Introducing Galiant :)

in Sketchbook8 months ago (edited)

Hey peeps! How is everyone doing?! I hope you’re doing great!

After lurking in this space for a while, I got to see so many people doing awesome things all around that decided to step forward and introduce myself too! Especially after seeing a bunch of artists here too! 😉

🎮 A Story of Growing Passion

My name is Andre Lourenço, but in these creative corners, most people know me as Galiant. After 15 years of exploring the intricate landscapes of freelance artistry and game development, I've come to the point where I really would like to share some of what I do to a broader community. The art industry of more often than not secretive about their graphical content – which is understandable as the surprise effect of a game or art project really makes a difference in the sales!

BUT I’ve also grown fond of indie projects where the audience can actually be part of the journey, catching up on different aspects of the game or art project and actually giving it some real-time feedback. Over the years, I’ve been fortunate enough to take part in great communities brought together from the hype built around the creation of games and art projects. After seeing how much people support each other here at HIVE it just felt like the right place for me.

🕹️ From Brazil's Heart to Yours

While we may have started in different parts of this incredible world, I was taught by friends scattered all over the world that our shared love for creativity transcends borders.

My journey began in Brazil, and throughout the years, I've dabbled in various pixel styles. I started my professional career in 2008 at a Netherlands company called Myth Entertainment, working towards the release of their first title Phobos online (Which you can play on Steam!). My journey also brought to those classic top-down views, to the heart-pounding sidescrollers and the charm of the isometric perspective:

collection.png
Andragoras -Tales of Magnitude was an old personal project I started in 2014 featuring warriors who received a calling from ancient animal armors to fight against the forces of evil. A clear mix between Saint Seiya and Power Rangers Wild force :P. Naturally, it was never meant to be released as a real game for copyright issues, but it was fun to make!

🌉 San Francisco Dreams: Our Collective Pursuits

In 2014, my artistic journey transcended pixels and led me to the vibrant streets of San Francisco. There, I had the privilege of learning from artistic luminaries like Justin Gerard and Cory Godbey, enriching my skills as I embraced the world of illustration. Alongside them, I discovered the beauty of realism under the guidance of Amaya Gurpide. Life has taught me that art is a journey that never ends; my hope is that we can create a space here for me to share with you some of what I’ve learned over the years, and also to learn from you and create something incredible together.

Illustration.png
Attack at Dawn - was my first professional illustration after receiving training from Justin Gerard and Cory Godbey. They introduced me to the amazing world of imaginative realism (Fantasy art) and taught me how to bring Storytelling elements into my illustrations to give them a deeper meaning. Painted in Adobe Photoshop.

Untitled-1.png

Figure study – Studying the fundamentals of realism with Amaya Gurpide has helped me so much in capturing human emotion. She had so many great points about the importance of setting yourself in the mood that you’re trying to communicate in your paintings. A “mood board” is a great tool for that, when you capture several items, photographs, songs, or honestly anything that brings you to that emotional place you’re trying to convey.

📸 Hang Out on Instagram and Twitch: Let's Connect!

Hoping to catch some live painting processes? Guess what? We've got virtual hangout spots waiting just for you! I absolutely love to share my painting process with folks on Instagram (@lourencoalart) and Twitch. We often have a great time designing new illustrations, and game sprites, or just hanging out chatting, and talking about games.

These are spaces where we can all connect, where I'll be sharing sketches, offering glimpses into the magic of Photoshop and digital painting, and showing you the ropes of pixel art and game development. It's our digital home, a place where we learn, create, and grow as a family of creators.

brolly.png
Brolly the Brawler Boar - After studying character design, I dabbed into concept art. Before I knew it, I was already receiving commissions from friends and members of the fantasy art community. I got introduced to Dungeons&Dragons and it became a great way for me to keep in touch with friends during the COVID19 pandemic. Brolly is a Goliath Barbarian who really doesn’t look like a goliath! xD Turns out he was the hero of an old lineage of yak-folk that lived in the mountains but got separated from his family in a goliath invasion that took place when he was a baby.

brolly_fam.png
Brolly’s dad and chieftain of the Yak tribe

🏄‍♂️ Surfing, Skydiving, and Traveling: Our Adventure-Packed Life

Beyond art and nature, I find solace and exhilaration in the thrill of surfing, the freedom of skydiving, and the exploration of travel. I love people that explore the world we live in.

