When you suddenly get a day off from work at the restaurant -Line cook rants too old to have fun?

in OCD3 years ago

What a week. I must release some tension by ranting a bit if you don't mind.

Thursday is when I start the week at work in the restaurant as a cook. This day was the first day of mandatory vaccine passports. I was expecting that many people would not show up. It was quite the contrary. We had the usual full house. We started off the day with a clogged toilet shortly before the dining room opened.

When the dish washer got there he began to try to un clog it. Nothing worked. I told them to close that toilet and just use the others. He tried hot water and chemicals for a long time. Meanwhile it was still clogged and they discovered that all three toilets were clogged. I told them it's a bigger problem than that.

They finally called a plumber who came at the end of the night. People were upset that they had to go to another restaurant to the bathroom. It was stressful. We went home and the manager and plumber stayed behind. The next day we got a text saying the plumber couldn't fix it so the restaurant closed for the night. It would have been our busiest night.

My partner and I work together and felt a sense of relief that we would get the day off. I felt equally as frightened that they would have to tear up the whole basement to fix the pipes. I also worried when I noticed the sister restaurant closed as well. That was strange. In the meantime we decided to take advantage.

I packed a picnic and we went around the corner to a little park that has a kids jungle gym. In the day it's for the kids and in the evening it's for the adults.

DSC_4755.jpg

All the picnic tables were taken so we sat on the swing thingy. I don't know what it's called. It's relaxing but no picnic. We just had some wine and talked.

DSC_4786.jpg

These swing things are almost always taken, but it was cool and cloudy. The moment we sat, it started raining lightly. Good thing we had the shelter of the swing thing.

DSC_4766.jpg

DSC_4759.jpg
The rain didn't bother too many people and it didn't last long. Montreal has nasty winters so people get outside as much as possible.

DSC_4773.jpg
I wish no one would be around so I could freely do stuff on the kids gym. I always wanted to open up an adult jungle gym with extra large stuff to play on.

DSC_4787.jpg

A young annoying worker from our sister restaurant asked me last week what I would do on my days off. I told him I really would like to have some fun. He told me I was too old to have fun. I threw invisible daggers at him. When he was there on Thursday I carried heavy boxes down the stairs to the storage. He didn't help. I guess I'm not too old to do that but I'm too old to have fun. Shoot me now please. I'm almost 60 but the dish washer is 71 and loves to party.

DSC_4790.jpg

I see quite a few adults using the kids gym during the evening. They aren't as old as I am though. Get me a wheel chair please!

DSC_4795.jpg

It started to get a little dark and cool so we went back to our apartment. They had a street sale/festival again outside our door. They had it a couple of weeks ago then they didn't for a week. This week they did it again. It's the grand finale before summer festivities go to die.

Right now outside of our building there are many people. This photo is of the mild crowd earlier. That was yesterday.

DSC_4818.jpg

As we strolled through the street, we had several skate boarders whipping around the crowds. This makes me nervous ever since I was struck by a get away skate board a couple of years ago on my way to work. It smashed into my ankle and knocked me on the pavement. The lad grabbed it and ran. I limped in pain to work and worked in pain. I limped for a couple of weeks with a swollen ankle.

DSC_4802.jpg

There was a crowd cheering so I wanted to know what was going on. It was some kind of dart throwing thing. There must have been prizes involved for this kind of enthusiasm.

DSC_4808.jpg

Next to the overpriced super market there are pink hippo statues. Remember beautiful art?

DSC_4801.jpg

We are not interested in any of this stuff but there is an energy that reminds me of the good old days when people could have fun. It reminded me of carnivals as a child with lights and stuff happening.

DSC_4825.jpg

The vegan pub in the building where our restaurants are located, was still busy.

DSC_4823.jpg

We went home finally and had some dinner. I made some mung bean curry and some flatbreads to go with it.

DSC_4830.jpg

DSC_4829.jpg

After I made a steamed apple cake. It was the first time steaming a cake. My oven has a broken lower element. I was so excited when it rose and looked like a real cake.

Epic fail!!!! The top was fluffy but the bottom was soggy. We had a couple of bites that tasted great, then I tossed it. I won't give up though. I'll try it again.

DSC_4752.jpg

After a night of worrying if we still had a job to go to, we got a text saying that the plumbing was fixed. The pump needed to be replaced.

We also found out that the sister restaurant/sandwich shop was closed due to the bread supplier having to throw out all of her bread. She fired someone and for revenge, he put poison in the mixer. They had to throw everything out. The police said they couldn't do anything because there was no proof.

There aren't as many good workers anymore. In fact it's difficult to get people to work at all.

