Vegan chickpea vegetable curry

in OCD4 years ago

DSC_9020.jpg

We live in a household where spices and garlic are not welcome aromas or odors. If we cook something spicy or garlicky we usually wait until the folks aren't home.

They are rarely away so fortunately we have an outdoor camping stove. We have been doing so much outside and it's so satifying.

Up until now when we made something with curry spices we usually did a quick dump of basic curry powder to make things go faster. This time we did the whole toasting of cumin and coriander. I'm not able to go so far as to stock up on all the spices that I would need to do the many special curries that are out there so the basic cumin,turmeric and coriander with chili had to do.

A can of chickpeas and some vegetables and the spices made the curry yesterday. I long to be able to take the time to do more complex Indian curry recipes that I have eaten in restaurants. There is an endless variety of spices and ingredients that make up the many different curry dishes.

We took great pleasure in toasting cumin and coriander in a pan on our little stove. The aroma of the spice must have been wafting through the air. I guess in some countries it would be normal but here in this neighborhood, food odors are mostly from hot dogs, steak and chicken on the barbecue. Hopefully the smell of spices inspired some more exotic food choices from the neighbors.

DSC_8985.jpg

I toasted the cumin and coriander until they got brown and started to pop. Many people fry them in oil to get maximum flavor but I didn't bother.

DSC_8992.jpg

I took around a teaspoon of each and crush it with a knife since my mother in law was in the kitchen so I didn't want to grind it in my blender. She would have choked.

I wouldn't get a mortar and pestle while I'm here or she would be irritated by the action. Anyhow the knife worked fine.

DSC_8987.jpg

Chickpea Curry

  • 1 can of chickpeas or 2 cups of cooked chickpeas
  • 1 diced eggplant
  • 1 diced onion
  • 4 cloves minced garlic
  • 1 teaspoon minced ginger
  • 2 hot chilies or whatever you like
  • 1 stalk diced celery
  • 1 diced carrot
  • 3 medium tomatoes or 1 cup can tomatoes diced
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon turmeric
  • 1 teaspoon toasted cumin
  • 1 teaspoon toasted coriander
  • 1/2 cup coconut milk
  • 1/2 cup fresh coriander
  • 1 cup vegetable broth
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil

DSC_8994.jpg

I only had a small pan to use that was mine, so I had to do things in segments, then adding the cooked ingredients to a bigger pot.

First saute the onions,garlic, ginger,chili and spices in a tablespoon of olive oil until golden then add a bit of broth. Cook for five minutes.

I added this to the large pot and repeated with the rest of the ingredients.

DSC_9007.jpg

I took this off the stove and quickly cooked some basmati rice. I really love basmati for this kind of dish.

DSC_9009h.jpg

We cooked outside, we ate outside and we spent the rest of the day outside. I will get every drop of sun while I can since Montreal has a limited amount of it and I won't be able to follow through with our original plan to work for the summer and go back to travel.

DSC_9018.jpg

The last drop of sun for the day.
DSC_9030.jpg

Sort:  

This looks delicious!!! And the ingredients! I can already taste it!

Look at this!!! Let's cook this tomorrow @acurewa 😍 or, well, the day after... when we finish that soup 😅

Haha thank you @neyxirncn I hope you do it!

The curry looks very yummy! You are fantastic cook!

Yum, that curry looks so good. I agree it makes a huge difference when you actual make it from scratch. What a pity you are unable to do that where you are now, but you definitely did a good job with what you had. I am sure you would have inspired some folk to try something more exotic with the wonderful aromas, you would have released.

Curated for #naturalmedicine (by @trucklife-family) - join our community here.

We encourage content about health & wellness - body, mind, soul and earth. We are an inclusive community with two basic rules: Proof of Heart (kindness prevails) & Proof of Brain (original content). Read more here.

Our website also rewards with its own Lotus token & we'd love you to join our community in Discord. Delegate to @naturalmedicine & be supported with upvotes, reblog, tips, writing inspiration challenges for a chance to win HIVE and more. Click here to join the #naturalmedicine curation trail!

Thank you very kindly! I have the summer to get this out of my system haha.

Wow!!! That looks amazing!

Always delicious 😋

Thank you dear.

Oh look at you in the sunshine!!!

I miss a kitchen full of herbs and spices and my meals are plainer where I am. I long for the different foods of Europe, but stuck in the UK, I have to make do.

It's really funny how people don't appreciate spices and you have to cook outside!!! Spices are LIFE!!! I love the aroma of cummin seeds and could put them in pretty much anything. Thanks for sharing your recipe. xx

Thank you.
Spices are life! I don't get that some people don't like them.