta

just got a new job and a bit busy on that end but all good

"what do you do"

I make sure people are standing 2 metres apart

:D

I hope you are enjoying the new challenges!

There's a fair bit more work to be done to convince @bittrex to send the tokens to their original owners. But yes, I'm sure Community321 will be thanked.

Yep, it isn't over, but at least it is in a more impartial account. I hope that bittrex with its experience with Steem since the start and the BS with the staking a few months ago will do their due diligence.

I guess time will show how it unfolds.

I am more concerned about how those funds have been stolen in the first place (i get that part) but i'm even more concerned that it was hacked and stolen again so fast. That might be some technical stuff i am not aware off, but i thought my funds are pretty secure as long as i keep keys to myself. Looks like there are ways to hack it pretty easily given someone possesses the knowledge....

I don't think it was a hack in the traditional sense - I think that the account creators didn't secure their account well.

You meant they did put their active keys on evernote for that account with 23 million steem on it? lol I've read it somewhere it was some exploit from ex-steem witness or something. I can not confirm the source though might be fake info.

As much as that would seem appropriate & fitting, it could also give credence to any retaliation. Whoever did this, knew what they were doing and wasn't expecting anything but gratitude.

As much as that would seem appropriate & fitting, it could also give credence to any retaliation.

I think the retaliation may move down the stake ladder again - HF24?

Whoever did this, knew what they were doing and wasn't expecting anything but gratitude.

Yeah, I wouldn't expect a ticker-tape parade about it and am sure that he will have a beer or two bought for him :)

I just hope the current group of witnesses on Hive are taking notes of what has been happening over on steem. i hope we all learn a lesson from this and that real talk starts to take place somewhere on hive to strengthen our own witness house and decrease the chance of this ever occurring on Hive Block Chain.

I am in the process of powering down, but I have not jumped through the hoops of KYC rules and regulations, I may be able to power down, I may still have the Steem I had prior to the hard fork, but if I am not able to do anything with it, it is as good as being stolen. Hopefully Ionomy will re-open and provide a means for the small holders like myself to divest themselves of Steem.

Per a few remarks below about individuals continuing to post on steem block chain, I myself have no issues or problems with that. The posting on/using of that chain does not mean a person really supports it. I for one am glad that there are a few that are posting over there while they power down. I need people to vote on while I power down and those people are the ones in my feed that I have followed and voted on before. I don't even care if it is just a simple head line reminder like "I am still powering down", I will vote on it.

Hopefully Ionomy will re-open and provide a means for the small holders like myself to divest themselves of Steem.

KYC makes it hard, but perhaps you could find a friendly soul to trade it for you or convert it into something that can be traded on an exchange without KYC

The posting on/using of that chain does not mean a person really supports it. I for one am glad that there are a few that are posting over there while they power down. I need people to vote on while I power down and those people are the ones in my feed that I have followed and voted on before. I don't even care if it is just a simple head line reminder like "I am still powering down", I will vote on it.

This is what I suspect of many, which is why I have been reposting for weeks, as it is content that already exists and isn't likely to attract flags, since it isn't shitposting. Pretty much all of the voters on my posts have been people powering down for Hive, including some of the accounts that had their Steem stolen and then transferred today. I don't understand the drama of posting there while powering down - not that it should really matter anyway. In my opinion, the more Steem that gets converted to Hive, the better.

Hopefully I wont need to find a friendly soul to help me out, and that Ionomy will re-open steem in a week or so. I should have started my power down right away, but I did have hopes things would change, all that hope is gone now.

Remember that as of nowz the power down period is 4 weeks on Steem. You would have to stop and restart it though of you had started your power down prefork

Yep, I stopped and restarted, I still had 7 or 8 weeks to go on the previous power down.

Good thing. I had about the same as I accidentally stopped one a few weeks in..

Just did that! Now I am out in 4 weeks, yippee!

Let's see if it is worth anything in two...

Suggesting this puts pressure on the victims to do something. Definitely nothing should be mentioned publically.

Nah, I don't think so - the names on that list aren't really known for getting pressured into doing stuff they don't want by a post like this. I think many of them would do it out of gratitude of some kind - even if it is buying a quiet round somewhere and I would assume that this isn't the only place it is mentioned.

Definitely nothing should be mentioned publically.

Of course not - this is crypto :D

I would imagine they will be grateful whem their stolen funds are recovered. There are just more things that can go wrong with this than right. Unless the person reveals themselves, it's going to be weird.

Yep, still a bit of a way to go - but hopefully bittrex has the experience with some members of the group of those stolen funds to get it sorted out quickly. I would suspect it was sent there on purpose.

HE'SHE WANTS NOTHING. His only post was "You're welcome". It's pretty clear.

Maybe. But public and private often carry different thoughts and actions.

Convert that Finder's Fee to Hive, because none the less he has done a lot of people a favour.

Yeah - :)

I think you voiced exactly what most of us are thinking!

Most, not all. some don't even like the mention of it :D

It will be interesting to see how this plays out, that's for sure!

I don't think a finder's fee is necessary. A donation of gratitude? that's another story. That's certainly within the realm of possibility?

It is interesting how people get stuck on the terms, though the outcome is the same :)

I am guessing that if they get their STEEM back, some of them will find a way to buy a beer or two.

One is mandatory, the other is voluntary. Therein lies the difference. English is a weird language, isn't it?

Yet "actions speak louder than words" :D

Yep, they would - but perhaps a few encrypted memos from an anon account to the list would help ;)