The Art Of Being Thankful - Showing Thanks Through My Art

in OCD3 years ago

Theartofbeingthankful.jpg

We Are About To Get A Little Busy ..

Over the up coming Thanksgiving Season, so I thought I would post my thankful post early. I have SO MUCH to be thankful for this year, that I couldn't possibly list all of it. I also decided to stay true to myself and post in a unique way that represents me as an individual the best way I know how.. Through My Art.

That being said, this post will touch on a few things that I am giving thanks for this year, along with my works of art that best represent those things. I am hoping that you find this entertaining, insightful, and inspiring. The simple task of putting this post together, has given all of these things to me; entertainment, insightfulness, and inspiration.

Hive text divider.png

The Art Of Being Thankful ..

An artistic journey that shows I have so much to be thankful for.

I Am Thankful For .. First and foremost, my Family.. my Wife and Puppies.. Some of their blessed souls have gone but some still remain.

2114954.png
Patches - my and my wife's first dog - RIP

665956656.png
Pepper - Our lovable curious baby boy - RIP

655852455.png
Molly - Our lovable and tiny baby girl

I Am Thankful For .. my parents and siblings, always being there for me. The experiences I have been given and the times we have shared together have shaped who I am today.

646236.png
I drew this house to look very similar to the house I grew up in

I Am Thankful For .. my early childhood job on the farm, where I learned so much about so many different things including math, science, history, nature, as well as the value of hard work and saving.

111115165.png
The typical scene of my childhood days working on the farm

I Am Thankful For .. my strong faith and all the strength is gives to me, each and every day.
651981519.jpg

I Am Thankful For .. the time that has been given to me. I am also thankful for the inventor of the pocket watch who has inspired a new hobby of mine.

422516652.jpg

I Am Thankful For .. Not only the new in my life, like new hobbies, but also the old in my life; The good old habits that die hard.

59498165196.jpg

26527912641 2.jpg

I Am Thankful For .. The area in which we are blessed to live. An area filled with beautiful old farms, scenic shorelines and Maple filled backyards..

584126512.jpg

2556325665 2.jpg

8981519651.jpg

I Am Thankful For .. our beautiful snow filled winters that bring out the kid in me again

561984651654195.png

I Am Thankful For .. our warm hot summers at the beach, that spark the romantic feelings that anything is possible

5151546165.jpg

I Am Thankful For .. being blessed and able to travel. Thankful that we could travel to far off tropical places..
IMG_5109.JPG

Travel to be alone with the true love of my life, to reconnect and be as one..
2165191651 2.jpg

Travel that takes us a little closer to home, but far enough away so we forget about the daily grind of life..
346652543.png

And travel that takes us closer to our loved ones when we need a laugh, to cry or just need hugs and togetherness. I am also going to through in sunsets and sunrises here. I see some of the best ones in Lancaster PA when we are up to visit with my cousins.
622616216252 2.jpg

645578929632 2.jpg

I Am Thankful For .. Coffee!

4515515462626.jpg

I Am Thankful For .. JEEPS!!

55986519684.jpg

I Am Thankful For .. WINE!!! and wine country!

86516546915.jpg

I Am Thankful For .. BEER!!!!!

6189165198.jpg

I Am Thankful For .. WHISKEY!!!!!!!

84654165165.jpg

I Am Thankful For .. A combination of things that may or may not be bad for me.

34654525.png

I Am Thankful For .. Hobbies that ground me, relax me, and bring me closer to nature. They may come and go, but I know they are always there for me to enjoy again someday when the time is right. I can always use them to forget about the trouble in the world, when I really need a break from it.

65194165151.png

511651652165.jpg

I Am Thankful For .. being raised to care and have empathy for individuals in this world that really need a warm, friendly face filled with tears of joy, not sorrow.
6854651651.png

I Am Thankful For .. For not being perfect. I am thankful for all that makes me exactly who I am; The non-perfect ME.

5484616541.jpg

Last But Not Least ..

I Am Thankful For .. All my wonderful past memories, all those memories I am presently making, and all those memories that await me in my future. I have lots of plans, LOTS OF THINGS LEFT UNDONE and possible unsaid, and lots of good to do before I am dust.

34232655654.jpg

I may be gone tomorrow, but I am still here today. And, today I want to wish each and everyone of you a Happy Thanksgiving filled with warm and joyous moments that you will be thankful for later. Be safe.. I Love You All.

