Engage-onhive: My most embarrassing moment

in OCD4 years ago

Though I feel shy saying this but I really felt bad on the day this embarrassing moment happened.

Before the story commences I'll like to appreciate the efforts of @starstrings01 for hosting such a contest.

When such embarrassing things happen, at the initial time when the whole drama plays out, it's annoying, crazy, sad and heartbreaking.

But when time passes and we sit and flash back to that day, we end up laughing at the situation.

The title of my most embarrassing moment is: Church

One fateful Friday evening, my aunt had to take me for choir practice in church because of fear of leaving a 10 year old at home without any adult supervision.

church-3481187_1280.jpg

ddzphoto

Since I was still considered a child, I wore trousers and a long sleeves polo to avoid mosquitoes that will come later in the evening during the practice.

Our church is a 15 minutes walk and it requires us to cross the major road to get to it.

The road is so busy especially that evening when people are coming back from work and market places.

Ordinarily the road could contain just three cars going on one side and another three cars going on the other side, but trust Nigerians, up to 4 cars and 4 bikes were squeezing themselves to move at once.

Pedestrians were forced to manage one tight space very close to the gutter in other to walk and avoid colliding with motorists and bikers.

My aunt was being very careful with the road so she held me tight under her arm. We stood for a while because we wanted to cross. In that time the worst happened.

A crazy bike man pushed me into the gutter and I almost drowned. First responders jumped into the gutter to save me. My aunt stood and was shouting.

crawl-919224_1280.jpg
Skeeze
By the time I was rescued I was covered head to toe in the contents of the gutter. It's disgusting to mention.

Immediately I was rushed to the nearest pharmacy and 20 sachets of water was poured on me.

Good Samaritans paid for the cream and drugs given to me to curb infection, scratching and allergies.

My aunt brought a bike that took us home after I was washed a little and checked up.

I got home and my parents were around. My aunt took me to the bathroom and bathed me with her hands. On a normal day I bath myself. She then applied the cream on my body.

At dinner, she explained everything to my parents who were so unhappy at the turn out of events.

I even added that before I fell I heard the bike man curse me under his breath. I'm still wondering why he did so.

The next day I barbed my hair very low to remove whatever insects that could be hiding there without my knowledge.

model-4675543_1280.jpg

Engin_Akyurt
I got to school on Monday and my classmates where surprised at my new hairstyle.

I resolved in my heart never to tell them to avoid being laughed at in school.

Sitting and thinking about it, it's funny how everything happened that day. We're talking about more than a decade now. How time flies.

Sort:  

Fun to read but this is not the entry for the goals redfishrally, so I would say score a goal blog

I would still make the rally blog. This is just something I drafted a while back

This is the actual point of choosing this topic for the contest.

When such embarrassing things happen, at the initial time when the whole drama plays out, it's annoying, crazy, sad and heartbreaking.

But when time passes and we sit and flash back to that day, we end up laughing at the situation.

Wow I really imagined how it felt. I would have said sorry but it's now a fun memory to laugh about.

But wait oh, I guess they would have given you some treats 😉 for what happened after getting home; maybe a soda or biscuits because I know that's what parent does especially when the child is still little 😊.

Thanks for participating 😊👍.

You got it right. I got what I wanted to an extent. As I child I demanded mostly cheese balls and drinks

Congratulations @beckie96830! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3250 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 3500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Lol

Hi. Welcome. Thank you for reading

Cheii.. I can't just imagine myself in an incident that will force me to cut of my hair. I can imagine how you had felt. Well, it's now a thing of the past and the hair already grew back 😜.

Lol. Don't mind all those bike men oo. They always feel they are right and the fault is always from the victim. They never for once take the blame on themselves. They can be so annoying at times.

Thanks for sharing your story. I enjoyed reading.

I'm glad you enjoyed it. I didn't feel it that much because after third term I went off to boarding house where there's compulsory cutting of hair.

Lol. Such a favour on your part

Hi @beckie96830 Wow, I can imagine how scary that was for a young child to be covered in that junk and almost drown. It wasn't an embarrassing moment, it was a dangerous moment for both you and our Aunt. So glad that you didn't seriously harm yourself or get infection internally.

Thanks for sharing your story.

There was a scratch, it wasn't as serious as that and I had drugs that took the pains away