You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Labor of love legacy

in OCD4 years ago

At least my snoring won't be an issue.

There is always a silver lining isn't there? :)

When the weather is cool, my Sam runs just for the joy of running. Most times when he's in that mode he gets to wagging his tail so hard it throws his running out of synch so he has to slow down and go again.

It's sort of how I write when things are good. I've written for money, I've written for personal gain. Now I mostly just write for the feel good of it.

I have a friend that started on Steem for the express purpose of putting his thoughts down so his younger children and grandchildren could read his words and know him if he left too soon. It's been a powerful thing for him, and I've read about his two youngest growing up to near adulthood. They've even helped him judge a couple of contests he's run. It's pretty special. He's almost not around at all right now because he's crazy busy, but he wrote every day for two years.

I guess my point is: words matter. Writing them down means they can matter over time.

Sort:  

Writing for the enjoyment of it is a bonus - I see it like a hobby that ticks many boxes. I can do what I enjoy, get paid, be part of something that matters, clear my head, protect my words, have something to leave behind... the list goes on.

I have a friend that started on Steem for the express purpose of putting his thoughts down so his younger children and grandchildren could read his words and know him if he left too soon.

The @smallsteps account is for this in some way - it is her baby book. I haven't added to it on Hive.

I guess my point is: words matter. Writing them down means they can matter over time.

It is part of a much greater conversation. The lessons we have from experience can be preserved and used for years to come - we are the publishers of the future history.

You could probably start the Hive portion of @smallsteps legacy with the new house. Hers, not yours. I have a feeling that is going to be a huge part of her for a while.

One of my friend's most recent posts involved his teaching his youngest daughter a skill his mother taught him. Refinishing furniture. Sort of an amazing tradition, isn't it?

That is a great idea. Thanks!

One of my friend's most recent posts involved his teaching his youngest daughter a skill his mother taught him. Refinishing furniture. Sort of an amazing tradition, isn't it?

If I have family regrets, it is not learning more from mine who have passed.

!ENGAGE 15

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.