Trying for the life of me to figure out how to draw hands

in Sketchbook4 years ago

5.25.20 firebender.png


Howdy. Well, the title is pretty self-explanatory. I realized yesterday I have no idea how to really draw hands and decided to dive into it. It turns out they are pretty tricky due to the fact that each of the digits can be moved into their own positions, not to mention all the different perspectives they can be seen from. I find this MUCH more frustrating than trying to draw skulls, but admittedly this has to do with the fact that I haven't practiced it much.

I really wanted to draw a close-up of an extended hand holding a flame, but compromised by drawing this scuffed grey firebender above. Yep. I'm gonna need a bunch more @sketching practice to take this anywhere! Anywho, I'll show a bunch of my scribblings trying to draw hands in different positions, and hopefully I'll have the motivation to keep practicing them, because right now I find them pretty tiresome.


some sketchy figures with mitten-hands

5.25.20 handnfig scribbles 1.png


hand going up back view (left) and palm extended (right)

5.25.20 handnfig scribbles 2.png


third eye dude and another person shrugging

5.25.20 handnfig scribbles 3.png


some mitten-figures

5.25.20 handnfig scribbles 4.png


bent-spine posing with hand on waist and in pocket

5.25.20 handnfig scribbles 5.png


shark-head

5.25.20 handnfig scribbles 6.png


palm-side up practice

5.25.20 handnfig scribbles 7.png


palm-side down practice

5.25.20 handnfig scribbles 8.png


more palm-side down practice

5.25.20 handnfig scribbles 9.png


alien

5.25.20 handnfig scribbles 10.png


palm-side up

5.25.20 handnfig scribbles 11.png


I created this blog to fall deeper in love with digital @sketching. At the end of the day, whether or not I feel patient enough to make a more "finished" piece, I keep scribbling and looking at things, knowing that eventually the eye and hand will become trained. All art consists in being aware and attentive, and progressively broadening that capability. I am going to keep @sketching and I hope you do too!

scribbled in Krita by @sketching
posted to Hive on May 25, 2020.

 ___ 
keep your palms up
and hold the flame...


5.25.20 firebender.png

Sort:  

Through your attempts at drawing hands I am beginning to see more clearly what a masterpiece human beings really are.

We try to use shapes and pencils to manipulate pixels but get only a relection of what was there.

I don't have much art backgroud but I like drawing when I have time. Your posts about your struggles to draw really encourage me to continue.

Congratulations @sketching! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 300 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 400 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Introducing HiveBuzz Shop - Offer gifts with your favorite badges
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!