Sort:  

What a story so far ... and a lot of work. I can envision what you had to work your way through, but what an unbelievable GREAT project you have here. Good that you can do a lot yourself! Looking forward to the next part ... love to see Mrs. Moon hammering.

We try to do as much as possible ourselves. There are things that we wont touch like electrical or plumbing but we do a lot of other bits ourselves which does help to keep costs down. In saying that it is costing a whole lot more than we ever imagined and the pace is crazy slow too. But we drive on, it is a marathon and not a sprint.

Myself and Mrs Moon were only this morning over coffee discussing how frustrating it can be when things are not moving as quickly as we would like!

But we did get to go out for a beautiful walk in the sun yesterday evening! We also have a week off next week and intend on spending as much time as possible in the sea or mountains. Cant wait to have this time to explore and enjoy our surroundings.

Good that you also take your free time. Mr. Shepherd is now on 2 weeks of vacation, but he doesn't really take time off to rest and enjoy other things. He is very busy with projects that he thinks he MUST do on his vacation now. So I have been working since Monday to convince him that he should really take a few days FREE to go out with the dogs. So that for the first time in five years, we will also be further away from home as 20 kilometers. He has promised me that before the two weeks have passed he will take that time ... It will make me wonder. Today I noticed that he also has a lot of problems with his back ... so wait and see how the holiday will go.

And since we're not going away today ... I took the dogs out this morning for a long long walk. We enjoyed it while Mr. Shepherd was busy with getting wood ready to make a new chair.

I do hope you get away for a while. Sometimes the house can be all consuming! Are you near the coast at all? I find the sea to be so wonderfully calming.

Do you camp or anything like that? we love to go camping but as we now live in a holiday destination we will stay local this year. In the future we would love to get a campervan and do a tour of Europe.

I'm trying to save up for a holiday next year in France with the dogs. We want to drive there and go to friends of me who live there. And while we stay there we can go see the environment. This year it won't be the case that we're going away for more then one day. A campervan would be great, I would love that too but we'll have to see about that. And to be honest ... I would be more than happy if we're away for just one day!

No we're not living near a coast, we have to drive up there for at least 1,5 hour ... and since we didn't have a car, and our dogs can not go in public transport, it was impossible for five years. Now this year I hope we will get there but even though we have a car again now, we are only using it when necessary. So it's not sure, but I have hope ... and well hope is the most important thing here right?

You better believe it! And with your new program I hope you can attract all these things into your life!

You know I am always rooting for you anyway!

Wow contractor on the go , that’s a lot of work the brothers B look big and very nesseccary with a family of 5. When do you need to be finished ? And is all do able with covid or is it hard to get people to come over and work?

Thanks for checking it out. So, we don't have an end date as its our home, we moved away from the rat race that is Dublin and my 3 hour daily commute for a better standard of life. We did that late last year.

We've done a lot of the work on the property ourselves and really only taking trades in for the technical or "finished" pieces like electrical, water and plastering ( I love a smooth wall!)

COVID wasn't too bad to us. I was put on furlough in the job I had recently got in the new city and this allowed me to spend a large amount of time on the house, 6 days a week. I got quite a lot done to be honest. Then I got talking to a few people I know in a company I had partnered with while working in a different company and they offered me a job which is fully remote. This is just perfect for me as I can be here for the kiddies and Mrs Moon can work as she pleases. All in all I was on furlough for about 2 months.

Well that is great indeed, we haven’t been effected that bad aswell ( yet ) the job is both from
Home and in the actual office and the kids were home for 9 weeks but gone back in for 5 and now we have summer break. For six and this is week one so we have to see. We do have more sick people but no deaths. Thank god we will have to see what happens in the next few weeks . Here online there are people from all
Over who have it much worse than me so I pray covid disappears as fast as it came

Yep, I think that a lot of countries didn't take it as seriously as they needed to take it. Thus resulting in more suffering than was necessary. Home schooling has been a challenge here, my 2 kids in primary school didn't get to go back to the school building at all before summer break. My eldest son is in college and he didn't go back either.

There is no plan in place as yet for the new school / college year which is worrying to us. Our middle son is to start in secondary school this September and we have no Idea if that will actually happen at this point.