My Orphaned Feral Kitten - Update

in OCD4 years ago

It's been four or five days now since the little thing showed up on my back porch (Link to orig. post) and seems to be doing well under the watchful eye of her (daddy?) Stripes.

Stripes is a stray who found me not long ago and has been hanging around the yard and back porch ever since. He seems to have adopted the baby girl after realizing it lost her mother somehow.

Look how patient and caring he's been, sharing his food with the little one who nuzzles her tiny head into his bowl; even though she has her own bowl nearby.

It isn't a common site to see a male tending to a kitten, regardless if it's his baby or not, so I feel sort of honored to witness this bonding.

Here They are Below Sharing Affectionate Moments


It's time for me to re-post some messages about Stripes online in an effort to find his people home… I didn't have any success in the past. He shows so many signs of not being feral; he's obviously lost or was abandoned.

That kitten looks so much like Stripes, that I think he might be her real father? Either way...the little one seems happy enough to have a big, strong protector by her side.

I administered wormer medicine to the kitten and am trying to get flea medication between it's shoulder blades. She's getting more and more comfortable and trusting around me, but not enough yet for me to handle her.

I've managed to briefly stroke her head and back last night while she sat next to Stripes with her back towards me. I'll be able to sneak a tube of meds on her soon enough. If not, I guess I'll have to try a pill crushed in some food.

Regular followers know I have a cat and other strays that visit me on a regular basis, so I'm not anxious about adopting this kitten as my own. I'm getting pretty old and would probably croak long before this kitten...then what would happen to it...?!?!?!? Probably euthanized at the shelter.

Which brings me to another bothersome thought... The animal shelter near me is NOT a no kill facility and seems to put down animals for the slightest of reasons.

I need to reach out to a network of local private cat rescuers for help. I've got some connections...hopefully they'll come through; I'll pay for the kittens care and any adoption fees of course.

Anywayzzzzzz… That's about it for now my friends. I'll keep you posted about the kitten.

Stay well, or...get that way😎

Be Kind to Homeless Cats and Dogs

Ciao


@AngryMan

Founder- Free Speech Community

(https://peakd.com/c/hive-168088/created)


Images: Mine
Sort:  

They look so comfortable together I am glad they a both getting on well together.

Yes...the only time Stripes swats at her is when she tries to find a nipple on his belly to suckle!!! She obviously was still nursing at least a little when she lost her mom.

I hope you are able to find it a home, and Stripes also if he needs one. During this lock down it has become hard for people that were living on the edge to keep going with pet care, hopefully things will turn around.

Reports from China indicate that the CCP has just made pet dog ownership illegal. Citizens are to turn in their pets to government officials for selling at meat markets.

My wife told me about that. China has had an issue with people having pets for a long time. Few people remember the tainted dog and cat food from a few years ago that was killing peoples pets.

You reminded me of that tainted pet food fiasco years ago. I certainly didn't forget about the tainted baby formula with melamine that killed some infants.

There are so many of those issues from out of china, and still people forgive and forget. Black Mold in sheetrock from china, was another issue, lead paint on tiny toys for kids was another. rude and crude string pull talking dolls, the list would be pretty long if any one was keeping track and not just relying on memory. But still we forget and forgive, and call it a manufactures problem not a china problem.

That is just what they do to the rest of the world, what they do inside of china to their own people is a whole other story. My wife watches the guys on motorcycles that used to do videos from inside china, ADV China, or something, and she shows and tells me a lot of what they document.

I've seen those guys doing their broadcasts from China. Epoch Times or News (?) is another seemingly good source for current events in that part of the world.

From what I hear, the CCP did not make dog meat sales illegal, they just modified the rules a bit according to an interpretation of a recent CCP release.

Lovely cats, glad they found a home with you.

Thank you for your positive response.

You're welcome :)

Awwww! I hope you can home her. Your kindness is sadly too rare these days

Hello my friend...I feel a little too old to adopt kittens because I would worry about their fate after I'm dead?!?!?!? Well... I probably wouldn't worry after I croak...but, you know what I mean😎

Yes...I'll do my best to help find her a home. I'm working to un-feral her, if I can.

My heart breaks to see videos of distraught pets who have lost their caretaker by way of death.

I'm going to make another post about this baby, probably tonight...I thought she went missing this morning; but I found her.