8495195151954.jpg

Hive text divider.png

.textdivider1233346.PNG

216541651489.jpg

“I would like to go to sleep each night by thanking you for being with me, And wake each morning pleasantly surprised to find you are in my life, I would like to feel admiration for the littlest things you do, and how, and how you look others in the eyes, openly, with affection, sparkling but strong. Forever is not important to me, but this is.”
― Waylon H. Lewis, Things I Would Like To Do With You

We Miss you dear Pepper.. Despite our tears of sorrow, we are so thankful for the time we had with you in our lives. You filled our days with meaning, taught us how to be patient, adorned us with unconditional love, and reminded us that life is way to short for anything but caring. Mommy, Molly, and Daddy will miss you sitting by the table this thanksgiving, but will keep you close to us.. forever in our hearts.

.textdivider1233346.PNG

Untitled.jpg

text16.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

Hive text divider.png

About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit.

Hive text divider.png

If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

They can be found for sale on

Saatchi Art

Or

Etsy

If you don't see the piece in either shop, It may still be drying. Let me know and I can upload it as soon as possible to be available. Or you can always make me an offer (in HBD, Hive or any other crypto) in the comments section of this post. If we agree on a price, I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location).

Hive text divider.png

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

2N61tyyncFaFVtpM8rCsJzDgecVMtkz4jpzBsszXjhqan9qEZkUsDzMhwgdrt13KBbAh7WqSboQumdv2yhFRRtSdbX6GJhfNVeQ8Lce6Vfx3iuDddUojjdUkNCSsknFgR7FmeGwt2e9C.png

Hive text divider.png

I Proudly Support:

Curation by @qurator, @ocd, @steemitbloggers, @curangle, @steemflagrewards, @innerblocks, @appreciator and @theluvbug, - Kudos to them and many others for supporting great content and making the blockchain a happier and healthier place to spend time :-D

Hive text divider.png

Sort:  

A very nice Thanksgiving post. A time to remember the joys and sorrows of yesterday. This was a very nice way to express Thanksgiving. Enjoy dinner and family and memories.

It was a nice time. I was able to "Unplug" for a few days and spend quality time with our loved ones. We definitely reminisced on the past and looked toward the future, regardless of what is waiting for us. Happy Thanksgiving!

Hope yours was a good one we enjoyed ours.

This was very beautiful to read! I liked what you said about faith, I can relate to that too! Thank you for sharing this, it is a good reminder to take a closer look at everything which is a blessing in our lives

!ENGAGE 20

My blessings tend to come out in my art, so I thought this would be a nice way to show it. Thank you for the engage and the sweet comment. Without faith, one is lost. Thanks again for stopping by and taking a look at my works 😊

I agree on faith. It has helped me so many times too, I couldn't have made it through lows without it

Wow, those are some awesome works. I really like the one of the church on the old country lane. That is awesome. The one with the red barn and silos really got me too. My aunt and uncle live on a farm and I used to spend a lot of time there. It was one of my favorite places to go when I was a kid. Nice post!

Farms are always fun to roam around when your a kid. Lots of trouble to get into.. lol. I worked on one for many years as a kid, so I also have a lot of fond memories of that time. Thank you for the compliments! Thant one of the church and lane is one of my favorite black and white watercolors. I really want to do a large long version of that type of thing here in the future.

Here's a song this has put into my head. I don't remember where I learned it.

if only I could turn back the hands of time
if only I could hold your hand again in mine
for a day
for an hour
for a moment
or forever.

Blessings to you.
Beautiful post.

Time.. So thankful for it. That was a beautiful quote to share. Thank you and blessings to you and yours as well 😊

Such a beautiful artworks you have done. Well done:)

I guess I went a little crazy.. lol. Thank you for the compliments! Your comment made me smile 😊

What a unique and special trip you have shared, with each one of us.

I have traveled with you through your paintings and I appreciate that.

I hope you are full of blessings and that this Christmas is magnificent.

Aw.. Thank you! We had a very nice Thanksgiving and are looking forward to being blessed at Christmas. Thanks for taking a moment to look through all of those paintings. I hope you had a nice weekend 😊

Thank you for sharing with us these magnificent paintings

Yes it was a great weekend.

Happy Thanksgiving! Such an inspiring post! What a beautiful way to express gratitude through art! 😍 Cheers to wine and coffee and everything else that sparks joy.

Cheers to wine and coffee and everything else that sparks joy.

Haha.. YES! Cheers!! Happy Thanksgiving and I hope your was joyful and warm. I thought why not use a few of my paintings to tell a little story. Didn't come out quite like I thought, but neat non-the-less. Thanks for stopping by and leaving a beautiful comment 😊

Wow! This is a really nice post which makes my eyes water. You have so many people to be thankful for; I lost most of my loved ones; memories only now.

Awww.. so sorry for all of your loss. That's terrible yet you are still thankful and living life along with your memories. Thank you for the compliments and taking a moment to comment. I appreciate the support 😊

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Congratulations @bdmillergallery! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Congratulations @bdmillergallery! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Congratulations @bdmillergallery! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 1 badge.
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking