Quick sketch session.

in Sketchbook3 months ago

IMG_20240129_0001.jpg

Hi everyone!

I come back today to show you my quick sketching session. I'm trying to follow a classic training again, maybe this can be considered as a resolution for 2024 😁

This session was about quick sketches - it means that I do 1 minute sketches of people where we only have to see the essential, the emotion of the pose. And it is a really hard exercise for me.

Do you remember when you were in class and your teacher gave you an exercise and you just didn't know what to do?
I feel like that with gesture drawing, I've heard a lot of good advice from masters, and if I understand the theory, I have a really hard time with the practice.

bannière.png

IMG_20240129_0004.jpg

All my artistic life I have drawn with lines, with contours. And I'm pretty good at it, because I come from realistic drawing - I didn't care about understanding my subject, I just wanted to reproduce the photo as faithfully as possible, pixel by pixel. And that gives me a pretty superficial approach to studying references. I always saw my models as lines, not as what they really are, why they pose like that, what do I feel when I see them and how can I translate that?

IMG_20240129_0002.jpg

So that is the challenge of quick sketching. To capture the essence of a person, an attitude, and be able to translate it, not perfectly, but in a personal and emotional way.

IMG_20240129_0003.jpg

Okay, that sounds good. But how do I do it? How can I draw instinctively after 15 years of meticulousness, how can I just feel emotions and let go when I've always been in control?

I think it comes with practice. Since I have to draw instinctively, I suppose it is not an easy thing to explain, it has to come from me.

bannière.png

Hope you will like it.

See you soon for more creations! 😊

Sort:  

Beautiful

Thanks =)

This post reminded me that I need to practice my anatomy more. Thank you very much for your input mate, very expressive!

Learning anatomy allows us to draw freely when we sketch ; we can only draw instinctively, without considering the technical aspects we learn in dedicated lessons; it's like a musician learning solfege, but when he's on the instrument, it's more playful.
People often think that theory is restrictive and they want to get rid of it. But what they don't understand is that mastering the theory sets you free.
I wish you a good practicing! :)