You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What has been your biggest success and biggest failure in life?

in Ask the Hive4 years ago

If I were to choose one, I guess it would be letting people walk all over me for so long before I finally stood up and said no more.

An interesting one - thanks for sharing.

That refers to shitty family members lol

Family have a lot to answer for. While they shouldn't be used as an excuse, it is often hard to break the pattern, especially under the "blood is thicker than water" concept.

Sort:  

That's for sure! My family thinks that because they have the phrase "family" in with their names, they can treat us like shit. We said fuck that last year and haven't looked back. They keep prodding and trying to get under our skin but life is easier without dealing with their shit. The unfortunate part is that all of them but 1 do this but the 1 suffers because they can't see us without being with them.

I've told them exactly what our issues are with them yet they just keep doing the same old thing lol oh well, we enjoy not having to stress about what next load of shit they are going to pull when we visit them.

We said fuck that last year and haven't looked back.

From what I have seen, when it gets to this point, it is generally for the best.

we enjoy not having to stress about what next load of shit they are going to pull when we visit them.

I am hoping that my daughter never feels like this.

I hear you man, I hope my son never feels this way as well! It's unfortunately what I've had to deal with for many years.

Without going into too much detail, I'm not the twinkle in my moms eye so I haven't received similar treatment as others have. Even more so because I'm far more independent than they are; I don't ask for help, I'm not an ass-kisser. Coupled with the fact that she abhors my wife, we get treated real swell!

The best thing we can do is instill our loving values and qualities in our children so that when they grow up they don't feel the rejection and disdain we did.