Borran's Beer Review: 3 Year Old Chimay Grande Réserve (Blue)

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

DSCN48432.jpg


It's time for another review! Today, I'm reviewing a Chimay Blue which I've stored in my cellar for 3 years. I'm curious about the difference between a fresh and an aged one. I've heard they change in many ways when storing them. The beer is a Belgian Strong Dark Ale from the brewery Bières de Chimay.

Description of the beer:
"The Chimay Blue Cap, baptized "Grande Reserve" in 750 ml bottles is a dark Trappist beer with a powerful aroma, the complex flavor of which improves across the years. It was first brewed as a Christmas beer by the monks of Scourmont Abbey in 1956."
"This authentic Belgian beer, whose tinge of fresh yeast is associated with a light rosy flowery touch, is particularly pleasant. Its aroma, perceived as one enjoys it, only accents the delightful sensations revealed by the odor, all revealing a light but agreeable caramelized note."
"It is ideally served at cellar temperature (10 to 12°C)."

Source


History & Facts:
- Chimay Brewery (Brasserie de Chimay) is a brewery at Scourmont Abbey, a Trappist monastery in Chimay, Hainaut, Belgium, one of the eleven breweries worldwide that produce Trappist beer.
- The brewery was founded in 1862.
- It was the first brewery to use the Trappist Ale designation on its labels.
- The beer is sold only for financial support of the monastery and good causes.
- The water for the beers is drawn from a well located inside the monastery walls.
- The beer is then refermented in the bottle for three weeks before being shipped around the world.
- The monastery also makes four varieties of cheese.

Source


Here's a list of their most well known beers:

Chimay Grande Réserve (Blue)
Chimay Cinq Cents (White)
Chimay Première (Red)
Chimay Dorée (Gold)

Source


DSCN4831234.jpg

DSCN48402.jpg


Appearance: dark brown color with a small white head.
Smell: raisin, dark fruit, some alcohol and yeast.
Mouthfeel: medium body, soft carbonation.
Taste: raisin, dark fruit, caramel, spices, yeast, alcohol, some chocolate notes.

The 3 year old Chimay blue has lower carbonation than a fresh one. It has more aroma and more complex flavors. It is also sweeter and has less hop flavor.
Conclusion: I guess most people prefer aged Chimay, but I myself actually like fresh Chimay more. I've never been a fan of sweet beers, and the aged one has a sweeter taste IMO.

Verdict - My rating: 3.5 out of 5.

Chimay Grande Réserve (Blue):

BreweryBières de Chimay
CountryBaileux, Wallonie Belgium
StyleBelgian Strong Dark Ale
Alcohol9 %
IBU35
Score3.5/5

My latest beer reviews:

Borran's Beer Review: Poppels Passion Pale Ale

Borran's Beer Review: Super DuPA

Borran's Beer Review: Samuel Smith's Organic Chocolate Stout

Borran's Beer Review: Köstritzer Schwarzbier


Camera: Nikon Coolpix P900/Nikkor 83X Wide Optical Zoom 4.3-357mm f/2.8-6.5.


Please drink responsibly!


I hope you enjoyed my post! Thanks for stopping by!

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, even on HIVE I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Sorry, no beers or deranged or trdo yet... waiting on steem-engine to make the move to HIVE...
Week 2 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!

Thanks once again!

The !BEER looks great!! I love your glass, It fits this masculine looking Beer!!

Thanks! Yeah I agree, the glass is very nice! :) Cheers!

Oh yeah, one of my favorite beers.
Cheers. 😎🍻