Forest of Reflections- Art Process

in Sketchbooklast year

Forest of Reflections.jpg

Hi! Hope everyone has been well! As I was working on this painting, I felt inspired to write a new blog post. I really enjoyed working on this one, even though it took me longer than usual and at some point, I wasn't even sure that I could finish it.

Forest of Reflections

This forest was incredibly tranquil and silent, with an occasional rustle of the leaves by the wind. The trees were densely packed, except for an obscure little road that twisted between them, left behind by those who passed there before. The ground was covered with interconnected roots like earthy webs that sprawled endlessly into the distance. They appeared to form wide stairs across the rough turf and stones.

The path opened up to a clearing with ancient trees and the silence erupted into a cacophony as the magic crackled mid air. The hero felt as if she was plunged head first into cold waters that instantly cracked into a million mirrors, revealing a new passage leading to higher grounds.

An elusive shadow followed her up the fragile steps, as she climbed ever so carefully as to not crack the thin glass. She couldn't brush off the thoughts of the world just crumbling away beneath her into the abyss.

The reflections changed chaotically, making it difficult to see where she was going. Her mind wandered endlessly, travelling through many places at the same time, some of them she knew from memories, while others she didn't recognize. The realities blurred together, as the sharp edges revealed too many things to see a clear picture. However, she noticed various oddities that she couldn't explain, revealing new things she never noticed before.

https://superrare.com/artwork-v2/forest-of-reflections-39889

August_31_243.jpg

About the Artwork

I usually strive for balance in my works, in this case it’s the balance between sharp lines and curves, making the painting feel less threatening and more mysterious. I start with a palette I like, usually based on my current mood. In this case I took an older sketch I did for 2021 dailies and I used it as the base for this painting. That's why I love generating lots of quick sketches, so I can pick my favorites later without worrying about the time, but I'm also not afraid to go outside my comfort zone with new colors and ideas. I believe first impression is really important for each painting, as it needs to catch the attention before all of the details can be examined.

There are a few important things I make sure to cover in every painting- the colors/mood, the visual focal point (check greyscale version of the painting), adding something new. Since this project is about adventure and journey, I want to add something new to each piece, but also connect it to the previous work.

Keep in mind I do a lot of various details subconsciously, the only thing that I focus on is what feeling I want to achieve, or the theme of the painting. So, I take the time to follow that goal until the painting feels complete. I take a lot of breaks, usually working on a couple of painting at the same time. I love listening to various music while painting, and it does a lot for setting the mood and it helps me draw for a longer time, otherwise I get restless sitting for long periods of time.

The Winding Path.jpg

https://superrare.com/artwork-v2/the-winding-path-31905

Forest of Reflections reminds a bit of my previous painting The Winding Path, main similarity being the stairs. I made conscious effort make them as different as possible, because it’s really important for me that each of these painting is unique. I had an idea of doing a set where I expand the previous pieces, by using their palettes to continue those scenes, particularly the oldest ones that were less detailed than my new works. I’ve also considered going back to that original sketchy style for a small set of pieces, mostly for nostalgia.

August_31_243B copy.jpg

Right now, I take a lot longer with each Adventure Series artwork as I know there is no real time pressure. I use a lot of layers as I keep adding deatils. I try to balance perfectionism with procrastination as high expectations can be daunting. I consider what the art means for me, and if I’m not feeling it in the moment, I’ll usually store it for later. I have a folder of at least 10 adventures that I’d like to finish someday.

Last but not least, check out my previous posts for how I achieve shiny and reflective surfaces, but also composition and other art tips. Feel free to ask any questions and I'll do my best to answer.

August_31_243B copy2.jpg

A bit about me

Adventure series is a sort of journal for me, it’s about exploration and self-reflection. I want to keep developing it and as things progress hopefully evolve it. However, I’m careful at not giving any promises since I don’t know what I can achieve but mostly how long it will take, so I do my best. I love to improve my various skills, and it might not be obvious, but it actually takes me a while to write a description for these paintings. Usually, the hardest part is getting started, but once I have a general flow, it’s a lot easier to edit the text until I’m happy with the final. When I was minting my very first nft, I was well aware that my art was amateur at the time, so I made a conscious decision to do things a little different from everyone else at the time to stand out. I always loved reading fantasy books, and I really want to improve my writing, but I also know it takes time, practice and dedication, so I combined my passions.

