Vegan pizza with tempeh chorizo for Food fight Friday

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

DSC_0760.jpg
It's #foodfightfriday again but I'm a foodie not a fighter. I'll gently share my post with my dukes down if you don't mind.

Even though I'm vegan doesn't mean I don't want fun food that makes me feel like a sinner against my own standards of eating. Actually I don't feel that bad because I enjoyed every minute of this vegan pizza.

There were many challenges involved with the building of this pizza so it took a bit of time

First challenge which always exists, is that this is not my kitchen and although ma in law says I can use it, she always finds a way to make it uncomfortable. I know she's not driven with extreme intent. All the same it happens.

Yesterday they went to Costco. I have never set foot in a Costco but the sound of the word means I get to run around the kitchen freely for approximately one and a half hours.

The second challenge to making this pizza is that the bottom element of the oven has been on the fritz for three years. Only the upper element works.
Why would I even make my own pizza dough then? How would I bake the pizza?

Well where there's a will there's a way. Also where there's a barbecue there's a way.

The first mission was the dough. I rarely bake anything but I like the satisfaction of seeing dough rise. I never use measurements when I cook but the measurements I give are based on what I see going in and intuition I suppose. After being a slave cook for years on and off, I can pretty much guess a measurement with ninety five percent accuracy.

Keep that in mind if you follow the measurements that I give.

Pizza dough

Approximately

5 cups flour, 2 1/2 cups water, 1 teaspoon instant yeast, 1 tablespoon sugar, 1 teaspoon salt and 2 tablespoons olive oil.

2.jpg

I made the dough and let it sit while I prepared a few things to go on top.

1.jpg

The pizza sauce was not the regular kind you get from the shop. This one was a little different.

Pizza sauce

1/4 cup tomato paste, 1 teaspoon salt, 1 teaspoon sugar, 1 teaspoon smoked chili powder, 1 tablespoon lemon juice, 3 tablespoons Herb pesto

DSC_0698.jpg

Tempeh Chorizo

Marinate a brick of cubed tempeh in 1/4 cup water, 1/2 teaspoon thyme, 1/2 teaspoon cumin.1/2 teaspoon black pepper, 1/2 teaspoon oregano, 1/4 teaspoon clove powder, 1/4 teaspoon fennil, 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon. 1 tablespoon brown sugar, 1 tablespoon olive oil, 1 tablespoon lime juice 1 tablespoon smoked chili or paprika ( I used a chili called paquin that I found and ground up)

8.jpg

While the tempeh was cooking in a pan outside on the camping stove, we got peppers, mushrooms, onion, tomatoes, and zucchini chopped and on the pizza.

4.jpg

6 2.jpg

When the tempeh had all the liquid cooked out we put it on the pizza and put the pizza on the grill.

9.jpg

We knew we would have to be careful that the pizza didn't burn on the bottom because the heat is coming from there so we carefully turned the barbecue up and down, off and on.

DSC_0724.jpg

Mark took over that business while I contemplated under the apple tree.

DSC_0726.jpg

DSC_0728.jpg

At the end when the dough was pretty much done, we put it under the grill in the oven. We put that high and low until it was perfect.

The in laws were home during this process sitting out on the patio. I knew they thought it looked good but they would never give in and try anything that I made especially because it's vegan and has no cheese on it.

DSC_0759.jpg

DSC_0765.jpg

The odd time when we ordered vegan pizza we would get vegan cheese which I really never thought was necessary so we didn't bother with it.

DSC_0767.jpg

Who will have the first slice?

DSC_0769.jpg

"Why do you always catch me with my mouth full?"

DSC_0773.jpg

I had to console the dog who would have gladly tasted it but he wasn't getting any.

DSC_0745.jpg

We just couldn't finish the whole thing so we had the rest for a snack later

DSC_0771.jpg

Have a good weekend foodie friends!

Sort:  

Oh, that looks really tasty! I've never tried cooking a pizza on the grill, but looks like Mark knows how to handle it!

🤤

Thank you it really was good and Mark just thinks he's the grill boss haha.😄

That pizza looks very tasty and very colorful with those ingredients that differentiates it from the others that we are used to seeing and eating. I will prepare it at home. nice job. Cheers..

Thank you very much cheers to you!

Thanks for sharing your creative and inspirational post on HIVE!



This post got curated and you received a 100% upvote from our non-profit curation service!

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work!

Looks delicious! Very random, but @Sreypov just made her first pizza tonight for dinner. Tempeh, well tempeh is just good on anything, anytime, anywhere.

Thank you! I just wish I could dine on some @sreypov pizza. I just love her food. One day I will make you feed me haha!!!!

Looks very delicious my friend. I think we have ideas the same, Five hours ago I ate it. Now I see your post ha ha 🙂 I think my pizza not yum like you because I made it first time but we can it.

tptcyx.jpgI made with everything we have it.

It looks delicious and I know that it is because you are an amazing cook and I want to eat everything you make. Your family are lucky!

Thank you very much my dear, your food also amazing. next time I will try your pizza recipe. Thank you for sharing.

Wow! This looks very delicious even without cheese!! Thanks for the recipe for make the pizza dough, I might try this out one day!

Thanks it's really easy. I did it in a flat pan on the stove when I was in Thailand because I didn't have any ovens.


@carolynstahl
Your Food Fight Friday Contender has been entered into
Round 10
May your contender make it out alive and not be placed in a permanent Food Coma
Food coma_8
Good Luck
and
Keep using that #FFF Tag on your
Friday Food Flingin’ Posts.

Wow you really know how to make a girl hungry, this looks so good. Your photos are always stunning and I love how you experiment with food to give us all these amazing flavours xxx

Curated for #naturalmedicine by @trucklife-family.

We encourage content about health & wellness - body, mind, soul and earth. We are an inclusive community with two basic rules: Proof of Heart (kindness prevails) & Proof of Brain (original content). Read more here.

Our website also rewards with its own Lotus token & we'd love you to join our community in Discord. Delegate to @naturalmedicine & be supported with upvotes, reblog, tips, writing inspiration challenges for a chance to win HIVE and more. Click here to join the #naturalmedicine curation trail!

What a nice compliment @trucklife-family!!! I really appreciate that thank you!!!!😊

you are very welcome @carolynstahl, your recipes are always so inspiring xxx

My mom just made pizza yesterday and it’s delicious and your look delicious too.

I would love to eat your mom's pizza. I bet it was amazing. She is such a good cook. Thank you @kidsisters!!!!

Pizza cooked on the BBQ, just brilliant, you're really enjoying summertime over there! Your pizza looks sooo good, I've not been able to pull off a vegan pizza but this looks really delicious.