Inktober 2021, Day 29: Patch

in Sketchbook3 years ago

Patch - Ink drawing, 21x16 cm, 2021

I happened to be re-watching my favorite anime of all time - Tokyo Ghoul at the time of going through the list of prompts and doing the planning for what I was going to do for each of them. On day 29, the prompt was - patch. Eyepatch 眼帯 was the code word given to Kaneki Ken, the main protagonist of Tokyo Ghoul. Why Eyepatch? Kaneki used to wear a mask that covered up his human eye. Ghouls are super powerful beings forced to eat humans to stay alive. Kaneki likely requested the mask maker to create the eyepatch for him so that he could hide his human side from other ghouls.


I first watched TG three years ago and made an artwork of Kaneki Ken in his mask back then using watercolors. I wanted to revisit Kaneki’s mask for this challenge and see how my style and skills have improved over time. I feel there is quite a difference between the two when I look at them side by side.

I started with having a look at some reference images from anime before sketching. This image was particularly helpful in figuring out the shading of the mask to make it look more dimensional. After doing the linework with Pigma Brush pen everywhere except the teeth (I used Pigma Micron fine liner 03 for that), I went in with the Diamine Jet Black drawing ink. Wherever the light was supposed to reflect on the mask I lightened those parts by applying more water and diluting the ink there. I then used the Diamine Ruby red drawing ink to add color to the gums. And well, I guess Kaneki had a bit of a snack there, hence the blood splats! Yum! xD I used the same technique as for the Splat with the syringe and the straw! It was a bit nerve-wracking to apply the splats as there was a potential of ruining everything. That did not happen! I think it turned out rather perfect! Ha!

What is your favorite snack these days?

Song of the day: Kesha - Cannibal

Sort:  

Have you ever read the manga? It's heaps better than any of the versions of the anime they've released.

Cool drawing, by the way, dooood.

I haven't yet. Lame, I know! Maybe that should be my birthday gift to myself or something. I want the physical copies of it.

Thank youuuuuu! I am happy I did not fuck it up. It was one of those - well, this could go terribly wrong.

Whether it's physical or digital, definitely check it and the Re: sequel when you can. I was legit disappointed with the anime's in comparison to the narrative that was happening in the manga, as were most fans. So, I imagine you'd get some good enjoyment out of it, and it's very different where nothing has been too spoiled for you.

This one is cool! :D

And bloody! Muahahaha! I think the splats look quite realistic xD Thank youuuu!

Is...it blood? ;D

Not real blood xD That would be like performing some vampire ritual. To Kaneki that's real blood though.

That's an interesting interpretation of the word and really cool drawing. I never got into anime (except for sailor moon when I was a kid lol) but the concepts of the shows always sound interesting to me.

Favorite snack? It changes often. It's probably chips but we almost never buy them so right now it's probably trail mix. Lol. Pretty boring.

I wasn't into anime either for the longest time. Pokemon probably was the only anime I knew before. I think it was about three years ago I began watching more serious stuff. Tokyo Ghoul is a great place to start :)

wants chips now

Then again my latest favorite is mochi ice cream! So delicious!

Oh I forgot about Pokémon. I loved Pokémon. The show and the game for Gameboy color. I don't know what mochi is tbh. I'll have to look that up.

What is your favorite snack these days?

Ghouls.

Ahaha! Then you and Kaneki have a lot in common! Not only he would feed on dead humans, but he also cannibalized other ghouls.

I love this.

Thank you! :)


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Are you hiding under the blanky with the teddy? I know, Ghouls are not the friendliest beings, but not to kitties! They don't hurt kitties!