Rembrandt Self Portrait Oil Painting Process

in Sketchbook3 years ago

IMG_20210629_205926209_2.jpg


Hi all!

Today I would like to share my portrait painting of the master artist Rembrandt and the process that went into creating it. I find his paintings very expressive, sensitive and done with master technique so I wanted to see what I could learn by recreating one of them. I find the impasto technique where you apply the paint thickly to create texture interesting and the chiaroscuro technique where there is a triangle of light under the shadowed side of the portrait to be very powerful lighting effect for a portrait.

Reference


Step by step process...
IMG_20210603_004427606.jpg

IMG_20210603_130052715.jpg

IMG_20210607_122856160.jpg

IMG_20210629_205926209.jpg

IMG_20210629_205926209_2.jpg
It was completed with oils on canvas (A3: 11.7 x 16.5 inches/ 297 x 420 mm) over several hours


Thanks for stopping by and for all your support!
@iansart


Sort:  

This is beautiful.

Beautiful work as always. Upvoted and shared with 300 Million people on Twitter via #pob #proofofbrain


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Thanks man!

FYI : I am only curating posts I see on the ProofofBrain.io front end these days.. I earn way more on ProofofBrain than anywhere else these days. Well, ProofofBrain and https://Blurt.blog


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I'll check out the proof of brain front end. Is the distribution/reward curve different to hive or is it just a community focused on quality content?

I’m not sure but I made about 6,000 POB in a few months … it took me 4 years to earn 6,000 Hive on Steemit/Hive.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

That is quite impressive, crazy how hive is starting to grow exponentially with the number of ways to earn to tokens either actively or passively.

That is quite impressive, crazy how hive is starting to grow exponentially with the number of ways to earn to tokens either actively or passively.

The Curation rewards are massive on ProofofBrain …. I am able to give 6 POB upvotes with 6,000 POB Power …. With 13,300 HivePower I think my upvotes are like .20 Hive.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

There does seem to be a better distribution, from what I've read the only way the token enters circulation is through posting and curating content.

Yes. And different stuff on the Trending page.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Thanks man!

You’re very welcome …. I can give you 100 Blurt (1,000 Satoshi) upvotes on anything you post on Blurt with #blurtart hashtag. https://blurt.blog/@iansart


Posted via proofofbrain.io

You’re very welcome ….


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Congratulations @iansart! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 180000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 185000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the August 1st Hive Power Up Day