Samurai X: Kenshin Himura - Pixelart

Samurai X: Kenshin Himura.

IMG_20211027_053826_665.jpg

Hello! Today I bring this digital painting in pixelart style and I wanted to dedicate this painting to one of my favorite anime characters; Kenshin Himura. Without a doubt, Samurai X is one of the best anime ever, its story, characters, animation, everything, I find it excellent. Something I always loved about this anime is its soundtrack with artists like "Makoto Kawamoto" with the iconic song "Sobakasu", used for the first opening of the anime, and I speak for everyone when I say that just listening to this song makes your hair stand on end. Achieving that emotion in people is something difficult for any artist.

Samurai X is a manga (written and illustrated by Nobuhiro Watsuki) and an anime (directed by Kazuhiro Furuhashi) that tells the story of Kenshin Himura, also known as the wandering swordsman and Battousai the picker (Battousai Hitokiri), who was an assassin in the Tokugawa era of Japan, however due to several tragic and sad events, Kenshin decides to leave that life and profession aside. Deciding to start a new simple life, with a new attitude much more positive and cheerful, during the Meiji era and wandering the streets, he meets Kaoru Kamiya, a Kendo master. From this point the anime begins to develop and a series of important characters and events join the story. I don't want to go into too much detail because I know that some of you haven't seen it and it would lose the magic to tell everything that happens. I recommend you to watch it complete, with all its ovas to have a better understanding of what led Kenshin (real name, Shinta) to become a samurai and what made him give it up. Really very interesting, also for the fact that despite the fiction, it is set in real contexts of Japanese history. Without further ado, let's start with the painting.

¡Hola! El día de hoy traigo esta pintura digital al estilo de pixelart y he querido dedicar esta pintura a uno de mis personajes favoritos de anime; Kenshin Himura. Sin duda alguna, Samurai X es uno de los mejores animes de siempre, su historia, personajes, animación, todo, me parece excelente. Algo que siempre amé de este anime es su banda sonora con artistas como "Makoto Kawamoto" con la icónica cancion "Sobakasu", utilizada para el primer opening del anime, y hablo por todos al decir que el solo escuchar esta canción se te erizan los vellos. Lograr esa emoción en las personas es algo difícil para cualquier artista.

Samurai X es un manga (escrito e ilustrado por Nobuhiro Watsuki) y un anime (dirigido por Kazuhiro Furuhashi) que narra la historia de Kenshin Himura, también conocido como el espadachín vagabundo y Battousai el destajador (Battousai Hitokiri), quién fue en un asesino en la era Tokugawa de Japón, sin embargo debido a varios sucesos trágicos y tristes, Kenshin decide dejar de lado esa vida y profesión. Al decidir iniciar una nueva vida sencilla, con una nueva actitud mucho más positiva y alegre, durante la era Meiji y vagando por las calles, conoce a Kaoru Kamiya, una maestra de Kendo. Desde este punto se empieza a desarrollar el anime y se unen a la historia una serie de personajes y sucesos importantes. No quiero entrar mucho en detalles porque sé que algunos no la han visto y perdería la magia contar todo lo que sucede. Les recomiendo verla completa, con todo y sus ovas para tener una mejor compresión de que llevo a Kenshin (nombre real, Shinta) a ser un samurai y que lo hizo desistir de ello. Realmente muy interesante, también por el hecho de que a pesar de la ficción, se sitúa en contextos reales de la historia del Japón. Sin más que decir, empecemos con la pintura.

20211027_032428.jpg

Source/Fuente

For this job, I got a reference image that I quite liked. I had to make a much more elaborate lace (the sketch). Since the character has a lot of details; hair, face, clothes. So I started making the sketch with the help of some red lines that correspond to an approximation of the angles that structure the figure (I open an extra layer for this).

Para este trabajo, conseguí una imagen de referencia que me gustó bastante. Tuve que realizar un encaje mucho más trabajado (el boceto). Ya que el personaje tiene muchísimos detalles; el cabello, rostro, ropa. Por ello comencé haciendo el esbozo con ayuda de unas líneas rojas que corresponden a una aproximación de los ángulos que estructuran la figura (abro una capa extra para esto).

Screenshot_20211027-031347_Pixel Studio.jpg

Then I delete the red lines (I delete that layer where I drew the lines) so that only what will remain inside the work is left. Here I proceed to define in much more detail what I delete and what I add. A process of constant revision to verify that I effectively achieved the effect that it is Kenshin.

Luego elimino las líneas rojas (suprimo esa capa donde dibuje las lineas) para que quede solamente lo que va a permanecer dentro de la obra. Aquí procedo a ir definiendo con mucho más a detalle que elimino y que agrego. Un proceso de revisión constante para comprobar que efectivamente logró el efecto de que es Kenshin.

