Spicy Cabbage With Coconut Jasmine Rice

in OCD4 years ago

DSC_9731.jpg

Recently I stumbled upon @qurator 's hive top chef competion.

The theme this week is rice. I have never participated before. Since I love rice I couldn't pass it up.

I wanted to use the ingredients that I had in the kitchen so taking most of those items, I turned it into kind of a fusion thing, or more like "confusion" thing.

When I was in Bangkok during the winter, we stayed near a hidden market that had a rice vendor. I was blown away and stunned at how many varieties of rice they had in bulk. It was in different shades and colors.

I have always know there were many. I knew about long grain, short grain, arborio, jasmine, basmati, brown, wild, sticky, and red.

I realized after seeing those bins with about twenty or thirty different kinds of rice that there probably are plenty more around the world.

I usually stick to white, brown, long grain, basmati and jasmine.

All I had in the cupboard was jasmine. This is usually what accompanies Asian curries, in my experience. I like it's aromatic flavor and it's slightly sticky texture making it the perfect sponge for curries and sauces.
I decided to use the savoy cabbage and a few other things in the fridge to make spicy cabbage and tomato for the rice.

I had some coconut milk left in the fridge so I put this in the rice. It was around one cup that I added to the rice after it boiled in a cup and a half of water then turned low. After adding the coconut milk I stirred frequently to keep it from sticking to the bottom since the coconut milk tends to do that.
DSC_9721.jpg

For the spicy cabbage I made a tomato sauce with fresh tomatoes and date paste to thicken it and add a bit of sweetness to the tangy tomatoes. I just blended the tomatoes and the date paste in the blender and it was smooth like ketchup.

Spicy cabbage

  • 1/2 a savoy or regular cabbage (I used savoy) shredded and slightly steamed or boiled.
  • 1/2 onion diced
  • 1 teaspoon ginger minced
  • 3 cloves garlic minced
  • 3 or 4 small hot chilies chopped small
  • 1 carrot julienned
  • 3 medium tomatoes
  • 3 teaspoons chopped cilantro root and stems
  • 1 zucchini julienned
  • 2 tablespoons soy sauce

Saute the onions and garlic,spices,then add the carrots then the cabbage and zucchini and the tomato sauce. Cook on medium until everything is cooked through.

Spices

  • 1 teaspoon salt or to taste
  • 1 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 teaspoon toasted cumin
  • 1 teaspoon toasted coriander
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon paprika
  • 1/2 teaspoon thyme
  • 4 tablespoons veggie broth powder

cabbage.jpg

DSC_9727.jpg

After stirring in the tomato sauce cook until everything is coated and hot.

DSC_9730.jpg

Garnish with sesame seeds and cilantro leaves.

DSC_9741.jpg

DSC_9762.jpg

I have always liked to combine cabbage with tomatoes. As a child I had cabbage rolls made for me every week by the Hungarian tenant that rented our upstairs apartment.

This time I wanted something different than cabbage,tomatoes and rice cabbage roll style. I used those three things and twisted it into something more eastern for a change, though I do love traditional cabbage rolls veganized.

DSC_9751.jpg

At the end I got something from the east, west, south and north. I guess that's the way most food is in the big western cities now.

Thanks for stopping by.

Sort:  

Wow! This looks wonderful! Can I have two helpings?! So,I don’t have to eat the next day, saving some time! LoL.

Good luck,
All the best.

Yes but cabbage goes through pretty fast so you may want to eat again the same day like me. I wish I didn't love eating so much haha.

Thank you my friend!

Oh! I am quite fond of eating vegetables so I could eat three to four times a day! I really must start my walking exercise really soon, too many excuses!

Have a pleasant day!

I can imagine the savory of rice in here.

Usually I add bay leaves on rice for more fragnant

Yes I had bay leaves but I forgot because I had a time limit on the kitchen haha. Thank for the reminder. Next time for sure.

This looks like a most wonderful dish! It is so colorful and seems to be a fabulous blending of tastes as well as colors! GOOD LUCK with the competition! You are already one of Hive's TOP CHEFS, at least in my opinion! 😋

That means so much to me thank you😊

I would really love to taste your food ;)
I can't remember anything you cooked that i would not want to try.
Greetings Sista!

It means a lot to me coming from someone whom I know is a good cook but doesn't show us enough. I love to know what other people are eating especially vegans haha.

Ok, more food posts... i got'cha ;)

tasty !! I am still amazed when someone cook rice with a pot instead rice cooker. It still strange to me. You'll be winning this one ;)

That's so sweet of you. I actually dont like rice cookers because they take too much space haha. Thank you for your sweet comment!

ooh I see. I love rice cooker cause they're quick :D

Wow this looks delicious! The combination of different flavors and textures you used here just made me really hungry haha! I'll try this recipe out.

Yay I am happy it made you hungry!!!
Thank you!

Wow looking very well my friend! Really yum yum 😋

Thank you dear @sreypov!😊

Curated for #naturalmedicine (by @porters) - join our community here.
what a delightful recipe! I'm going to give it a try for we have some extra cabbages that I was looking for different ways of cooking them. Thanks for sharing!

We encourage content about health & wellness - body, mind, soul and earth. We are an inclusive community with two basic rules: Proof of Heart (kindness prevails) & Proof of Brain (original content). Read more here.

Our website also rewards with its own Lotus token & we'd love you to join our community in Discord. Delegate to @naturalmedicine & be supported with upvotes, reblog, tips, writing inspiration challenges for a chance to win HIVE and more. Click here to join the #naturalmedicine curation trail!

Thanks a million. I am happy other people like cabbage too!

Very creative! You have some great basics and seem to get an arsenal of ideas from combining culinary recipes? I can see a lot of skills in them!

I appreciate this comment soooo much. Thank you for your support!!!!