Unlocking My Creativity: Drawing a Dodge Charger R/T 1970

in Sketchbook4 months ago

Today, I'm putting all those cars I enjoy onto paper. I'm going to start drawing the cars that I've always liked, showing you a side of me that I haven't practiced in over 10 years.


First on the list, it can't be any other than the 1970 Dodge Charger R/T.

Let's talk a little bit about the history of this car:

The 1970 Dodge Charger R/T is an iconic American muscle car. It was produced by Dodge, a division of Chrysler Corporation. The high-performance R/T model was introduced in 1967 and continued until 1970. The 1970 Charger R/T stood out for its aggressive design and powerful engine options. While it wasn't the best-selling model, it gained fame for its appearance in movies, such as the Fast and Furious franchise. Today, it's highly valued by collectors and classic car enthusiasts for its design, power, and racing heritage.

Picture from Markus Spiske in Unsplash | Dodge Charger 1970


I wanted to bring this car first because it's Dominic Toretto's car in the Fast and Furious franchise.


In the movies, it represents his connection with his father, symbolizing family and all the values associated with it. When I first saw these movies, I fell in love with that car.
In my country, this model doesn't exist, so it was a challenge to draw it. To guide myself, I looked for several frames from the movies where it appears. I searched for some images online to add more realism. I was ready to start...

Before I begin, I have to mention that I have no formal training in drawing. It's been more than 10 years since I last drew anything, and everything I do is out of motivation rather than professional skill. I only use colored pencils, nothing more. Hopefully, with time, I'll improve both my materials and techniques.


I started by drawing the lines that would define the roof, hood, and height of the car. It makes it easier for me to shape what I had in mind.
Next, I had to give shape to the car. I decided to highlight and darken the hood and the side line of the Charger. This car is special because, despite its straightness, both the hood and the trunk have a curved line that gives it a unique look.


After getting the shape of the car, I moved on to the front grille, one of the distinctive features of this car and the most challenging part of the drawing. The Charger's grille is like a mesh and also hides the headlights. I wasn't sure how to approach it, so I decided to leave it with the headlights on. Initially, I only outlined the grille, the front bumper, and the headlights.


Then was time to connect the front of the car with the back. I carefully drew the front bumper, added some personal touches, and drew the tires.
Here, I encountered another problem. I wanted to make the front left tire tilted to make it stand out. On the first try, it ended up too round. It looked more like a Formula 1 tire than a Muscle Car's.

Before


I decided to leave it "limping" for a day, took a break, and then continued. This time, the tire turned out much closer to the result I had in mind. Only the finishing touches were left.

After

When I finished, I felt like the drawing was still incomplete and too plain, so I decided to add two more views of the same Dodge Charger.

THE END


Although I wasn't happy with how the tires turned out in the side view, I was very pleased with the overall final result.

If you've seen the movies, you might be wondering why the car's turbocharger is missing. The reason is that it's the only thing I don't like about this car in the movie, so in my version, I omitted it.

Considering that it's been over 10 years since I last picked up a pencil and I don't have the best tools for this, I'm very happy with the result I achieved.
I hope you, my dear reader, have enjoyed the process, and if you have any advice to improve, I would greatly appreciate it.
Next week, I'll be bringing another interpretation of another famous car from the Fast and Furious saga.

Until then, farewell!



About the author ....

I'm Daniel, a Cuban medical student and a car enthusiast. I love living my day-to-day life to the fullest and sharing a bit of it on Hive. I enjoy sharing about the history of the cars I come across, the curiosities of my country, my experiences, the sports I enjoy, and the movies I watch in my free time. If you want to interact more, you can find me sharing on Inleo every day. If any of this interests you, I invite you to read my previous articles.

If you've enjoyed my content, I kindly ask you to consider voting for the HiveCuba witness, who have been doing an incredible job in educating and growing the community in our country. HiveCuba's work was recognized at the recent HiveCreators as the best community program, a great acknowledgment for a year of intense work. Your support will mean a lot to us and will help several Cuban authors who are creating quality content on Hive.


Sort:  

I liked each of the views you made, the first one is undoubtedly incredible and has a nice perspective. Excellent drawing, well done!!

Thank u for your kind words 🙏🏻 Thank for commenting , if you want to see a specific model , please tell me i will draw it 😉

It really looked great. I loved that you did it with that technique, it gives it a touch of antiquity that perhaps the color would have reduced.

You are right ma'm , that IS the main reason that I didn't apply colour , i like the final result in B/W

Thank for passing and commenting 🙏🏻😁

What a great drawing! I'm not a car expert but I can tell you that for me the drawing is perfect. If you get involved I like the classic cars that drive on our streets, almendrones. Don't ask me model jeje

Thanks for passing 😁

And of course I will draw some cuban's classic cars (almendrones) , they'll be here soon 😉