You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Weight of the HIVE on his shoulders [Original Photography]

in OCD4 years ago

Damn my bad, did not notice it under the post from all the excitement. That's pretty sharp glass for a really good price. Have you used it for anything else than macros? And looks like it's f/8 or more in some images. Any macro light for the bugs?

Sort:  

Yeah, its is great value for money for sure. I think now that I'd get one of the new Laowa macro lenses if i was choosing a lens. They are insanely sharp for a reasonable cost. I've done a bit of portraiture with it but nothing of note. Most of these were shot at f11-f16 and yes, I use a macro flash diffuser which I talked about in this post. Cant go more than f16 with that lens really before diffraction starts kicking in.

https://peakd.com/hive-174578/@markangeltrueman/an-initial-review-of-my-new-macro-diffuser

And focus stacking is probably unreasonable with most of the bugs? Unless you get'm while they are sleeping in the morning :)

Yeah, pretty much. Recycle time on the flash can be a bit restrictive too as i'm shooting 1/1 power at 200iso/f16 through that diffuser. With my older diffuser I could get away with 1/4 power so could fire off a few shots in quick succession. Better to use a macro rail to do stacking anyway. Real hard out in the field.

Depth of field is still pretty decent though at f/16. Great shots, will be waiting for more.