August_31_243B copy3.jpg

Even now I try to learn new skills I’m interested in and to also realize my values. My art includes a lot of nature, and occasionally the dooms of not taking care of it, so switching to mostly plant based this year has been a cathartic experience for me. However, it also takes a lot of time and effort to maintain it. I’m constantly learning new things to cook and sometimes it feels like I’m brewing potions, as I learn about various herbs and overall nutrition. I’ve made a few mistakes, like not consuming enough iron which affected my energy, but I’m determined to improve, and I know it takes time. I feel really lucky that I can afford to take that extra time to learn now, I know I’m privileged to follow my passions and feel grateful. It’s really hard for me to imagine doing anything else than art.

August_31_243B copy4.jpg

I love art because it can say lots of things at the same time and there is always space for new interpretations. It’s more about emotions rather than being precise in explanations. Whenever I explain myself, I realize I forgot to mention lots of other things. I’ve embraced that my mind works a little different, which can be great for creativity, but problematic for keeping a consistent thought flow. My mind constantly jumps between thoughts, ideas and memories. It’s not uncommon for me to have several thoughts at the same time, which is why writing can be so useful at creating some order. At the same time this is why I have times when I don’t want to write at all, because I can’t simply find the words to express myself. It’s not uncommon for me to feel conflicted, as I’m still figuring a lot of things out. Prioritizing is difficult, but I put in the effort, so is organizing and time management. Most importantly I’ve come to realize that taking things slower, drastically eases my anxiety. Also, I know that with time and practice I’ll improve and increase my speed at whatever skill I focus on. I believe that the most useful skill is patience, because that's the foundation of everything worthwhile doing. Thankfully, it's a learned skill, so if you're like me and struggle with it, you can improve it by mindfully practicing it daily. I try to keep in mind that how I do other things in my life will reflect in my art as well.

August_31_243B copy5.jpg

Thank you for reading and I hope you enjoyed it!

Sort:  

Very unique and mysterious! Also love the colors!
It resembles traditional, reproduced graphics (linocut).
I'm sticking to the tried and tested traditional painting techniques, although I do have a Wacom drawing tablet. I am rarely tempted to go fully digital, but then I quickly return to my original techniques..

Thank you! Do what you enjoy most :D

Wow! A magnificent picture . And I also remember your unusual, but such original zodiac animals. That's really cool, honey!

Aww thank you! It's been quite a journey :D

That is quite a nice piece, very well done (bravo! for your journey)

Thank you <3

this is such an amazing art work. the finished version is so sharp and defined that if i didn't see the process, i would not believe that at the beginning it was messy.
looks like every shape was designed with perfection...

Yeah it's fun to see the mess become the final painting, even though it can be pretty challenging at times, but it makes the painting feel more alive

Está magnífica la gana de colores y todo el proceso 😎

Buen trabajo 👌🏻

Thank you!

I just love the lighting

Beautiful. I love the hints of green.

Thank you!

El contraste en los colores esta muy bien, tiene talento. Felicidades.

beautiful work.

Thank you! :D

A post by THE Kristy Glass? 😮 I never thought I'd see the day! 👏

Can't believe it's been half a year 😂😅

very interesting post and beautiful unusual drawing. great!

Thank you <3

I think playing with colors and reflections like this is the boss level 💜

Thank you! I used to struggle with colors, so this means a lot!

beautiful beautiful

Thank you!

Congratulations @kristyglas! Your post has been a top performer on the Hive blockchain and you have been rewarded with the following badge:

Post with the most upvotes of the day.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

CBRS Hive Infographic Contest - Get your badge and win 1000 HIVE
Our Hive Power Delegations to the October PUM Winners
Feedback from the November 1st Hive Power Up Day - New Turnout Record
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Hi @kristyglas! Really spectacular your Forest of reflections.Congratulations!

Muy bien logrado tu trabajo, bellas imágenes, gracias