30-Day Blogging Challenge: FEAR, WHAT SCARES YOU!

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

Hello to all you #hivers out there, today i'm continuing with a challenge initiated by @tegoshei It's a daily blog challenge that has subjects to follow so here's my entry #4 for the 30-Day Blogging Challenge

Today's subject is what scares you? This one is a difficult one to answer because I have always believed that fear is a obstacle in life and something that should be overcome, the fear of the unknown is a stumbling block that holds us back, so I have always tried to conquer my fears and get the best out of what lays the other side of them.

So after a bit of soul searching the only real fear I can write about today is the fear of getting old. I have no issue with getting old in years far from it, in fact with age comes wisdom only as we progress through life do we begin to understand our real self and become satisfied with what we have become.

My fear of getting old is more about the failings of the human body, as time goes by I am starting to feel my physical age catching up on me, at the moment these things are subtle but clear hints of what the future may bring.

Firstly my eyesight is starting to fail, nothing major but enough that focusing on things is becoming a problem, of course with the aid of spectacles reading is no issue but to not be able to see every day things is a worry, the eyes are the gateway to the soul and what we see feeds our joy of the world. I can't imagine a life where I can't see what I want to photograph.

Feast your eyes!

biggy.jpg

Hearing is the next issue, I don't know when it started to happen but of late I have noticed that I am needing to put a lot more effort into following conversations. Nothing too bad again but enough that it has become noticeable to me.

This one comes as no surprise as for many years I worked with noisy power tools and spent a lot of time working in night clubs with seriously loud music. A world where I can't hear music properly is a scary thought, music is and always will be a important part of my life, it's such a big thing to me that I think I could live more without sight than hearing.

Bring the noise!

P7110622.jpg

That's senses covered but what about the physical? We all think we will be able to do anything for ever but the truth is our physical age creeps up on us. Sports that I would find easy in my youth are now a challenge, i'm not going to be running anywhere fast or over any distance any more and i'm pretty sure iv'e missed the boat on my childhood dream to conquer mount Everest.

With age I have got a bit slower and fatter but I still have a interesting life and enjoy many things to the full, diving and underwater photography, travel and motorcycle sports, motocross being my favorite.

Still a rev head!

memoto.jpg

So senses and the physical body are covered and all that's left is the machine that runs it all, the dark mater we call our brain. Now some would say I already have mental issues and I happily accept I am not wired up like the average person but who want's to be like everybody else anyway.

The brain is a weird bit of kit, it muddles along doing it's thing but on occasions it can go off the boil. If we are lucky we make it to a ripe old age with the mind intact but having seen first hand what a disease like Alzheimer's can do to people who are in great health only to be struck down is a sad thing.

We all experience fading memories, we often have those moments where something is said in conversation or we see something and it brings back a forgotten time, this is perfectly normal but to slowly descend into a world where you lose all recollection and no longer know your loved ones around you is a frightening thought.

Well that all got a bit deeper than I had planned at the start of writing, to sum it all up I think we all have fears of the unknown and where life will take us is anyone's guess, so take nothing for granted and make the most of life one day at a time. Don't let fear stand in your way, it's always better to fail trying than to have never tried at all.

Until next time stay safe folks!

F.E.A.R. Ian Brown.



My posts so far in this challlenge.

#1 (https://hive.blog/hive-174578/@biggypauls/how-did-you-choose-your-blog-name-day-1-of-30-day-blogging-challenge)
#2 (https://hive.blog/hive-174578/@biggypauls/30-day-blogging-challenge-10-facts-about-me)
#3 (https://hive.blog/hive-174578/@biggypauls/30-day-blogging-challenge-my-day-in-detail)

#4 (https://hive.blog/hive-174578/@biggypauls/30-day-blogging-challenge-my-30-year-relationship)



Sort:  

for some reason I thought you'd be scared of clowns

No I just punch their lights out, there's a old viral of me doing it.😂

good I hate clowns. and they smell funny

That's the old pervert ones from your childhood🤡

thats pretty much everyone on childrens TV in the 70's

Man with finger up a mouses arse seems perfectly normal.
image.png
https://www.dailymail.co.uk/

yup perfectly normal

Your fear took me by surprise. I see you as someone who has really "lived." Having gone through the road less traveled and all. The Mount Everest, haah a big sigh. During the quarantine, I watched the 2015 documentary, Sherpa and it made me crave and dream to see the base camp at least by physically going up there. Yohann and I are nowhere near fit to be able to do that now and we're not getting any younger.

It's not so much a fear but the reality it's the one thing we can't control, age will have it's wicked way with us all.

Got it, if only we can buy a bottle of eternal youth 😁

I'll see if they have any at Gaisano

Your underwater photography is really stunning. Would love to see more of them someday. :)

I post a lot so you will get your wish.

Yaaaay! ^_^