You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: erm... today... let me tell you something NEW pals.

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

Just a poor bastard dev thinking of doing (for free) something I thought was cool and helpful.
Damn this hits a little too close to home. Haha.

Good on you for being the way you are. Here's a song I find reminiscent of our kind who do the right thing even if we don't get paid big bucks for it.

Sort:  

You say it's doing "the right thing"... I'm wondering why you think that? I'm not saying you're wrong or right. Just curious about your reasoning.

the right thing = serving the greater good

I consider much of what I do would be technological facilitator for people that desire to counter the reward potential of spam and other related activities.

This activity had been more or less centralized in the past and think it's good to have more people involved and also rewarded for partaking as the activity does not come without inherent risk.

How could you possibly have objective knowledge of what "the greater good" is? Isn't what is or isn't good just a subjective valuation? And even if it's a majority opinion, it doesn't necessarily make it correct. I personally think downvoting someone for plagiarism or identity theft is good, but I think downvoting someone because they repost their own content is not. It's just being a Karen.

I totally agree about the decentralization of Hives "self moderation". I think it'd be better if we just let individuals moderate on their own. With their own subjective valuations. And get rid of these centralized groups of moderators that go out and downvote people because they believe in some "consensus" about protecting the rewards pool.

In full honesty I used to support SFR(I believe that is your project, correct me if I'm wrong) and I'm pretty sure one of my good buddies is still active in that group. It was the hardfork that made downvotes free that changed my mind. I saw jerks like Marky and MMMKKK311 going around bullying people with their downvotes... all supposedly to save the blockchain from "abuse". I'm not a fan of censorship... that's one of the main reasons I left legacy social media for crypto social media.

Thanks for the thoughtful reply.

You touched on a number of topics which I would like to address. I'm going to be finishing my shift and will be back.

I appreciate your former support. Yeah I don't really associate with either of them so can't really speak towards their conduct.

Ok, I see this thread of replies initiated by @gaottantacinque first comment are a bit messed and hard to follow and reply orderly.

So, I hope that my long-ass general reply below can clear up most of the concerns and doubts about what you've all been raising throughout the debate in this part of the thread.

In any case, I can see that @derekrichardson has done already an outstanding job deploying, pointing out, highlighting and responding to your questions with the same splendid and eloquent arguments that I would have done it myself from the opposite side of the fence.

This short comment is basically addresed to @anthonyadavisii.

As for @hiveblogshare, @hivetrending & @enforcer48, they all obviously deserve their own individual reply to each one. :)

Loading...