You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ask the Hive: What communities would you like to see kickstarted on Hive?

in Ask the Hive3 years ago

LOL sorry.
If you did see my points though I partly succeeded.
The rest then, well I will work on it.
I respect your opinion and now ladybug has proven to be well opinionated also.

A thought: It seems the ladies of Hive are actually leading the way on the community front. You, @jaynie @ladybug146 and many others are running amazing initiatives which are adding so much rich content. All very organic and sustainable.

So maybe the coders need to do their part and improve the slab. That's my only gripe with Hive. If this had all the bits. I would be committed to it with more than just opinion and have no reservations in the long game. It's not hard at all to build networks. I refuse to build that partly on DISCORD though!

Sort:  

For me building a network and cosi g is abracadabra so I need to be trusting that the devs do the job that need to be down and as in real life there are so many opinions its hard to get all satisfied, but for me being here is a way of life , ofcourse I want hive to rocket to the moon but it’s more I get here than on other socials I like. In these trying times I am liking for people that will look to the future with me, who understand that now there is no way to communicate as much is I do without discord to be the hiver I am right now. Would it be good for Hive to have that internally well yes maybe but it isn’t here yet it’s adjoined to the hip and that’s perfectly fine for me. Do we nee change YES but a toddler needs to learn to walk and talk hive is only 8 months so let’s be posting commenting and engagement and come up with solutions or if that is not enough just leave there is so much available! This is for all reading this not for you personally but if you fit the shoe 👞 jahahah

I get your perspective. It's what I refer to as "die hards." You will go down with the ship because all your belongings are on said ship. Now the ship isn't going down and your commitment is not at all a bad thing. The only point of this comment is that the masses aren't like you. They pick something up, and on a whim discard it.

So traffic retention and conversion into active users is crucial.
Which is why the big tech platforms have that down to a hypnotic science!
Or they just buy out any potential competitor.

So then since these new systems depend on the money players. Catering to them is also very important. They too don't see a thing as a die-hard user does. They only view things objectively. So then there's fundamentals that make their decision easier.

IMO, crypto is still gambling but sustainability and then 'market share potential' are things which can be determined by simple analytics. So anyone putting up a large stake will only do that if the thing has potential. If it's got demand and can create growth. Hive has great communities.. but really outsiders don't even know. Then when a person researches, it's evident that the talk of the town is that even those committed communities are shedding users.

So then my logic-driven mind looks for the point of failure.

When a social platform,
Needs an external social platform,
In order to be a social platform..

Then that giant hole in the hull needs fixing.

I wonder how many active Hive users are on DISCORD actually.
I would think that even some that left Hive/Steemit would stay connected to their contacts on Discord. So isn't that a red flag to you? Hive actually working for a platform not even part of the Hive system. WTH!

There is some truth in the thing you write but the alternative isn’t great either and I like the fact it’s the platform it’s become and i stay for my friends and myself ! I make a library of life and make some pennies along the way, that a social platform needs another doesn’t bother me that much now maybe in the longrun but what would be your solution as I said I am not a coder