You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bozzlife: #whoareyoulisteningto?

in OCD4 years ago

I am sort of with you on that. Did you see my post a while ago about my ten most influential albums? Glenn Miller was on that list. I really love the crooners too. Such good stuff!

Sort:  

I think I must've missed the top ten post! I play jazz clarinet so I really like Glenn Miller. My first date with my wife was a Harry Connick Jr. concert when he was touring with his big band. That brief resurgence of jazz/swing from the mid-90's to early 2000's was a fun time. A friend and I used to go to Chicago and visit a lot of the jazz clubs there during that era. We had such a blast. Most of those clubs are gone now except for the Green Mill.

I'd love to go to a proper jazz club someday. The closest I have ever been was a blues bar in Nashville one year. I also went to the mob museum in Vegas and hung out for a little bit at the speak easy they have in the basement. That is pretty awesome about the jazz clarinet thing. I dig Connick too.

Blues bars can have a cool vibe too. The Green Mill in Chicago is definitely one I'd recommend experiencing if you ever find yourself in Chicago. Al Capone used to hang out there and I don't think it's changed too much since then TBH. It's as authentic as it gets. We used to get all dressed up and ride the train from downtown up to the Green Mill and (very naively) would ride the train back during the wee hours of the morning. Those HCJ concerts, when he toured with the big band, were some of the best live shows I've seen.

I've only ever been to Chicago once. I know I missed a lot the first time we went, so I would love to go back some day.

Chicago gets a lot of things right. I would probably pick it over New York City if I had to choose between the two. It's cleaner, not as expensive, and has just as much culture/activities. A friend and I went there every year from 2001 to 2015.