There was a sign on a McDonalds and a popular coffee chain saying they had to close due to no staff.

Well if you're still here, thank you for stopping by!

carolynbanner.jpgdesign by: @KidSisters

Sort:  

Well, there's nothing like a surprise holiday whether wanted or unwanted. I guess it's good if you're on salary, but bad if you're an hourly worker. You two look so happy together in the park either way, glad you got some quality time together, and your dinner looks lovely.

Thank you. We were quite worried that the holiday would be too long but we were slightly disappointed to have to go back the next day.

It looks a good day. Last evening I went to the market and it start to rain and I have to wait about 30 minutes or more. You look so beautiful. Have a good day.

You're too sweet! Thank you!😊

It’s good to have fun at least once a week! Young people are rude and unkind these days!! It’s best to ignore them. Good to hear that the restaurant could open as usual. That poisoning thing seemed really vicious! I sometimes could ‘see’ these young people’ spirits (past lives); they weren’t too ‘good’ and came from terrible places, so I tried to avoid them.

Actually you should stay away from vaxxed people as much as possible. They are shedding spike proteins which could make you ill.

You ‘must’ start taking Vitamin D3, at least 5,000 iu a day! A zinc tablet (30-50mg), vitamin C. This will give you some protection from getting sick with COVID like symptoms this autumn.

This winter, people are going to drop like fallen leaves! Be prepared emotionally! Learn to let go!

https://www.bitchute.com/video/mb0H4M9FdCVi/

https://t.me/thailand_covid_vaccine_chat/16560

It’s going to be very difficult for us all!

Take care.

(I have already cured myself from being infected and got ill because I was close to vaxxed people: my dentist, the nurses, the security guards!). I was very surprised by how fast and easy it could happen. But all the symptoms were exactly the same as what Doctor Tenpenny said after she treated her vaxxed patients. And I got better by following her protocols!) Better be safe than getting sick and becoming debilitated for several days.

The restaurant has been open for months but now they can only take vaxxed people. I cannot stay away from them because everyone around me is getting it. I have no fear of getting sick really. I haven't been sick for years. You are right that now they will starting dropping like flies. I don't know how long they will allow us to work un jabbed. I will do it until I can. I have had horrible flus in my life but never missed a day of work. That's when it was still called the flu.

Take care

Yeah! But this is not natural flu! It’s engineered bioweapon with some weak spots in its strand.

The ‘virus’ or spike protein load will be very high this winter. There won’t be strong sunshine to give you the boost to your immune system.

I am going to order some more supplies soon as the prices will go up many times and the supplies will run dry in shops. Another friend of mine had also recovered from strange illness last month. When I told him what I had experienced, he was shocked as he realised he had the same symptoms.

About 40% of the vials are placebos that why most people didn’t show any adverse impact. But the coming lots of Moderna won’t have any placebos while Pfizer would increase the concentration of materials up to 100 micro grams! This will make a lot of difference to the shedding of spike proteins and sudden death!

https://t.me/covidvaccineinjuries/2247

It’s better to have the protection just in case the unexpected happened!

About 30% of people got vaxxed here! So I am trying to keep a distance from vaxxed staff at malls. But I would still get the nanoparticles or spike proteins. The best I could do is to reduce the load and take my medicine every two days as a protection plus regular essential supplements. My body could tell when the medicine started to work on those spike proteins! Such a relief and lighter feeling in my stomach and head!

These things are lethal and would wear down your immune system.

Drink hot ginger tea everyday!

Take care.

It's not natural flu. The bio weapon is in the vaccine. I know this is a dark thing that is thrusted upon humanity by the unseen self proclaimed authority. I am going to run to the cold Canadian wilderness if I have to. By the way I have not had regular childhood vaccine since I came from Thailand in 1966. My father was on to this. He taught me at a young age.

I am smiles to see your pictures. Looks you have a fun time. The steamed apple cake looks nice and delicious. Have a wonderful day my friend.

Thank you dear! I like to do fun things when I have time away from hard work.

The apple cake didn't cook on the bottom so I threw it away. I don't know how to steam cakes hahaha.

No one is too old to have fun, that person was absolutely mean.
I wonder why people say such mean things when they have the option of keeping their mouths shut.

He is very annoying and has no social graces. You get all kinds.

Yep, it takes all kinds lol Hope you have a great day!

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening


You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Powered by LOTUS token, an alternative health social currency on HIVE. Delegations welcome! Find our community here.
DiscordIICuration Trail

I used to work in the restaurant industry as well. It must be anxious knowing that your restaurant have to be close. Plumbing problem is such a serious issue.