You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "The Nebulous Nine" — more adventures in lighting faces

in Sketchbook4 years ago

Thank you for starting this blog and sharing your progress. I have used Krita and liked the option of layers. But for some reason I was frustrated with the program. There were too many options at the time and it seemed overwhelming.

I enjoyed watching the video about Kim Jung Gi. I have heard his name and seen his drawings on display but this is the first time I heard his story.

His visual library is something I can relate to as a child and see in my son as he remembers maps. What Jung Gi did was put his visual library on paper. This took years of practice and plenty of criticism and misunderstandings. This drawing grew into a living art crossing over from a reflection of this world into a reflection of the imagination. He said in the video,

"Once you understand the mechanics of an object you can manipulate them any way you want."

I have a tendancy to think about the finished product and try to skip the steps in between. This has gotten me into trouble before.

I thought about your picture and how you put in the work to complete the shading. It took hours but you now you have a skill you won't forget.

It seems like drawing is similar to music. If you want to learn the piano you had better listen well and then master listening to a simple sond and then find the notes and chords. Then variations are possible.

Thank you for teaching me so much.