Character Design Studies #3

in Sketchbook3 months ago

IMG_20240104_0010.jpg

Hi everyone!

Continuing my character designs exercices, I took some famous - mostly Disney - characters and tried to redraw them, thinking about how they are constructed. I try to have a flexible line when drawing, so that the character would be dynamic.
When I redraw characters like that, I can understand the principles behind them better, I can see some recurring patterns. It's as if my pencil has an instinct to make this curve rather than another, because my brain is starting to understand and remember how the character is constructed.

It is a really playful exercise, and quite satisfying because it is really easy to get results. (but be careful, it is not so easy at the beginning - and it can be very frustrating on the contrary)

But as I still think it's a really good exercise (as long as you understand what you're copying, rather than doing it like some kind of printer), it's important to vary, and after having copied those characters, try to make our own, or at least try to make new poses from the characters we already know.

bannière.png

IMG_20240117_0008.jpg

March Hare is quite tough to draw. He has a lot of little details and peculiarities, and in general has a shape that's not very intuitive, or at least not the way I'm used to drawing them.

IMG_20240117_0009.jpg

Kermit the Frog has instead very recognizable forms and he is cool to draw.

IMG_20240117_0010.jpg

Now some more classical human characters studies including the brilliant Edgar from Aristochats.

IMG_20240117_0005.jpg

bannière.png

Hope you will like it! 😊

See you soon for more.

Sort:  

Great study, looks good!

Thank you! :)

I love them, the facial expressions are cool