Final preparations : Finishing the Bags, Kimchi Preparation, Cleaning, Moving the Plants and many other missions... ! [EN - FR]

in OCD2 years ago (edited)

It's always the day before you leave that you realise how much you still have to do !

Popular proverb. 

This time, even if I was very efficient, I'm back under the wave ^^

Hello everyone ! I hope you are well :)

As you may have guessed, we are on our way out... For the next two weeks, we will be in the South of France, in the family house. This will be a great help, especially for my girlfriend, as I have a much calmer rhythm than her - I'm a house man ;-)

Here's a small overview of the contents of my bag. The more I travel, the less I like to be loaded, so my kit gets smaller every year. Where I used to take two shirts, I now only take one, etc. I've been focusing on my watercolor equipment and some other surprises that I'll reveal in a few days ^^

Still underneath, these are - with my espadrilles - the only shoes I decided to take. They are robust and all terrain as you will see !

IMG_7310.jpg

IMG_7340.JPG

After finishing my bag, I went to wash the clothes we weren't taking and the reason I mention this is mainly because of the wonderful surprise I was lucky enough to find on the street... A whole case of new Dremel tools ! I already have the tool, but I had a fairly small set of heads so it was a hell of a lot bigger :))

On top of that, there were also the two boards, one marble and one oak, and the little stainless steel bowl. More money saved to go into other projects (In HIVE ;-)

IMG_7325.JPG

IMG_7332.jpg

IMG_7338.JPG

As if that wasn't enough, I started an epic kimchi preparation. I've already presented this recipe, but I'll give it to you anyway : here. I must admit that given the size of the Chinese cabbage (2,4 kilo) I struggled a lot! It was without a doubt my biggest preparation in terms of volume of lacto-fermentation !

But as always, everything went well and I managed to fill my three jars that we will enjoy in September :)

IMG_7317.JPG

IMG_7343.jpg

IMG_7349.JPG

IMG_7356.JPG

Let's move on to the windowsill garden... For those of you who have been following me for a while, you've probably come across the different stages of this adventure. I've been thinking about it for a few days, but this morning I said to myself, "No way, I have to move everything..." Indeed, no one can come and water, not even the inside and not even the outside. So we do a last fill of water and then we pray !

In truth, our plants are all survivors of previous summers and so they have developed impressive resilience and thriftiness! Furthermore, we find that closing all the windows creates a sort of mini-atmosphere in which the plants seem to recover some of the evaporated water... We'll see when we get back, even if I'm optimistic !

I moved the large tomato plant to the garden where it can be watered more regularly and I was lucky enough to find an "oya" in my stuff! For those of you who don't know this technique, I recommend you check it out, it's just wonderful !

It is an unglazed clay jar that is filled with water and moistens the soil according to the needs of the plants. This technique comes from the Latins (in Europe) but I think it exists all over the world, you will tell me !

So I installed this system next to the purslane cuttings I got yesterday, I hope it will work well :)

IMG_7318.JPG

IMG_7359.JPG

IMG_7361.JPG



That's it for today ! Tomorrow we leave rather early, but we have less than 4 hours of travel time, so it's relatively short and we'll be there soon !

I hope the summer is going well for you and I wish you a great holidays ! Take good care of yourself and your loved ones :)

See you soon !

<3

@anttn






C’est toujours la veille du départ qu’on se rend compte de tout ce qu’il reste à faire !

Proverbe populaire. 

Cette fois-ci, même si j’ai été redoutablement efficace, je me retrouve de nouveau sous la vague ^^

Bonjour à tous ! J'espère que vous allez bien :)

Comme vous l'aurez compris, nous sommes sur le départ... Les deux prochaines semaines, nous serons donc dans le Sud de la France, dans la maison de famille. Cela va nous faire un bien fou, surtout à ma copine, car j'ai un rythme bien plus calme qu'elle - je suis homme de maison ;-)

Voilà un petit aperçu du contenu de mon sac. Plus je voyage, moins j'aime être chargé, alors mon kit se réduit d'année en année. Là où j'emportais deux chemises, je n'en prends plus qu'une, etc. Je me suis surtout focalisé sur mon matériel d'aquarelle et quelques autres surprises que je vous dévoilerai dans quelques jours ^^

Encore en dessous, ce sont - avec mes espadrilles - les seules chaussures que j'ai décider de prendre. Elles sont robustes et tout terrain comme vous pourrez le constater !

IMG_7310.jpg

IMG_7340.JPG

Après la finalisation de mon sac, je suis parti laver les vêtements que nous ne prenions pas et si je vous parle de cela, c'est surtout par rapport à la magnifique surprise que j'ai eu la chance de trouver dans la rue... Une caisse entière d'outils neuf de Dremel ! J'ai déjà l'outil, mais j'avais un jeu de têtes assez réduit qui s'est donc diablement étoffé :))

En plus de cela, il y avait aussi les deux planches, l'une en marbres et l'autre en chêne ainsi que le petit bol en inox. Encore de l'argent économisé qui pour aller dans d'autres projets (Dans HIVE ;-)

IMG_7325.JPG

IMG_7332.jpg

IMG_7338.JPG

Comme si cela ne suffisait pas, je me suis lancé dans une préparation épique de kimchi. J'ai déjà présenter cette recette, mais je vous là remet tout de même : ici. Je vous avoue que vu la taille du choux chinois (2,4 kilo) j'ai pas mal lutté ! C'était sans aucun doute ma plus grosse préparation en volume de lactofermentation !

