30 Minute 'Koi Fish' Watercolor Painting

in Sketchbook2 years ago

IMG_E4351-0193764.jpg

I Couldn't Think Of A Better Way To Spend 45 Minutes Of My Time ..

With set up and paint testing, I probably spent more like an hour to an hour and 15 minutes. But I don’t like to figure that sort of time into my paintings and less I’m trying to figure out a price when selling them. Anyhow, it was time well spent being that it improved my mood and outlook that has been a bit miserable lately.


Art Has A Way Of Improving Ones Mood ..

My mood has been blah and I won’t reiterate what I said in my last post, because frankly people get tired of hearing other people complain about what ails them. I don’t want to do that so I’m not going to. What I am going to tell you is that I should always trust my instinct and my heart when it tells me to do something I enjoy and that will in turn improve my mood and outlook on life. The same may be true for you, but maybe your hobby or your 'Thing' that you do is different than mine.

I went out on a limb and tried something new. Probably not the best idea when it comes to trying to improve one’s mood, but I did it anyway. Why I say it’s not the best idea is because if I were to fail, or in my eyes fail, it would make my mood worse rather than better. Who wants to fail or feel like a failure? Not too many I would guess. Good for me that it didn’t work out in that direction and I would consider this "Trying Something New" a success, and I have this better happier mood to prove it.


The Art ..

Let's get to it shall we? Let's get to this new art piece I speak of. It’s a watercolor painting of three Koi fish. I decided to call the piece 'Koi Fish' for now. I know it’s a little bit predictable, but until I decide I am painting a series of these, I am sticking with 'Koi Fish'.

Don’t ask me where I got the idea or inkling to create this painting. It was out of sheer spontaneity. I am not considered a very spontaneous type person, but sometimes I surprise myself. This is one of those times. I just picked up the brush, grabbed a square piece of watercolor paper, taped it to my working board/workspace, and drew what came to my mind. I have no idea why coif fish came to my mind except that we have a fish tank at work and I have been enjoying watching those fish as they gently move around their environment. There’s something calming about watching fish. It’s sort of eases the soul if you know what I mean.

I can’t help but remember the good old days.. when my wife and I built a Koi pond in our backyard. It was a really nice one if I do say so myself. It’s not often I pat myself on the back for a creation well executed, but that pond really brought us a lot of joy for many many years. We eventually had to give the fish away and fill in the pond due to insurance reasons when we moved and rented that place out.

This is the only photo I could find quickly.. This is the great late Pepper and Patches. Patches was another one of our furbabies that was lost way too soon. We miss these pup's every single day. Anyhow.. This is the posnd I was talking about.

17664040-215B-4149-B924-B8ABFFF86D6F.jpeg

This painting brings back some great memories of watching those fish swim back-and-forth through the greenish blue waters. As I mentioned above I started off by taping a piece of square 140 pound watercolor paper to my workspace. I taped in about two eights of an inch to give a nice white border to my finish painting.

IMG_4344.JPG

Then I sketched out to for Koi fish and one partial fish. In the end I didn’t quite care for this bright yellow fish because it was a little bit too curvy for me. I’ll correct that on my next painting. For now I’m OK with it because overall the painting came out fantastic.

IMG_4345.JPG

Next I applied water to all areas around the fish with one brush then added in my blues and Veridian greens with another. Having the areas wet around the fish but not within the lines of the fish, keeps the colors from seeping into those areas.

IMG_4346.JPG

After I had the majority of the water how I wanted it, I moved to painting the fish. One of the time I added paint to the fish, then went back and added additional details. I wasn’t working from any photographs so I was strictly going by what I remembered them looking like. Next time I’ll take a look at some photos for a better representation of Koi.

IMG_4347.JPG

IMG_4348.JPG

In this last photo I’m just about done. I added some additional shading and touches here and there, as well as some touchups in the water itself. It didn’t take long for me to complete the painting, just about 30 minutes in total. There’s not much to discuss as far as technique. I’m not an expert on watercolors so I really don’t know the terminology either. I would be doing the art world and injustice by making something up, that’s for sure!

