Doodle My Week

in Sketchbook8 months ago

Hello everyone!

Welcome back to emanate artworx. It's been almost a month since I posted. Not to worry! I have continued making art, slowly and surely. More to come soon. But for now, let's see if I've gotten rusty :-D.

Recently, I watched a couple of shorts on YT by PSRATHOUR, called "Doodling My Day" where he basically shows whay his day was like with little video clips and his drawing of what he saw, all on one page. His version is very charming and interesting. The end result looks so lively and fun, and it was really neat to watch the story of his day come together.

Something about the cohesiveness and personal-ness of the final doodle really appealed to me, so I was inspired to make my own version. My day job can be super chaotic at times, and it takes me to many different places, which gave me the opportunity to capture a variety of references. Instead of doodling my day, I turned all of last week into a doodle page.

No surprise, I used IbisPaint to make this. 🤠 The concept was very simple:

•line art
•one color for the lines
•complementary colors for the background and lines (green-red)
•one or two elements to represent each day of the week, Monday through Friday.

I used the brush soft Japanese pen, about size 10 for most of this, except the parts I wanted to emphasize (the days) or show smaller details (eyes). At the end, I used a few of the "wacky" brushes, like splat and heart, to add little areas of interest.

Every day, I spent a little time on it, coming back to add more whenever I found a moment of idle time. All in all, I spent 3 hours on this doodle. Since I've been mostly using traditional materials recently, I felt n00bish going back to Ibis 😆. Good times.

I like this way of making a "diary." It was a fun and low-pressure way to keep the habit of creating every day. 🧡 I thought I was taking screen caps for each day to share the progression, but, yeah! I freaking forgot to actually do that! So, I only have one process shot, as I made this all on one layer. Next time will be better!

❓️Do you have a journal or diary?
❓️How do you maintain habits of creative expression?

Thank you for reading! Have an amazing week ahead. See ya on the next one : )

Ema

Sort:  

You're still good with doodle, I'm still waiting for the final work of your painting. 😬😉

Thanks, Ish. As you know, having a simple activity is a nice break from time to time. 🧡

Well ...about the painting. Things did not go as planned!! 🤬🫠 I'll be sharing, hopefully very soon.

I love this! I saw an Indian artist doing the same thing on a video yesterday. Might do it soon hehe.

Yeah! Give it a go if you have time. That was the source of my inspiration, if it's the same guy, PSRATHOUR. He made his look so good : )

Yessssss! That's the guy xd. He added a lot of characters in his version.

Yeah! He turned himself into Goku or maybe Gohan, his versions are really awesome. Lots going on!

Oh I didn't see his other works. I'll check it out since it's DBZ hehe.

I like his work, very good with capturing the liveliness of people I'm his portraits. : )

That's what happens when you draw almost everyday hehe. Mistakes won't happen frequently and then even the rough sketch will start to look good with less effort and time.

Congratulations @emanate-artworx! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Be ready for the September edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - September 1st 2023

Congratulations @emanate-artworx! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 1 badge.
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - August 2023 Winners List
Be ready for the September edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - September 1st 2023