Summer Salads that Make a Meal

in OCD4 years ago

Dainty summer salads can "leaf" you feeling hungry. That's why I toss heartier ingredients into my summer salads. To make a filling summer salad, I combine lettuce, vegetables, meat, cheese, eggs and sometimes fruit or nuts.

To make a slimming salad, I don't cut back on the protein or vegetables. I just make sure the dressing isn't fattening. It's always the salad dressing that either makes or breaks the diet deal as far as caloric content.

Beyond iceberg lettuce

To make the healthiest summer salads, I like to mix it up with Romaine lettuce, a spring mix, spinach or baby lettuces. Red and green leaf lettuce "pair" nicely with "pears" and other fruits.

Apple pecan chicken salad

One of my favorite combinations is apples, pecans and grilled chicken. Although I sometimes use sugared pecans when making an apple pecan chicken salad for guests, I just use plain pecans for myself. I mix the lettuces with a handful of dried cranberries, blue cheese crumbles and chopped Granny Smith apples that are on the tart side. I find the sweeter apples tend to be soggy. I like to use a fruity vinegar-based dressing with the salad.

Wilted spinach salad

I love to make wilted spinach salad in the winter with a hot bacon dressing and hard-boiled eggs. In the summer, I lighten my spinach salad recipe by adding sliced strawberries and feta or goat cheese. I use a dressing made with balsamic vinegar, olive oil and herbs. I still sauté the spinach for just a minute on the stove, but let the spinach cool before adding strawberries and cheese.

Chili and cheese salad

Beans in general are very filling and may often be used to add fiber to a salad. When making a chili and cheese or taco salad, I use cheddar cheese and homemade chili made with grass-fed beef, onions, tomatoes, kidney and pinto beans and seasoning. I like to serve the chili and cheese salad with a dressing made with yogurt and taco sauce as well as guacamole. For those who don't mind the extra calories, an avocado ranch dressing goes well with the salad.

For an added twist, I sometimes crumble cheesy corn chips on top. I enjoy just a taste of the "junk food," in my healthy salad. Catalina dressing is my favorite for my taco salad.

When taking salads to a summer picnic, I usually opt for cold salads that combine chicken, fruit, nuts and cheeses. I keep the salads in a cooler since the ingredients may spoil.