Vegan lentil zucchini and mushroom burger for food fight Friday

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

DSC_0451.jpg

Last night I had spent some time awake and as usual, worked up an appetite from tossing and turning. That's my exercise. When I wake up like that I get an appetite for things that are kind of heavy and fun.

I was determined to have a big loaded veggie burger. My main ingredient for veggie burgers is brown lentils and nuts. I like to throw in mushrooms and zucchini for moisture and texture.

Yesterday we went for a walk and discovered a whole bunch of chives growing in a ditch by a closed down building. I took them home and planted them by my other small chives.

DSC_0357.jpg

Then today I decided to chop a bunch down and throw them into the burger.

DSC_0376.jpg

These are the ingredients I put in but you could eliminate the herbs and spices or add your own.

1 cup cooked lentils
1 cup ground lentils
1 1/2 cups ground walnuts
2 tablespoons ground flax seeds
1 ground portobello mushroom
2 zucchinis grated
1 cup chopped chives
1 teaspoon salt or to taste
1 tablespoon paprika
1 teaspoon onion powder
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon coriander
1/2 teaspoon all spice
1/2 teaspoon liquid smoke
1 teaspoon cayenne
1 1 tablespoon tomato paste
3 dates
2 tablespoons lemon juice
3 cloves garlic
1 teaspoon thyme
1 teaspoon oregano
In a food processor grind all of the ingredients together.

For the lentils, I cooked half and ground half. I ground up the cooked lentils and added everything to the mix.

DSC_0378.jpg

I made the patties then coated with cornstarch. They are fairly soft before you cook them so if you put them in the freezer for a while, they are easier to manage and the dry ingredients will swell up with the moisture from the zucchini and the mushrooms.

I cooked them in a pan because they weren't in the freezer long enough but if they were frozen or almost frozen you could put them on the grill with a little brush of oil.

DSC_0390.jpg

These were really moist but firmed up quite nicely. In the past I have had them more firm before cooking and just added a little water to the pan after they were browned but this time it was perfect.

DSC_0393.jpg

While the burgers were cooking I took the time to climb up the apple tree and pretend that I was in the country. I can imagine the neighbors were wondering why the crazy old lady is up in a tree.

DSC_0477.jpg

Bruce was a little concerned with it.

DSC_0409.jpg

DSC_0414.jpg

I cooked some green peppers to put on the burger as well. DSC_0422.jpg

DSC_0426.jpg

We ran out of mustard which we wanted, but there was some leftover dill and chive dressing. You can get my recipe for that here.

DSC_0438.jpg

I made a simple coleslaw which was made from shredded cabbage and carrots,sliced red onion and parsley. For the vinaigrette I boiled 1/4 cup vinegar with 2 tablespoons cane sugar, and salt then cooled it off. It was added to the slaw along with a tablespoon of olive oil. It was marinating in the dressing while the burgers were cooking.

DSC_0434.jpg

DSC_0441.jpg

Would we be able to fit this in our mouths? I let Marc try it first.

DSC_0452.jpg

It worked! How do we do it?

DSC_0454.jpg

DSC_0459.jpg

DSC_0448.jpg

We indulged today and really enjoyed it. After all it's Friday, which is the same for me as any other day but that is my excuse for having a burger party.

Sort:  

Manually curated by blacklux 💡 from the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you very much!

This certainly looks like a legit burger! I have a recipe for coriander, curry and lentil burgers which we make sometimes. They are bit labour intensive, and smell the whole house out (so we cook them outside on the grill) but are tasty! When we make them we do a big batch and freeze some for later. Ready made meals.

I think we will be trying your version for sure! Thanks for sharing and I hope you guys have a great weekend.

Oh my gosh yes I really must get on that. I love curry and I have to do it outside because it's the kitchen of my in laws who hate those odors.

Thanks to you and a great weekend to you as well @galenkp!

I must tell you this looks delicious! 😍

What a great-looking summer meal! You have me drooling over here...! 🤤😋

Thanks @thekittygirl! We really indulged and it was super fun.😊

So nice to be cooking in the garden! That’s a very nice recipe!
Summer weather and the green garden, hope it stays this way a long time!

It's nice but also necessary because it's my mother in laws kitchen and I am not comfortable in there. Yes I really hope I can have lots of sunshine before the Montreal brutal weather comes back.

It’s good that you have some space for yourself! Keep your cool!

I think you should move somewhere much warmer, further south. Because the mini ice age has started (look up YouTube on Adapt 2030). You should make a plan for the near future! Food prices are going up a lot very soon! Large migration to warmer climate will take place in a few years.

Good luck!

Believe me if I could afford a plane ticket I would go. We tried it this winter but we didn't find a way to make an income and the world nonsense happened and we had to come home.Getting out has always been our plan. I hope to live my last years back in Thailand where I belong.

Yes I love cooking in the garden to stay out of my mother in laws kitchen. She always makes me feel uncomfortable but not on purpose.

The weather is awesome right now. I can close my eyes and pretend I'm in Bangkok.

Glad to hear that you are having your warm weather! You should meditate and send her some compassion! It might help a bit!

Take care.

I know that is the right thing but she is difficult. I will try thank you for setting me straight.😌

Now that's what i call a Burger! Vegan! Yesir :)
Thanks for the inspiration.
You look like Jane in the trees, and your Tarzan is eating Burgers :)))
"Bruce was a little concerned with it."
His facial expression is priceless :)))
Enjoy your weekend ;)

Haha me Jane thank you my friend! Bruce is a character for sure. Enjoy your weekend as well!

Thanks! ;)

Oh this looks sooo good @carolynstahl! You need to open up your own vegan restaurant or write an e-book, your food always looks absolutely delicious!
Poor Bruce really looks alarmed;)

Oh thank you that is too kind. I don't consider myself a great cook but I wouldn't mind making a living at it. Not as a line cook though.

Bruce is always alarmed!

I am showing this burger recipe to my Mrs right now you just made my mouth all water up need a burger right now 👍

Haha hope you enjoy!

She loves trying new recipes and usually does a good job 😊

This is my kind of burger, bursting with spices and so much flavour. I will be trying this out very soon, love your pictures and seeing you up in a tree xxx

Curated for #naturalmedicine by @trucklife-family.

We encourage content about health & wellness - body, mind, soul and earth. We are an inclusive community with two basic rules: Proof of Heart (kindness prevails) & Proof of Brain (original content). Read more here.

Our website also rewards with its own Lotus token & we'd love you to join our community in Discord. Delegate to @naturalmedicine & be supported with upvotes, reblog, tips, writing inspiration challenges for a chance to win HIVE and more. Click here to join the #naturalmedicine curation trail!

Thank you I appreciate it @trucklife-family!

Looks absolutely delicious. :)


@carolynstahl
Your Food Fight Friday Contender has been entered into
Round 9
May your contender make it out alive and not be placed in a permanent Food Coma
Food coma_5
Good Luck
and
Keep using that #FFF Tag on your
Friday Food Flingin’ Posts.

The hamburger looks spectacular. nice job. Cheers.

Wow, very great my friend. You have more of your ideas! Beautiful all the pictures.

Your lentil zucchini mushroom burgers take two hands to hold and look absolutely delicious!
🍔🥒💯🍄🍅

Ahhww thank you @ninahaskin! It definitely needed two hands haha.😄