Mais comme toujours, tout s'est bien passé et j'ai réussi à remplir mes trois bocaux que nous dégusterons en Septembre :)


IMG_7317.JPG

IMG_7343.jpg

IMG_7349.JPG

IMG_7356.JPG

Passons désormais au jardin du rebord de la fenêtre... Pour ceux qui me suivent depuis un petit moment, vous aurez sans doute croisé les différentes étapes de cette aventure. J'y pensais depuis quelques jours, mais ce matin je me suis dit, "Non pas possible, il faut que je déménage tout..." En effet, personne ne peut venir arroser, ni l'intérieur et encore moins l'extérieur. Alors on fait un dernier plein d'eau et puis on prie !

En vérité, nos plantes sont toutes des survivantes des étés précédents et elles ont donc développées des capacités de résilience et d'économie impressionnantes ! De plus, nous trouvons que le fait de fermer toutes les fenêtres permet de créer une sorte de mini atmosphère dans laquelle les plantes semblent récupérer un peu de l'eau évaporée... On vera ça au retour même si je suis optimiste..!

J'ai tout de même déplacé le grand pied de tomate au jardin où il pourra être plus régulièrement arrosé et j'ai eu la chance de retrouver un oya dans mes affaires ! Pour ceux qui ne connaissent pas cette technique, je vous recommande d'aller voir, c'est juste merveilleux !

C'est une jarre en terre cuite non émaillée que l'on remplie d'eau et qui humidifie la terre en fonction des besoins des plantes. Cette technique vient de Latins (en Europe) mais je pense qu'il existe cela aux quatre coins du monde, vous me direz !

J'ai donc installé ce système à côté des boutures de pourpier que j'ai récupérées hier, j'espère que cela fonctionnera bien :)

IMG_7318.JPG

IMG_7359.JPG

IMG_7361.JPG



Voilà, c'est tout pour aujourd'hui ! Demain nous partons plutôt très tôt, mais nous avons moins de 4 heures de trajets, c'est relativement court et nous seront vite à bon port !

J'espère que l'été se passe bien de votre côté et je vous souhaite d'excellentes vacances ! Prenez bien soin de vous et de vos proches :)

À très vite !

<3

@anttn

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

I love the way you layout your posts and present your photos. The food photos especially look delicious.

I hope you all enjoy your two weeks away and your plants hold up for you and are still thriving when you return again :)

Thank you ☺️ I’m glad you liked it ! I really enjoyed to present some micro adventures the way I lived them during the day :)

I think it will be great, thanks ! I hope you’re doing good. I’m sure we’ll have a nice surprise, generally the plants are a bit down, but one hour after some watering, they’re back, full power ^^

I will have to move my ass and finally make kimchi. I keep seeing and reading about it, but I have never had it. I only know the Polish way of fermenting (cabbage and cucumbers), but we do not add so many other ingredients. It's like the German Sauerkraut, thought they add vinegar. Our cabbage is sour on its own.

I googled Oya system - so cool! :D

I only know the Polish way of fermenting

And it's already a great knowledge ! I would love to taste some, I think I will have to find a Polish restaurant in Paris...

I will have to move my ass and finally make kimchi.

Obviously, te pleasure comes from the action of preparing it, but I could also send you a jar ^^ I remember the day I received some sourdough that my brother sent me by post, haha !
Special surprises, special people :)

Yeah, Oyas are nice ! Can't wait to find some for the future garden..

Have a nice day end and evening !

I wonder if they would have the polish fermented cucumbers. Not the same as pickles. They have the sourness that come from the fermenting, not vinegar. Quite amazing stuff!
And when they are freshly done, only after few days in a jar they have different flavor too.

I found some recipe if you are brave enough to try.. We (my mum) doesn't add mustard seeds though, but adds a piece of horseradish root and a leaf from a sour cherry tree or grape vine. Don't ask me why, its magic :)

I indeed don't think I'll be able to find some, and now that you gave me this magical recipe ^^I think I will thousand times prefer to try it myself :)

Thought a lot about you and photography today, as I was doing a little shooting, what would you advise as a good camera, good quality for modest budget ? I had an old Nikon reflex with nice objectives and focus, but I need to repair it...

I hope you're doing well and that your #raindance worked in Portugal :D

Ohhh I don't have too much experience with different cameras. I use Nikon D550 most of the times and I am very happy with it. I have few lenses with autofocus for it.
But I also have Sony a7, but mainly for old manual lenses and I use that one less. It is a great camera though. If you can, get the Sony. It is much smaller and have few cool features that the Nikon doesn't have that helps focusing (handy for the manual lenses) and the viewer actually shows what the photo will look like after taking it.

Thanks you for your answer :)

Both seems nice for different reasons. I'll think a bit about, but I know my mother already have few Nikon objectives that she could borrow me, that will surely tip the balance ^^

Maybe in the months following the start of the school year I will be a little better equipped !
I wish you a pleasant evening :)

Ton kimchi donne envie! Je te piquerais bien un bocal (j'adore ça) hahaha. Je souhaites de bonnes vacances à tes plantes, ah oui... à vous aussi bien évidemment qui partez dans le Sud ;)

Si tu repasses en France et à Paris, tu auras ton bocal de kimchi ^^

merci pour elles, je croient en effet qu’elles étaient plutôt très contentes de nous voir partir :)

bon week-end à toi et à bientôt ✌🏼 je te souhaite un bel été !

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @anttn.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more