You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Train to Failure

in OCD3 years ago

You should get in touch with the people of Masterclass and offer them a course on how to give testimonials. I think it would be great and a top seller!

So many different things affect our approach to failure. Society has been built upon this idea of success being the only road to thread. And if we look back, this iteration of society has been built of so many failures and it is still being changed and evolving. This doesn't mean it will be good, but that's why we can record things that happen so future generation may learn from our mistakes.

Practice is so important as the brain gets adjusted to stuff by repetition. Yesterday, I had a chance to give some advice to other participants of a course I'm soon to finish on how to play certain regional rhythms is Maracas. I came late to the class, but found out that everyone was stuck asking the same thing over and over. I think it was a relief for the teacher to see me connecting. And I went through the same points I got from a workshop I took some years ago and my experience playing the thing on my own with recordings because to this day I haven't played the thing with other musicians in social event. But I could tell everybody what were the points that might be frustrating about learning the particular rhythm and how to tackle the problems that arise with tempo and patterns.

On the other hand, I have never learned to dance because I don't go to many events which require me to have this skill and when I have had someone try to teach, it is as if they could not get things clear as to teach basic steps and such. Maybe I get too technical with the way I like learning stuff, but I like building things and that's the best mechanism for my brain to get a hold of something new.

Getting out of the knowledge bubble is important if we want to be better at the things we do. As new information and methods pop up every minute, we can't give ourselves the chance to miss them. Also we can't miss the chance of failing to grasp something. I love when I fail at something because it gives me an important lesson and the chance to go back into my knowledge pool and see what's missing, tackle that problem and come back better and ready to try again.

Sort:  

And if we look back, this iteration of society has been built of so many failures and it is still being changed and evolving.

I suspect that there have been far more failures than successes - and perhaps this is the way it has to be. When we narrow the attempts, we fail less, but we also succeed less.

Dancing is really interesting (for me) and I live in a place that is quite technically orientated and rule based. So, (especially men) learn to dance patterns, but often fail to take into consideration their body position, lead, music and even less often, their partner. This means that they go to social events and are essentially dancing alone to a different beat.

They do say, "dance to your own drum" - but that doesn't work very well for couple's salsa :D

People focus on what they are comfortable with, even if it is to their own detriment.

They do say, "dance to your own drum" - but that doesn't work very well for couple's salsa :D

It doesn't for sure. I have seen that and I can tell when someone is off-beat with those things. In the same way I don't know how to move to do that, so I refrain from it.

Learning dancing has to be do with a partner, otherwise you never grasp the mechanics fully.

When we narrow the attempts, we fail less, but we also succeed less.

Yes, less risks involves less rewards.

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.