IMG_4350.JPG

After I signed the piece and I felt it was complete, and mostly dry, I remove the tape carefully by pulling outward. Once the tape was off the painting could continue to dry over the next hour or so. If I want to I can use a towel and an iron on low heat to smooth the paper back out into more of a flat piece. The water curls the edges slightly and that can be taken away with the iron.

IMG_E4351.JPG

And there we have it!

I finished painting that worked wonders on improving my mood. It didn’t hurt that it brought back some good memories and good times spent in our first home. painting new things is always a challenge, but I felt I matched it well and came up with a pretty good piece. I may even try selling this on Etsy.

IMG_E4351-0193764.jpg

Here Is The Summary Shot ..

1641500584109.png

I would like to paint a few more pieces so I can create sort of a series on quick fish. We’ll see how far I get with that. Wish me luck!

See.. Art Does Improve Life. It Starts With One Mood At A Time!

Hive text divider.png

text16.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

text16.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

text16.png

Hive text divider.png

The Orchid Lovers Community!

Love Orchids? Consider joining our community. We look forward to seeing you there!!!

The Orchid Lovers Community

A place for people who Love Orchids!

Sort:  

Very nice watercolor! As to pricing I’ve sold some of my oil paintings by the square inch, but I give most of them to family and friends since I’m not trying to make a living from it. I agree it is a relaxing way to lose yourself for a few hours. I finished my latest painting during a snowstorm power outage. Happy painting in 2022!

Same here.. Not trying to make a living from selling. Thank you for the compliments and I am going now to swing over to your blog to check your work out!

I heart Kois. Sleeping on an original Japanese futon (Kakebuton, Shikibuton, Tatami) and I choose Kois as the motive. It was handmade from a small traditional business in Japan and shipped to me. Also Kois on the wall. Fishis rock! And I could look into a tank for hours without being bored. I can also watch Joy sleeping for hours without being bored 😂

I hear ya. Molly is a somewhat peaceful sleeper except for the occasional out burst in the middle of the night. She doesn't bark really at all while awake, but God only knows what she is barking at in her sleep! Wakes me right up every time.

A futon with a koi design? sweet! That sounds really cool. If it has fish, it must be worth it and give a good nights rest. How could it possibly not? hehe.

Investing in the futon was the best I could do. I had issues sleeping before, back pain, fatigue etc. Since I sleep in heaven no issues at all. The Japanese know how to sleep right. For the body it is better than modern mattresses. From my experience. I will never sleep on anything else again lol.

https://www.futonbedsfromjapan.com/futon-shikibuton-mattress/

This is where I got mine. They change the designs every 6 months or so.

I wonder as well what the doggies dream about sometimes lol. But them dreaming shows that animals have a memory and feelings and a consciousness. Plus they are the most peaceful things while asleep.

That is an awesome painting! I really like the colors. We have a place up by us that sells Koi fish and supplies. I have never visited there before. That looks like a really awesome pond! I always think I can build stuff as nice as that and then it gets finished an it looks like crap. I have an issue with things being level and even. I am happy to see that isn't an issue for you!

I'll have to find a better photo of the pond. We put so much work into it and needed help with the big rocks. It was back breaking, but well worth it. Those kind of projects always sound and look fun.. then one starts them and thinks "What the heck was I thinking!"

Thank you for the kind compliment on my painting too! 😁

This is beautiful. Thanks for sharing.

Why thank you!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Thank you Posh Bot! 😁

Congratulations @bdmillergallery! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 92000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 93000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 3
Happy New Year - Feedback from the first Hive Power Up Day of 2022

Sweet! I am slowly reaching 100,000! Thank you for the support and update 😁

It´s Beautiful

Thank you sir! 😊

Enhorabuena. Has recibido apoyo
The Creative Coin Fund.
Únete al servidor de Creative Coin y comparte tus publicaciones.

Congratulations. You have received support from
The Creative Coin Fund.
Join the Creative Coin server and share your posts.

Selección manual de @mazquel


Image by barbara-orenya

Thank you much much!!! 😁