Screenshot_20211027-040650_Pixel Studio.jpg

I must say that I took few pictures of the process because I was so excited that I forgot at some point that I should keep record of everything hehehe However I tell you that the first thing I decided to elaborate was the hair, as I consider that it is the most characteristic in an anime style drawing. Go strand by strand, which are basically curves with tips that wrap around the face from the forehead to the back. The gathered tail is basically straight hair with some waves produced by the wind. I outlined the hair with a dark reddish tone, the shadows are a lighter shade of red and the highlights are a light shade of red-orange.

Debo decir que tome pocas capturas del proceso porque estaba tan emocionada que olvidé en cierto momento que debía guardar registro de todo jejeje Sin embargo les comento que lo primero que decidí elaborar fue el cabello, ya que considero que es lo más característico dentro de un dibujo al estilo del anime. Ir mechón por mechón, que son básicamente curvas con punta que envuelven el rostro desde la frente hasta ma parte de atras. La cola recogida es básicamente cabello lacio con algunas ondas producidas por el viento. El cabello lo delinee con un tono de rojizo oscuro, las sombras son un tono más claro del mismo y las luces un tono claro de rojo-naranja.

Screenshot_20211027-050659_Pixel Studio.jpg

For the face I used different shades of orange-pink to give equal shadows and lights. The scar is the most characteristic of the character, without it, he would not be Kenshin. In the image I used as reference the scar seems to be luminous with the use of magenta and white, it gives the appearance that it shines. However, I couldn't create that effect as I would have liked because, being pixels, I had limited space to add color. However, I liked the way it turned out. For the clothes I used a violet tone so that when I add a specific filter this suit will transform into blue and by which the character dressed under this color reminds us of Battousai the pieceworker and with another filter I give the violet-pink that takes us to Kenshin Himura, the noble wanderer with a sweet heart. I wanted to represent the duality of the character.

Para el rostro utilice diferentes tonos de naranja-rosado para otorgar de igual forma sombras y luces. La cicatriz es lo más característico del personaje, sin ella, pues no sería Kenshin. En la imagen que utilice de referencia la cicatriz parece ser luminosa con el uso de magenta y blanco, da la apariencia de que este brilla. Sin embargo no pude crear ese efecto como me fuera gustado ya que al tratarse de pixeles, tenía espacios limitados para agregar color. De igual forma me ha gustado como ha quedado. Para la ropa utilice un tono de violeta para que cuando le agregará un filtro en especifico este traje se transformará en azul y por el cual el personaje vestido bajo este color recuerda a Battousai el destajador y con otro filtro otorga el violeta-rosa que nos lleva a Kenshin Himura, el noble vagabundo de dulce corazón. Quise representar la dualidad del personaje.

IMG_20211027_053826_665.jpg

Original

Untitled 10-27-2021 02-47-11_polarr_4.jpg

Untitled 10-27-2021 02-47-11_polarr_1.jpg

Untitled 10-27-2021 02-47-11_polarr_2.jpg

Finally this is the result. For the background I only added shades of blue that simulate a night sky. I liked the result, even though I'm not used to paint anime characters, it turned out well. It's also a challenge because it couldn't go wrong, otherwise I would have many fans angry because I don't do justice to their favorite character (including me hehe). I like Kenshin's dark side, it shows a side we all have, that's why I used that image as a reference. However what I also rescue from the series are his teachings. Kenshin taught us that redemption exists only for those who are willing to change. Now yes, I say goodbye, thanks for stopping by, I send a big hug. Have a nice and excellent day.

Finalmente este es el resultado. Para el fondo sólo agregue tonos de azul que simulan un cielo nocturno. Me ha gustado bastante el resultado, ya que a pesar de que no acostumbro pintar personajes de animes ha salido bien. También es un reto ya que no podía salir mal, de ser así tendría a muchos fans enojados porque no le hago justicia a su personaje favorito (incluyendome jeje). Me gusta el lado oscuro de Kenshin, demuestra un lado que todos tenemos, por eso utilice esa imagen de referencia. Sin embargo lo que rescato también de la serie son sus enseñanzas. Kenshin nos enseñó que la redención existe sólo para aquellos que están dispuestos a cambiar. Ahora si, me despido, gracias por pasar por aquí, mando un fuerte abrazo. Que tengan un lindo y excelente día.

Sort:  

Nunca he sido mucho fanatico de este tipo de arte, pero esta muy bien hecho 👍

¡Muchísimas gracias! Me alegra que mi trabajo te haya gustado, a pesar de que no suele ser su estilo.

Samurai X, anime i've watched when i was a kid, i forgot the story

Congratulations @carminasalazarte! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 900 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - November 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation
Bee ready for the 2nd Hive Power Up Month challenge!
Trick or Treat - Share your scariest story and get your Halloween badge
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!