Mediterranean Turkey Sandwich Wrap Recipe

in OCD4 years ago

These sandwiches are a big favorite in our house! I'll make them when I'm especially proud of someone- like when my son has a good report card or my husband gets a raise! They've become such a treat that I've realized I can use them as bribes. When I need a hand cleaning out the basement or washing the windows, I'll butter up my family with a plate of Mediterranean Turkey Sandwich Wraps. It's a two-way street, though: I've been asked to make these wraps in return for help with the housework or a good grade on a test! I'm a big believer in the rewards and bribes system, so I'm glad to have a healthy food treat to use.

As fancy as they seem, they're actually easy to make. The ingredients are readily available, and it only takes about 20 minutes to put them together. Better yet, the wraps can be made ahead of time!

I originally came up with this idea when I was trying to find something that tasted decadent, but was relatively healthy. (A guilt-free treat, if you will.) The hummus gives them a little bit of an exotic flavor that people don't quite recognize until you tell them. The olives add a little saltiness and texture, the onions give it depth and added flavor, and the cucumber provides a fresh-tasting crunch. The turkey tops it off as a nice finish, adding a richness that's somehow both hearty and light. The whole wheat wraps are a healthy and carb-friendly alternative.

As a sandwich, they're a special treat in my house. I've also brought them, cut into snack-sized pinwheel pieces, to parties as an appetizer and people love them! (If you bring them to a party, be prepared to be asked for the recipe!)

Mediterranean Turkey Sandwich Wrap Recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 10 oz hummus, original or traditional flavor
  • 2 Tablespoons finely chopped black olives
  • 2 Tablespoons finely chopped red onion
  • 4 Tablespoons finely chopped cucumber
  • 3 10-inch whole wheat wraps
  • 18 slices Hillshire Farm Deli Select Ultra Thin Oven Roasted Turkey Breast

Instructions:

  1. Combine first four ingredients in small bowl. Mix well.
  2. Spread one-third of the mixture evenly on each wrap. Top with six slices of Hillshire Farm Deli Select Ultra Thin Oven Roasted Turkey Breast, laying the turkey flat to cover the hummus mixture.
  3. Roll the wrap by tucking the sides in first, then rolling. Place seam side down on platter and chill for at least an hour. Serve as a sandwich or an appetizer.

To serve as a sandwich, cut in half and serve alone or with apple slices, grapes, or veggie chips.

To serve as appetizers, cut each wrap into one-inch slices and arrange on a platter with cucumber slices and red grapes.

Sort:  

Congratulations @alexrohr! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Looks so tasty! xD