There’s an open-mindedness about them that I really like. As a final word, I`m confident that being a global citizen passionate about our world makes HIVE the perfect home for me to be. It's a place where creativity and community converge, and I couldn't be happier to be a part of it.

Another additional value of joining HIVE is the benefit of having yet another space to share my life with my beautiful wife, Cris. Shout out to @crisciacm for onboarding me here on HIVE and allowing me to share some aspects of who I am and what I do with you guys. It’s great to be around!

So, my dear fellow members, let's set forth on this artistic journey as we dive into the world of visual arts! I hope that you come to find value and entertainment in my posts as our shared adventures span art, pixels, dreams, and a deep commitment to our planet. 🎨🎮✨

With genuine excitement, your brother, Galiant 🌟

Sort:  

Welcome to Hive Galiant! 🙌✨

Amazing art you do 🎨🔥

Hey, @melooo182! How's it going, dude?! Thank you for the warm welcome! I noticed you do art as well, that`s fantastic! Happy to connect. Also thanks for reblogging my post! :)

All good haha, np you're welcome ✨ it's great to have more artists on here 🙌

Check these communities for posting your art:
Alien Art Hive: https://peakd.com/c/hive-158694
On Chain Art: https://peakd.com/c/hive-156509

I hope you have a great time here 😎👍

@melooo182 Heeeey! Those are great! I've subscribed to them! Thanks for the tip, man.
Still have to figure out how to properly share my posts over there. Does it have to be like an individual post per community or can I just share those from my personal hive blog over there?

It's best to post individually on each community, I use PeakD as my Hive interface, every time you're creating a post it has a bar at the top where you can choose and switch the community you want it to be posted.

There is an option to "crosspost" between communities but I feel it doesn't work as intended... so I don't recommend it that much.

Welcome lourencoalart! If you love travel check out @travelfeed / TravelFeed.io :)

Sweet! Thanks @for91days !! Will definitely check that out! Appreciate it! =)

Welcome amorziiiinho!!
So good to have you here! Wanna see your talents all around hive!

So happy to be here! Thanks for showing me around! You`re the best! <3

Insano broo!! muito massa! Arte pura. Bem vindo!!!

Thanks, Joao! Valeu man! Vamo que vamo! Muito obrigado! =)

André is a guy who was a friend of hulk hoggan the free fight
From Brasil ehhhhh welcome here Man enjoy it AND do not forget original contents.

Haha hey, @galberto ! Are you talking about Andre the giant? Haha Yup! The same name but he is just a little bigger than me. 🤣 Thanks for the warm welcome, my friend!

Welcome to Hive! You seem to have some fantastic artistic talents! Check out the different communities, there are plenty which I think should suit your interests!

Oh hey, @stekene ! Thanks for your kind words. Really appreciate it! I'm taking my time to browse through all the communities we have here. Unsurprisingly, we have quite a few 😅 ha! Do let me know if you have a particular suggestion in mind. Nice meeting you!

Hello, @lourencoalart! Welcome here to Hive Blockchain! I tought you have beautiful journey to share wth us. :)


Well, you can explore the communities that are suitable for your content. You can read about the communities supported by OCD in this post [https://peakd.com/@ocdb/ocd-communities-incubation-program-update-134]

For tips and information as a Hive newbie, click here: newbie guide.

The important thing is Hive is a bit different from other social media platforms since you are monetizing your blog. You can't include content that you don't own without sources. For more information, check this post: Why and How People Abuse and Plagiarise.

If you have questions or concerns, you can hop into OCD's Discord server and we'll gladly answer your questions.

Have a great day!
This is @anggreklestari from the @OCD team.

Congratulations @lourencoalart! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 100 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the August PUM Winners
Feedback from the September Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - August 2023 Winners List